8/22 Callie AMPS 290, +2 281, +4 239, +8 163, PMPS 75, +1 102, +2 96, +3 101, +4 112, +6 152

+2 281 so maybe we'll see movement today and maybe not...? I feel like Callie sometimes likes to keep us guessing at the +2. Will get a +4.
 
+8 163 we got a blue :)

Feels like Callie's bounces are maybe getting a bit shorter and are not as high. If so, hope that continues... Just gave her a freeze-dried treat and a small LC wet food snack. We'll give her another testing break until PMPS.
 
PMPS 91 (retested and got 93) I guess she had a later than usual nadir coming off the bounce?

We have never shot under 132. She did have a tiny bit of LB food just now (right after testing so we could keep her for retest.) Should we stall and restest (knowing there will prob be a little food bump?) Or go ahead and shoot?
 
She has been dropping all day but this is ok and 100 is safe to shoot. The great thing about Lantus is that it is very good at keeping low numbers steady. Do you have all of the hypo supplies on hand? If yes, shoot low to stay low! I'll be here if you need help.
 
She has been dropping all day but this is ok and 100 is safe to shoot. The great thing about Lantus is that it is very good at keeping low numbers steady. Do you have all of the hypo supplies on hand? If yes, shoot low to stay low! I'll be here if you need help.

We have hypo supplies on hand but just tested her again and she was 75??? We are letting her eat and I gave her a teaspoon of MC 13%. I don't know why she is still dropping?
 
She is going to keep dropping as that's what she's been doing all day. It's ok, she's reaching her nadir late, that's all. Nothing is wrong.

Since you've fed her MC, I would give her a token dose of .5 units so that she doesn't go sky high tomorrow into pinks, or skip and catch up tomorrow.

Next time if you're stalling, try not to feed. 75 is still a safe number.
 
She is going to keep dropping as that's what she's been doing all day. It's ok, she's reaching her nadir late, that's all. Nothing is wrong.

Since you've fed her MC, I would give her a token dose of .5 units so that she doesn't go sky high tomorrow into pinks, or skip and catch up tomorrow.

Next time if you're stalling, try not to feed. 75 is still a safe number.
Okay, we'll do a token dose of .5 units. Thanks. It just scared me when she continued to drop from the 90s after the initial PMPS.
 
I know, it's super scary to see it the first time! I still get nervous when I see a low number at PMPS, but after you shoot a green number or even a dropping number and everything turns out just fine, you will get more confident. Here's something for you to read when you catch your breath: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...tion-slgs-myths-debunked.111088/#post-1173098

Please put 75 into your PMPS column, and put in the +11 column 91 @ +12 so we know which number you actually shot at. Test her at +1 and let us know what it is.
 
I know, it's super scary to see it the first time! I still get nervous when I see a low number at PMPS, but after you shoot a green number or even a dropping number and everything turns out just fine, you will get more confident. Here's something for you to read when you catch your breath: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...tion-slgs-myths-debunked.111088/#post-1173098

Please put 75 into your PMPS column, and put in the +11 column 91 @ +12 so we know which number you actually shot at. Test her at +1 and let us know what it is.
Will do all. I'm still really scared but will pull it together. Thank you.
 
Could you get one more test before bed? She's flat and the numbers could go up or down from here. Even though you gave her a token dose you're still contending with the effects of the depot, so it's still a little unpredictable. You can give her some lc wet food now too. :)
 
Could you get one more test before bed? She's flat and the numbers could go up or down from here. Even though you gave her a token dose you're still contending with the effects of the depot, so it's still a little unpredictable. You can give her some lc wet food now too. :)
Yes, was planning on being up with her for a while so that's no problem. Will give her some LC now.

Best to test again in an hour? Or wait longer? Callie's onset may be a little later than +2 - sometimes her +2 numbers don't seem to tell us much either way so Elise suggested earlier getting +2.5 instead which we were going to try but that was before all of this tonight...
 
Yes, was planning on being up with her for a while so that's no problem. Will give her some LC now.

Best to test again in an hour? Or wait longer? Callie's onset may be a little later than +2 - sometimes her +2 numbers don't seem to tell us much either way so Elise suggested earlier getting +2.5 instead which we were going to try but that was before all of this tonight...
Sorry, I somehow missed that comment of Elise's from earlier. +2.5 is a great time to test, but when you're dealing with numbers you've never seen before or are lower than you're typically used to, testing more often is good. :)
 
Sorry, I somehow missed that comment of Elise's from earlier. +2.5 is a great time to test, but when you're dealing with numbers you've never seen before or are lower than you're typically used to, testing more often is good. :)
Oh, no sorry. I definitely get that. We'll test again now at +3 and see where we are at that point. Thanks again. Have a good night. :)
 
Hi. Just on line now. My suggestion to test at +2.5 was because the +2 was not giving you an answer as to whether the cycle would be active. When you get a lower than usual amps or pmps you need to get a +1 and +2. Even though you shot a token dose the depot might effect the first half of the cycle. I see we cross posted. Let’s see the +3.
 
Wow! Your first green PS! :D

Just to add to all the useful info that Katherine gave you, Callie was clearing a bounce and was therefore heading lower through the cycle. In bounce clearing cycles, nadirs can be at the end of the cycle. The other thing you want to remember is that sometimes stalling can cause the numbers to drop without food.

Her last meal was MC at PMPS?
 
Hi. Just on line now. My suggestion to test at +2.5 was because the +2 was not giving you an answer as to whether the cycle would be active. When you get a lower than usual amps or pmps you need to get a +1 and +2. Even though you shot a token dose the depot might effect the first half of the cycle. I see we cross posted. Let’s see the +3.
Thanks, Elise. I understood why you suggested it and I thought it was a great suggestion. I also understood why we needed to test more and earlier tonight. I just wanted to mention it to Katherine in case it meant I should get a +2.5 after the +2 tonight and not wait until +3 (in case there was going to be a huge drop soon after +2 that the +2 wouldn't catch.) Sorry to confuse everyone more. Will post +3 when we have it.
 
Wow! Your first green PS! :D

Just to add to all the useful info that Katherine gave you, Callie was clearing a bounce and was therefore heading lower through the cycle. In bounce clearing cycles, nadirs can be at the end of the cycle. The other thing you want to remember is that sometimes stalling can cause the numbers to drop without food.

Her last meal was MC at PMPS?
Thanks, Bhooma. I do remember you saying that last time about the later nadir but somehow thought that meant more like +9/ +10. I did not realize that she might still be dropping after PMPS so that's why I got really
scared.
At PMPS we fed her mostly LC with a teaspoon of 13% MC. We gave her LC treats every time we tested. And we just gave her a LC snack after +2 (so 40 mins ago now.)
 
Thanks, Bhooma. I do remember you saying that last time about the later nadir but somehow thought that meant more like +9/ +10. I did not realize that she might still be dropping after PMPS so that's why I got really scared.
Shooting you first green is always scary. I have not seen Callie nadir at the end of the cycle when clearing bounces before so I did not think to suggest it.

When you see her lower at +8/+9, feed and get more tests. You can feed as late as +10 to avoid her dipping too low at PS to shoot. If you feed at +10, you may have to delay your shot by 20 mins to ensure that you are getting a PS with a clear 2 hour window without food. Shooting 20-30 mins late does not disrupt your schedule for future shots.

The 100 that you got when you first stalled was good to shoot with both TR and SLGS. But it would have been an "exciting" cycle and considering you are only a month into this, it was a good idea to skip or give a token dose (like Katherine suggested).
 
Shooting you first green is always scary. I have not seen Callie nadir at the end of the cycle when clearing bounces before so I did not think to suggest it.

When you see her lower at +8/+9, feed and get more tests. You can feed as late as +10 to avoid her dipping too low at PS to shoot. If you feed at +10, you may have to delay your shot by 20 mins to ensure that you are getting a PS with a clear 2 hour window without food. Shooting 20-30 mins late does not disrupt your schedule for future shots.

The 100 that you got when you first stalled was good to shoot with both TR and SLGS. But it would have been an "exciting" cycle and considering you are only a month into this, it was a good idea to skip or give a token dose (like Katherine suggested).
Oh, maybe I read that about a later nadir after a bounce on someone else's thread. Can't keep it all straight at this point...

Good to know about feeding as late as +10. (Callie did eat a snack at +9 but that wasn't really intentional on my part.)

I do know that 100 is safe to shoot but really stalled more because we started with a green PMPS and I had never shot that low and I thought I read that the suggestion on the protocol is to stall and post if first time at 100 or lower. I wasn't sure anyone was around so when we retested 20 mins later and got 75 (and 67 on the One Touch - just wanted to make sure that I wasn't doing something wrong with the Relion), I freaked and just gave Callie her meal and a teaspoon of MC.

After that was when I saw Katherine's response re: 100 being ok to shoot. I am not sure my nerves were ready for much more excitement than that so I'm glad Katherine suggested the token dose.

+3 101 so holding pretty steady there. Callie got another treat with the test.
 
Oh, maybe I read that about a later nadir after a bounce on someone else's thread. Can't keep it all straight at this point...
Sorry sorry! I am sure I must have told you that cats have a later nadir in bounce clearing cycles. What I meant to say was that, I may not have mentioned that nadirs can be as late as end of the cycle (or even +13/+14).

You did the right thing tonight for the data you had and considering that this was your first green preshot. I am really sorry if I came across as sounding like you did not.

We may have thrown too much information at you (for the future) at a time when you are still recovering from the scare/high of a low pre-shot. :)
Relax and read all of this tomorrow when you get the time! :bighug:
 
Sorry sorry! I am sure I must have told you that cats have a later nadir in bounce clearing cycles. What I meant to say was that, I may not have mentioned that nadirs can be as late as end of the cycle (or even +13/+14).

You did the right thing tonight for the data you had and considering that this was your first green preshot. I am really sorry if I came across as sounding like you did not.

We may have thrown too much information at you (for the future) at a time when you are still recovering from the scare/high of a low pre-shot. :)
Relax and read all of this tomorrow when you get the time! :bighug:
No need to be sorry! You all are the only reason I'm not in a complete panic about Callie all of the time! I will read over everything with a clear head tomorrow.

+4 is 112. I was going to give Callie a snack of her regular LC food and then test again at +5. Does that work? Or better not to feed?
 
Considering you gave a token shot and she has stopped falling, it may be okay to go to bed. Feed LC and leave food out.
I will feed but am completely wired at the moment so will probably test again at +5 or +6 just to quiet my own brain. This gets easier, yes?

Question - what does all of this say to you about where Callie is with all this, if anything? Meaning: does it tell us that Callie's dose is good? Or too high? Is Callie starting to adjust to lower numbers (and her mother just needs to get with the program?) Or is she still too bouncy to know any of this?
 
This gets easier, yes?
It gets much easier, but sleep deprivation is your friend now ;). Just kidding.

Question - what does all of this say to you about where Callie is with all this, if anything? Meaning: does it tell us that Callie's dose is good? Or too high? Is Callie starting to adjust to lower numbers (and her mother just needs to get with the program?) Or is she still too bouncy to know any of this?
Callie is doing much better - is still bouncing but less - not so many pinks, clearing bounces faster - all are good signs. She is adjusting to lower numbers. Regarding the dose, we don't know yet it if it's too high for her. But it's clear she doesn't need an increase for now.
 
Jessica, definitely don’t want to hijack your post but just wanted to echo your sentiments to Bhooma for her experience and expertise in managing the sugar dance. She teaches us to always expect the unexpected. She is right, many of us may not comment but we do lurk seeking knowledge. Thank you
 
California Cali stopping by to say hello to New York Callie. You guys are inspiring
Hello California Cali and Carla, Thanks for stopping by and for your very kind words! I feel anything but inspiring tonight :( but really appreciate you saying that.

I love the new pic of Cali in your profile. Her coloring is really so beautiful! Hope you guys are doing well. :)
 
It gets much easier, but sleep deprivation is your friend now ;). Just kidding.


Callie is doing much better - is still bouncing but less - not so many pinks, clearing bounces faster - all are good signs. She is adjusting to lower numbers. Regarding the dose, we don't know yet it if it's too high for her. But it's clear she doesn't need an increase for now.
lol, why do I feel like you aren't kidding about sleep deprivation? ...

Thanks for confirming what I was hoping was true (bouncing less, clearing faster etc.) Hope to soon not have to bug you all with so many questions! :bighug:
 
Jessica, definitely don’t want to hijack your post but just wanted to echo your sentiments to Bhooma for her experience and expertise in managing the sugar dance. She teaches us to always expect the unexpected. She is right, many of us may not comment but we do lurk seeking knowledge. Thank you
Agree 100%!
 
You are not bugging me at all. Ask away! :bighug:
+6 152 and Callie thinks it is playtime :rolleyes: This is what I get for waking her up to test. Nice to see that she is hanging in the blues for a bit, even with the token dose and the MC, I assume because of the depot. Is this slow increase what you would expect?
 
Back
Top