8/22 Ahmin AMPS 252, +2 207. Questions about dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

christine&ahmin

Member Since 2011
Good afternoon! (It's 2.25pm in HK ;-) )
Ahmin numbers are pretty good in the past few days, i'm considering to increase dosage for him.
b4 i get start, i have fews question wanna ask to make sure Ahmin & i'm really ready to do it.
(1) Should i increase dosage for Ahmin? if yes, how much should i increase?
(2) what should i be aware of if increasing dosage?
(3) how frequent i should do the bg test when i start to increase dosage?
I'm going to take more tests in different time these few days, so that i can see how's his bg "pattern" for future reference.
 
Hi Christine! it's just before midnight here on the west coast of the US!

Here's the part of the protocol that you want:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

the critical numbers for deciding on dose changes are the mid-cycle numbers. the lowest point of each cycle is the nadir. someone with more experience than me can advise you, but generally speaking you look at the lowest point numbers to make dose decisions. Ahmin had a 108 last night, and probably something less than 100 in the morning, since he was at 103 at +3, and a 94 a couple of days before that.

His nadirs are definitely less than 200 (I bolded the part above that fits Ahmin's situation) - really pretty good numbers. You probably only need a tiny increase to push his numbers down overall. When you increase his dose you want to make sure and catch the mid-cycle numbers, both morning and evening if you can. Your goal is to keep him from going under 40.

When he gets down to 50 or below, you apply the directions from the "How to treat low numbers" sticky at the top of the Lantus forum.

I test preshot, +2 or +3 (because it tells me if punkin's going to go significantly down) and +5 or +6 (because that's usually punkin's lowest point) and sometimes again at +9. It's helpful to vary the test times a little so you see what Ahmin's patterns are. It's a good idea to get checks the first half of the cycle so Ahmin doesn't slip too low without you being aware of it.

it's also a good idea to make sure and always have high carb canned cat food, karo syrup and plenty (50) of test strips and lancets on hand so you don't get caught without supplies if you need them.
 
Hi Julie,

Thanks for your advice & explanation.

julie1220 said:
His nadirs are definitely less than 200 (I bolded the part above that fits Ahmin's situation) - really pretty good numbers. You probably only need a tiny increase to push his numbers down overall. When you increase his dose you want to make sure and catch the mid-cycle numbers, both morning and evening if you can. Your goal is to keep him from going under 40.

How much do u mean "a tiny increase" for the dosage? 0.25 or 0.5? or just start by increase 0.25 for say 1-2 days to see how's Ahmin react, then further increase to total 1.5u per shot?
 
Increases are always 0.25u (unless numbers are much higher than Ahmin's). Once you increase the dose by 0.25u, you will hold this dose for at least six cycles (three days). After that, you can decide if another increase is needed. If during that six cycles Ahmin ever falls below 50, that would earn him an automatic decrease of 0.25u. Hope this helps!!
 
We have never stopped by to say hello! Welcome to LL! Looks like you are getting really good advice from Julie and Patty. Good luck with the increase!
 
You've gotten great guidance. Please bookmark the link that Julie provided. In fact, you may want to re-read or print out all of the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. Given the time difference, there may not be anyone around to answer your questions immediately and the sticky notes contain a great deal of information.
 
just back home....i went to few pet shops to see if the HC canned food with gravy on Binky's List is available.....bad....can't find one yet :sad:
how about canned food with gravy for other brands which is not on the list? is that only if the food is in gravy, that must be HC?
anyhow....will go to some other pet shops tmr, hope can find it!

Sienne and Gabby said:
You've gotten great guidance. Please bookmark the link that Julie provided. In fact, you may want to re-read or print out all of the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. Given the time difference, there may not be anyone around to answer your questions immediately and the sticky notes contain a great deal of information.

recently i've gone through lot of posts & the stickies, basically have some idea on how to handle low numbers. but i think if i really start to increase the dose, i will try to start on the daytime or evening time of US, since u guys will be here with me :lol:

thanks for all the advices, will keep it in my mind all the time :smile:
 
probably any canned food with gravy is going to be high carb. you're only giving a teaspoon or so of it at a time, so small cans are good.

if he goes below 50, you give a teaspoon of the gravy, wait 15-20 minutes for it to get into his blood stream and recheck the numbers. if he's above 50 now, then you wait and retest in maybe 20 minutes again. if he didn't go above 50 with that first teaspoon, you give him another one, wait 15-20 minutes and repeat. it's not rocket science, it's just a little nerve-wracking the first time or two. but you just keep repeating the process to keep him above 50 til you see he's clearly going to stay there.

if you don't have the high carb food you can give a tiny bit of karo syrup - like on the tip of your finger, maybe 1/2 teaspoon. it's just that the food lasts a little bit longer.

when you increase, do it by .25u only and then hold that for 3 days, like patty said, unless he drops below 50. if he drops below 50, then you decrease the dose by .25. you'll be amazed how much that tiny change will adjust his numbers.

when you get a chance, you might read some of the other condos. you can learn a lot that way.
 
Hi, I don't think we have ever stopped in to say welcome from us either! Glad to see you were given some nice links to bookmark, they will certainly come in handy .. Good luck getting the right cat food ...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top