Re: 8/22 Charlie AMPS 308 +3 353 +5 326 dose increase?
charliesmom said:
Hi Jane, I see plenty of examples where Charlie's BG range is high (all the reds that happen at AMPS and PMPS, for example). I don't really notice the flatter curves though. I think previously I saw from your profile that you turn your spreadsheets into graphs. Can you tell me how to make that happen through the google link?
Sienne mentioned glucose toxicity too. I think there may be some validity to that. Charlie usually seems happiest when she's in the higher numbers rather than the lower numbers. It's weird. I don't really know anything about glucose toxicity and what to do about it (sounds like more insulin is the plan of attack?). [...] Jill
Hi again Jill!
Regarding the *slight* flattening out of Charlie's curves: What I meant was that in the past few days you've seen less of the
"High Rise/Low Dive" sequence happening. When that happens less, it's actually a good thing in that
a flatter, gentler curve is what Lantus is *supposed* to give Charlie. The trouble remains with your beautiful girl that - and here's where the second topic comes in - those slightly flatter curves are happening in high numbers (reds, pinks, and yellows).
The shape of the curve is determined by the Lantus insulin you are giving Charlie, whereas the BG ranges in which the curves happen are determined by what Charlie's system is used to at present. If and when you can, please take the time to explore
Julie's Glucose Toxicity Thread. There's more than just a little to that phenomenon, and it really does merit some extra attention, because if it's left unchecked and unaddressed, the difficulty of getting Charlinto healthy ranges (and to get her system to be comfortable there) can rise quite significantly. Do the reading, and then come back with any questions you have, ok?
In order to counteract and eventually hopefully clear out glucose toxicity, it's most likely going to be necessary to keep increasing Charlie's dose according to protocol guidelines - I believe Sienne mentioned this in one of your past threads a few days back, too. At some point, ideally, you'll hit upon Charlie's "good dose" - some call it "magic dose because its effects can be quite amazing - and then, if all goes well, you'll start seeing real progress. Some cats are lucky and go through that process faster, or even luckier ones never deal with glucose toxicity. Karre is one of them - looking at his SS can of course give lots of hope in terms of showing how fast a cat *CAN* make progress...
BUT his SS, and his case, is not the norm. Many cats just need more time. Have you had a look at Mocha's SS? (Again, I believe Sienne mentioned this one.) Charlie will make her way through this, and you'll be the one guiding her, and you're always going to have help. Try - and we know how hard it is - to just keep breathing, and relax into the process, even if it's tough.
About the graphs: We didn't make them via google, that's just where we posted them. I think we used the Excel program to create the graphs. If you're interested in doing some graphs yourself, I can go through our FD files and look up how we did it back then. Just let me know.
HUGS! You're doing really well - remember that too, when you're getting a bit frustrated! :mrgreen:
Jane