8/21Cairo PMPS80,+3.5/49,+4/51,+4.5/59,+5/65,+6/82,+7/144

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/21Cairo AMPS185

If you can, I'd just test at times you haven't tested and that will give you a picture of how Cairo is doing. You are testing a lot so that would give you a full picture without necessarily doing an actual curve. Great start today.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo AMPS185

If you can, I'd just test at times you haven't tested and that will give you a picture of how Cairo is doing. You are testing a lot so that would give you a full picture without necessarily doing an actual curve. Great start today.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo AMPS185

Hi Jeannie!

You really don't need to do a "curve" when you're home testing, but what you should do is get some tests at different times. Look at your spreadsheet and find places that have lots of white (No tests) and start sprinkling tests here and there so you don't have those big patches of white.

Spot testing is actually better than a standard "curve"

Now if you can't vary your test times during the week, on the weekends, you could do a curve if you want. Do a test every 2 or 3 hours for an entire cycle.

I know you work, so are doing the best you can (and she's looking pretty darn good for so soon!) but I'd try to get a +2 on the PM dose. It's a good indicator to what might be going on later in the cycle and if you might want to set an alarm to drag yourself out of bed for another test later on.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo AMPS185 +5/116

Thank you both for your feedback. Like Chris said, I work during the week. The times that I test Mon.-Fri. are pretty much all I can do. I can do more in the evening so, Chris, I will start doing a +2 after the PMPS. I will try to get a "curve" on Sat. and/or Sun. I have a lot more flexibility at that time. Thanks for all your help and support!
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73

Ummm... before I have a mild heart attack, is Cairos +1 of 73 ok or something I should be concerned with?
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73

You just need to test at +2 and +3. You might need to give hc food or karo at some point. It could be a wild night but this is not a concerning number. You want to keep testing so if Cairo drops under 50 you can guide back up.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73

I'd feed her a couple tsp of low carb food if she'll eat it. Sometimes when they start low it's a flat cycle. The LC can help them surf.

Just in case, do you have high carb food and plenty of strips available? I'd get a +2 test.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73

Ok, thanks! I'll do a +2, and a +3. Yes, I have Karo, HC food, plenty of test strips and the will to be up all night if necessary (but definitely not by choice since I have to work tomorrow!) :shock: I'll give her more food and see what happens.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73

Update: Cairo's +2 was 57 :sad: Upon your guys advice, about an hour ago, I gave her Fancy Feast with a little DM mixed in. Other than testing again in an hour, any suggestions? What should I look for? When do I go into panic mode? :o
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73

I would test in 1/2 hour. In the mean time, review the Handling Low Numbers sticky. I think you'll need it tonight. If she's below 50 on your next test, you'll want to feed a tsp or two of high carb food. Try to get just the gravy, that's where the carbs are. Don't give too much - you don't want her to be full in case you need to feed her high carb again.

Oh, and breathe - you can do this. We'll be here to help. Could you update your first post with the latest data?
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73, +2/57, +2.5/47

Thanks for updating the subject line. Good catch on that 47. :mrgreen: Time to feed that tsp or two of gravy and test again 1/2 hour after she's eaten it. Breathe. You can control her numbers with food.

BTW: Cairo has just earned a dose reduction. Her new dose is .25U. :-D

Did you give insulin tonight? The spreadsheet shows a blank in the Units field tonight.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73, +2/57, +2.5/47

Good catch!!

If you pop the top off a "Gravy Lovers" food and then squeeze the "gravy" out into a bowl, you can just give her a teaspoon or 2 of just the gravy. We don't want her to fill up on the "food" part in case we need her to eat later
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73, +2/57, +2.5/47

I read the handling low numbers sticky (quickly) but it seems like it was geared toward if you cat is at the end of their 12 hour cycle and needs to have more insulin.

I just gave her a teaspoon of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers (from her emergency kit that I prepared). I'll check her BG again in 30 min.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73, +2/57, +2.5/47

I gave Cairo 1/2 unit (sorry, I updated the spreadsheet) and gave her about a teaspoon of gravy (although there were a few bits of the food in it). She will eat anything I put in front of her. Ha! I'll check her again shortly and keep you posted.

Just to clarify, in the morning, you're saying I should only give her 1/4 unit instead of 1/2...right?


... I'm trying not to freak out but I can feel the tears coming! Thanks for all your support.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73, +2/57, +2.5/47

Hi. Congrats on the reduction. If a cat drops under 50, they earn a .25 reduction.so the new dose is 1/4 unit.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73, +2/57, +2.5/47

Jeannie,
You and Cairo are doing so well together! There are great people on this web site who will sit with you through these lows. You've got some with you already. It's scary, I know. :? Hang in there, everything will be okay.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73, +2/57, +2.5/47

The part on how to handle low numbers is on the second half of the Sticky Note. You are right, the first part is how to handle low numbers at preshot. But you did great with that tonight!

Yes, the first time is very scary but this is a good thing. Deductions are the path to remission. :-D And .25U is the dose for tomorrow.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73, +2/57, +2.5/47

Keep feeding a teaspoon or so of gravy and keep testing until she's at least in the 60's

Once she's there, you KEEP testing for at least 2 hours from the last time you give her any food....They can come back down on you!

I'm really glad you got the +2 tonight!
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73, +2/57, +2.5/47

Thanks Everyone! I'm going to go check her again in a few minutes and keep giving her a little gravy until she's up in the 60's. I will stay up with her tonight. Not sure how wonderful I'll be as an 8th grade English teacher tomorrow but I'll take my chances.

Question 1: I usually give her a hearty meal (about 1/3 can of FF Classic) around 9:30 before I go to bed since she doesn't eat again until 5:30 the next morning. Should I skip that meal and just keep giving her teaspoons of FF Gravy periodically throughout the night?

Question 2: Is there a point at which I might consider her "out of the woods" so to speak, so that I could get sleep? For example, if she gets her numbers up and keeps them up...?
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73, +2/57, +2.5/47

Let's hold off her next meal until we see how the night goes. Once she's in the 60's, you can stop giving her food. If two hours after her last food she is still up and/or rising, then you are good to go to sleep for the night. But at this point, it's too early to say how the night will go. Cats are most unpredictable. :roll:
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80, +1/73, +2/57, +2.5/47, +3/46

OK - a bit more high carb food and test again in 1/2 hour. This cycle of test, feed, then wait 1/2 hour you'll sometimes see referred to as lather, rinse, repeat.

Time to come up now Cairo!
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80,+3.5/49, +4/51

I can't fit anymore +'s in the tag line so I'm posting them here:

+1/73, +2/57, +2.5/47, +3/46, +3.5/49, +4/51
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80,+3.5/49, +4/51

She's being a bit stubborn about those low numbers! I'd still give a bit more high carb at that 51 and see if you can get her into the 60's. Make sure you keep track of how much food you feed when. That data could be useful again another time. I track feeding HC in the Remarks columns of Neko's SS.

You've got the most recent numbers in the first subject lines, so that's a good way to do it.

How are you doing Jeannie? Is Cairo behaving any differently?
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80,+3.5/49, +4/51, +4.5/59

I'm tired. She's not behaving any differently. She LOVES food so she can't wait to test so I will feed her. Thanks for hanging in there with me. I'll check back in about 30 min.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80,+3.5/49, +4/51, +4.5/59, +5/65

Whew! I wouldn't feed her anymore and wait to see if she's coming up on her own. The last high carb food you gave her may wear off in a couple of hours, so you have to still keep checking her. When did you last feed her?

ETA: I've got to get up in less than 5 hours, so I'm heading to bed. Elise will keep an eye on your for a bit. Keep testing every half hour until she's over 80, then you can go to once an hour testing. Once you pass 2 hours after the last food, you can call it a night. If she goes back down below 50, you will have to feed again. Good luck and congrats on the reduction.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80,+3.5/49, +4/51, +4.5/59, +5/65

Hi Jeannie. I'm up with Max too so I'm checking in to see how you are doing. I will be looking for your next test.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80,+3.5/49, +4/51, +4.5/59, +5/65, +6/82

Hi there. Thanks so much for checking in on me. She's at 82 right now and I fed her about 45 min. ago.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80,+3.5/49, +4/51, +4.5/59, +5/65, +6/82

I'm setting my alarm for 1 hour. I'll retest and check back in with you then.
 
Re: 8/21Cairo PMPS80,+3.5/49, +4/51, +4.5/59, +5/65, +6/82

I'm heading to bed now and I have a feeling you are already there. I hope your students are kind to you tomorrow. I don't know how I would do this dance if I was still teaching.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top