8/22 CharlieAMPS308+3 353+5 326PMPS347+5 248+7 193+9 319

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Another morning with a burning stomach. Not good. I spent most of last night trying to make it go away (alka seltzer, etc) and nothing worked. Not exactly the thing you want to have on vacation. On the other hand, Charlie is OK and seems like she is sort of adjusting to the new dose (by the way she acts ... not necessarily by her numbers). She's still acting a bit distant, but is out around the house with us here and there. Let's hope for a good day and night ahead of us!

Jill
 
Re: 8/22 Charlie AMPS 308 +3 353 dose increase?

Back again. Regarding Charlie's dose and your thread title question: Looking at the SS, while there *are* indications that she's starting to get slightly flatter curves (which, as Sienne explained, is one of Lantus's best qualities), the overall BG range is just too high. I'm still concerned about glucose toxicity and about the fact that Charlie still keeps showing signs of being uncomfortable in healthy ranges (hiding behind couch, as you've mentioned repeatedly in the past days, and so on). You're on the 10th cycle of the current dose, so it's had its shot. You're doing well to be aware of protocol-based proceedings, since that 3-5 day window is when we'd see a new dose kick in if that's what it was going to do. IMHO, you can go ahead with the increase to 1.25u.

Hope this helps.
Hugs,
Jane
 
Re: 8/22 Charlie AMPS 308 +3 353 dose increase?

Good luck with the new dose! Hope Charlie can come down with that extra juice.
Take care Jill! Is that stomach discomfort caused by not enough sleep caring for Charlie? Take cat naps & set alarm clock help a bit. Relax, Charlie will do better with that dose increase. :YMHUG:
 
8/22 Charlie AMPS 308 +3 353 +5 326 dose increase?

Hi Jane,

I see plenty of examples where Charlie's BG range is high (all the reds that happen at AMPS and PMPS, for example). I don't really notice the flatter curves though. I think previously I saw from your profile that you turn your spreadsheets into graphs. Can you tell me how to make that happen through the google link?

Sienne mentioned glucose toxicity too. I think there may be some validity to that. Charlie usually seems happiest when she's in the higher numbers rather than the lower numbers. It's weird. I don't really know anything about glucose toxicity and what to do about it (sounds like more insulin is the plan of attack?). We don't think Charlie was diabetic for too long before we noticed but then again it's hard to say.

We can try to increase Charlie's dose to 1.25 this evening or tomorrow morning and see what happens step by step. We need to find a time when we're going to be home for the full period I think. Think that's a good plan. I will also call our vet to see her thoughts.

Jill
 
Re: 8/22 Charlie AMPS 308 +3 353 +5 326 dose increase?

To share my experience.
Rosy is more active, energetic & asking for food when she is on higher bg; like today. It's high bg causing her to feel hungry. Whereas when she was on the green, she seemed more tired & sleepy. I think it's because her body system is not used to the low blood sugar thus lowering her activity. Eating less too.
 
Re: 8/22 Charlie AMPS 308 +3 353 +5 326 dose increase?

charliesmom said:
Hi Jane, I see plenty of examples where Charlie's BG range is high (all the reds that happen at AMPS and PMPS, for example). I don't really notice the flatter curves though. I think previously I saw from your profile that you turn your spreadsheets into graphs. Can you tell me how to make that happen through the google link?

Sienne mentioned glucose toxicity too. I think there may be some validity to that. Charlie usually seems happiest when she's in the higher numbers rather than the lower numbers. It's weird. I don't really know anything about glucose toxicity and what to do about it (sounds like more insulin is the plan of attack?). [...] Jill

Hi again Jill!

Regarding the *slight* flattening out of Charlie's curves: What I meant was that in the past few days you've seen less of the "High Rise/Low Dive" sequence happening. When that happens less, it's actually a good thing in that a flatter, gentler curve is what Lantus is *supposed* to give Charlie. The trouble remains with your beautiful girl that - and here's where the second topic comes in - those slightly flatter curves are happening in high numbers (reds, pinks, and yellows). The shape of the curve is determined by the Lantus insulin you are giving Charlie, whereas the BG ranges in which the curves happen are determined by what Charlie's system is used to at present. If and when you can, please take the time to explore Julie's Glucose Toxicity Thread. There's more than just a little to that phenomenon, and it really does merit some extra attention, because if it's left unchecked and unaddressed, the difficulty of getting Charlinto healthy ranges (and to get her system to be comfortable there) can rise quite significantly. Do the reading, and then come back with any questions you have, ok?

In order to counteract and eventually hopefully clear out glucose toxicity, it's most likely going to be necessary to keep increasing Charlie's dose according to protocol guidelines - I believe Sienne mentioned this in one of your past threads a few days back, too. At some point, ideally, you'll hit upon Charlie's "good dose" - some call it "magic dose because its effects can be quite amazing - and then, if all goes well, you'll start seeing real progress. Some cats are lucky and go through that process faster, or even luckier ones never deal with glucose toxicity. Karre is one of them - looking at his SS can of course give lots of hope in terms of showing how fast a cat *CAN* make progress...BUT his SS, and his case, is not the norm. Many cats just need more time. Have you had a look at Mocha's SS? (Again, I believe Sienne mentioned this one.) Charlie will make her way through this, and you'll be the one guiding her, and you're always going to have help. Try - and we know how hard it is - to just keep breathing, and relax into the process, even if it's tough.

About the graphs: We didn't make them via google, that's just where we posted them. I think we used the Excel program to create the graphs. If you're interested in doing some graphs yourself, I can go through our FD files and look up how we did it back then. Just let me know.

HUGS! You're doing really well - remember that too, when you're getting a bit frustrated! :mrgreen:
Jane
 
Re: 8/22 Charlie AMPS 308 +3 353 +5 326 dose increase?

Hi guys .. I'm glad you're getting some answers about charlies curves .. Mocha also seemed more active and alert in the high number ranges .. the occasional lows really took a toll on her .. but once she started seeing more of them, her body got used to them and she felt better all the way around .. Now that she is consistently green, she acts like a young kitten most days! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/22 Charlie AMPS 308 +3 353 +5 326 dose increase?

No advice here, but wanted to say hello! Hope your tummy gets to feeling better. That is definitely not a fun way to spend a vacation. On a good note, Charlie is out with you all more and that is good news! Have a great day Jill!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top