8/22/18 Beta amps 199

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beta kitty

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...orrow-with-curve-at-vets.201409/#post-2240580
Hi, I'm Tracy and Beta is my cat who just started Basaglar yesterday. I posted on the main forum yesterday but don't know how to link it to here. Beta had her first injection and curve at the vet yesterday (at vet's insistence) of 1 U, amps was 384, data is in ss. I gave the shot ok last night (PMPS 168 which I know is kind of low for beginners) and stayed up to make sure #s were ok, low was 106 at +4.

This am (amps 199) I think I missed and gave a fur shot, I could smell the insulin on my fingers and fur was wet, +4 was 250. I'm wondering how often I should check her bg this evening after her shot tonight. She seemed to start dropping by +2 but I want to be sure she's safe. I leave food out in the autofeeder overnight.

I've learned a lot here and kept Beta off insulin for 2 yrs just by changing her diet as recommended to LC FF classics. Thanks
 
Last edited:
That’s great that the diet change alone worked for two years! Hopefully she won’t need insulin for long. Onset is usually at +2-3. Getting a test at that time will give you an idea whether you will have an active cycle requring more monitoring or not and a before bed test is always a good idea. Some cats nadir around the same time but mine didn’t. Many drop at night so if still dropping before bed you might want to set an alarm to get another test at +6-7. Just post your results and you will get help.
 
Glad to see you made it over here, Tracy. To link, just go to your old post, and cut and paste the entire address from the browser.

Here's yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...orrow-with-curve-at-vets.201409/#post-2240504

Totally agree, get a +2 or +3. The "rule of thumb" (until you have more data to know if it is indeed true for Beta) for an active cycle is that if your +2 or +3 is equal to or less than your pre-shot number, you might want to get another test in later to see what is going on...or go ahead to bed if you have to but get up to get another test sometime before mid-cycle (+5-+6).

The good news is that if it was truly a fur shot this AM, Beta only went up about 50 points and then still leveled out for you. Could have been much worse, so maybe some actually did get in. I don't think that we've said it to you but it seems like you already read it or just inherently knew...NEVER reshoot after squirting the insulin even if you are 100% positive that it was a fur shot.

Ok, that isn't totally true. If you were walking across the room with the syringe and on the way you tripped over an ottoman and shot insulin dramatically into the air...then you can fix up a new needle and reshoot. But that is the only time ;) The rest of the time you have to err on the side of caution and know that some may or may not have gotten into the cat and you just wait until the next shot time 12 hours later and start anew.
 
Ok, that isn't totally true. If you were walking across the room with the syringe and on the way you tripped over an ottoman and shot insulin dramatically into the air...then you can fix up a new needle and reshoot. But that is the only time ;) The rest of the time you have to err on the side of caution and know that some may or may not have gotten into the cat and you just wait until the next shot time 12 hours later and start anew.
Okay thank you for this Sandi! I read this, starting kind of giggling, then snuffling, then outright laughter, and then I snorted. Good times. :smuggrin:

ETA: And then my eyes just grazed over it and I started laughing again. Such a great visual! Thanks again for the laughs, I think I needed that this evening!
 
Glad to see you made it over here, Tracy. To link, just go to your old post, and cut and paste the entire address from the browser.

Here's yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...orrow-with-curve-at-vets.201409/#post-2240504

Totally agree, get a +2 or +3. The "rule of thumb" (until you have more data to know if it is indeed true for Beta) for an active cycle is that if your +2 or +3 is equal to or less than your pre-shot number, you might want to get another test in later to see what is going on...or go ahead to bed if you have to but get up to get another test sometime before mid-cycle (+5-+6).

The good news is that if it was truly a fur shot this AM, Beta only went up about 50 points and then still leveled out for you. Could have been much worse, so maybe some actually did get in. I don't think that we've said it to you but it seems like you already read it or just inherently knew...NEVER reshoot after squirting the insulin even if you are 100% positive that it was a fur shot.

Ok, that isn't totally true. If you were walking across the room with the syringe and on the way you tripped over an ottoman and shot insulin dramatically into the air...then you can fix up a new needle and reshoot. But that is the only time ;) The rest of the time you have to err on the side of caution and know that some may or may not have gotten into the cat and you just wait until the next shot time 12 hours later and start anew.

Thanks for checking up on us Sandi. I put the link there now.

Beta's +2 was 153 down from 200 pmps so looks like another active cycle, I might have to set the alarm to get up cause it was a long night for me last night.:coffee: Beta loved having me up until 1 am though so maybe she just wants some company again. Here values this am shot look like the #s I was getting before I started the insulin, so I think I really did miss.
 
Okay thank you for this Sandi! I read this, starting kind of giggling, then snuffling, then outright laughter, and then I snorted. Good times. :smuggrin:

ETA: And then my eyes just grazed over it and I started laughing again. Such a great visual! Thanks again for the laughs, I think I needed that this evening!
Amanda I see you're in West Fargo. I live in Moorhead. Do you have a good vet that knows a lot about diabetes? Beta and I go to Animal Health Clinic and see Dr Ness.
 
Amanda I see you're in West Fargo. I live in Moorhead. Do you have a good vet that knows a lot about diabetes? Beta and I go to Animal Health Clinic and see Dr Ness.
No way! It's exciting to have someone else around here! I go to Stockmen's Supply Vet Clinic in West Fargo, and we see Dr. Thompson. The other vet diagnosed us, and she even suggested I home test, but she had her panties in a bunch when I wouldn't use an Alphatrak. Since then, I've only seen Dr. Thompson, who does seem to be somewhat knowledgeable, but I couldn't say for sure. I just started dealing with Lou's FD by myself and they just let me do it. Dr. Thompson did suggest I test for acro (even though it was already on my radar to test), and she suggested I switch to Lantus (glargine). So she has some knowledge at least, but since I just took the reins after I found this site, I can't really say how knowledgeable, if that makes any sense. They at least work with me, so that's a win. Do you like the Animal Health Clinic?
 
No way! It's exciting to have someone else around here! I go to Stockmen's Supply Vet Clinic in West Fargo, and we see Dr. Thompson. The other vet diagnosed us, and she even suggested I home test, but she had her panties in a bunch when I wouldn't use an Alphatrak. Since then, I've only seen Dr. Thompson, who does seem to be somewhat knowledgeable, but I couldn't say for sure. I just started dealing with Lou's FD by myself and they just let me do it. Dr. Thompson did suggest I test for acro (even though it was already on my radar to test), and she suggested I switch to Lantus (glargine). So she has some knowledge at least, but since I just took the reins after I found this site, I can't really say how knowledgeable, if that makes any sense. They at least work with me, so that's a win. Do you like the Animal Health Clinic?

I think I am in a similar situation with my vet. I'm happy with the Animal Health Clinic overall though they seem expensive. Dr Ness is generally willing to explore options I suggest for all Beta's problems. She agrees home bg monitoring is a good idea, but she insisted on doing the first injection and curve at the vet's office. Dr Ness was concerned about Beta's initial reaction and "lower" bg starting value. The curve at the vets looks markedly different than the ones I've done at home already. Beta was so stressed, not happy being at the vet two days in a row. Luckily I get to do the curve next week at home and email her the results.

She did say the alpha track was the best comparison to the actual bg. We've compared readings on my meter and hers a couple of times. It shows that when I get a 200 reading it's actually a lot higher and Beta is above the renal thresh hold with glucose in her urine. This is what I guessed based on her symptoms at home-drinking and peeing much more which is why I took her back in to the vet.

Unfortunately I don't think today's am shot went in based on bg values and the fact that the needle was bent before I injected it. I knew I should have drawn up a new dose, oh well. So I'm 2 out of 4 shots I've given that were good so far-not a very good record. Of course it's the pm doses that are good so I get to stay up all night. Beta's bg seems to start dropping early at +2 based on the data so I should know early how she's going to react each time. That is as long as she responds the same each time which I doubt will be the case.

Your spreadsheet is impressive. I assume you have others to help monitor bg or else you don't need any sleep!
 
I think I am in a similar situation with my vet. I'm happy with the Animal Health Clinic overall though they seem expensive. Dr Ness is generally willing to explore options I suggest for all Beta's problems. She agrees home bg monitoring is a good idea, but she insisted on doing the first injection and curve at the vet's office. Dr Ness was concerned about Beta's initial reaction and "lower" bg starting value. The curve at the vets looks markedly different than the ones I've done at home already. Beta was so stressed, not happy being at the vet two days in a row. Luckily I get to do the curve next week at home and email her the results.

She did say the alpha track was the best comparison to the actual bg. We've compared readings on my meter and hers a couple of times. It shows that when I get a 200 reading it's actually a lot higher and Beta is above the renal thresh hold with glucose in her urine. This is what I guessed based on her symptoms at home-drinking and peeing much more which is why I took her back in to the vet.

Unfortunately I don't think today's am shot went in based on bg values and the fact that the needle was bent before I injected it. I knew I should have drawn up a new dose, oh well. So I'm 2 out of 4 shots I've given that were good so far-not a very good record. Of course it's the pm doses that are good so I get to stay up all night. Beta's bg seems to start dropping early at +2 based on the data so I should know early how she's going to react each time. That is as long as she responds the same each time which I doubt will be the case.

Your spreadsheet is impressive. I assume you have others to help monitor bg or else you don't need any sleep!
That's definitely too bad for the vet. Mine scheduled a curve there, but she said I could test at home (I'm a lab tech, so I feel like she seemed to have more confidence in me than perhaps she would someone else just off the street). I ended up canceling the curve and did my own and sent the spreadsheet to her. That's when we got into the Alphatrak versus the meter. As long as you're using one over the other, there shouldn't be any confusion. (Just note the take-action numbers are different. 50 on a human meter and 68 on an Alphatrak.) I just stopped sending her my spreadsheet and if I had to go in they'd ask me what dose he was at and I'd tell them. I'd still sent them the spreadsheet before appointments so they could see how he was doing. Basically, I just deal with the FD and they give me a prescription. They're relatively inexpensive, and they're 5 minutes (soon to be less) from my house.

Don't beat yourself up about the off shots. We all have been there in the beginning. It gets easier, but sometimes furshots happen. Even to the best of us! For almost the first year of our FD journey, I performed all the BG testing and gave the shots. Eventually, my husband learned to give shots, but Lou would NOT let him test his BG. When we switched to Basaglar a few months ago, I told Caleb that he was going to have to learn to test, regardless of what Lou thought. We started off using SLGS, but we switched to TR protocol because I wanted him to spend more time in those healing greens. So thankfully Caleb learned, Lou complied, and we have quite a good schedule. I work 10-hour days 4 days a week during the day and my husband works bar hours, so he's up late. It's nice to be able to get so much testing without always losing sleep (although that certainly does happen sometimes - my very first pajama party with Lou was just me and him). :)
 
Tracy, you could shave a little patch on her back if you think that might help. Then you can see for sure that the needle is in for the whole shot. You might not need to do that forever, but to start it might help out.

Amanda is right, don't fret. You are doing great and it will get easier!

Best,
Sandi.
 
Totally agree, get a +2 or +3. The "rule of thumb" (until you have more data to know if it is indeed true for Beta) for an active cycle is that if your +2 or +3 is equal to or less than your pre-shot number, you might want to get another test in later to see what is going on...or go ahead to bed if you have to but get up to get another test sometime before mid-cycle (+5-+6).

Glad I read through this post. Your comment above was very helpful!
 
Glad I read through this post. Your comment above was very helpful!

You're quite welcome, Kelly. Reading other people's posts, especially those that are in the same situation as you (newly diagnosed, or with the same concurrent illnesses) is a great way to learn.

Nice to "meet" you. My orange boy, Whispy, is also prone to diarrhea and has suspected IBD :(

Best,
Sandi.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top