8/21 Toronto AMPS 363 dosing advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toro & Ovi

Member Since 2017
Fructosamine test today. Results tomorrow.
Regardless of the results we'll increase the dose tonight as the numbers in the past few days are kind of flat but high.
Question is : shall we go to 1.25u or jump directly to 1.5u ?
We tend to go step by step - so to go with 1.25u for 5-7 days - but we'd like to see some more experienced opinions.
Thank you.
 
Hi there. Looking at Toronto's SS, looks like the PM cycle of the 15th, he could have gone lower and then bounced up the next day. See the +2 how it is basically the same number as 187 PS? When the +2 number is the same ( close enough) or lower than the preshot number, it can indicate an active cycle. It would have been a good idea to grab another test around +3 or 4 to see if anymore testing was necessary. I have a hunch that he went lower that cycle.

On the PM cycle of 8.18 he started off at 182 and could have possibly hit a green number but there was no more test in that cycle. The next morning he was 376, no doubt bouncing. A lot of kitties go lower during the PM cycle. So please try to get some in and if the PM shot is too close to your bed time, at least get one in before you go to bed to see if any more testing is necessary.

All that said, I think I would not increase yet until you can get more night time test in. A lot of us set an alarm around +4 - +7 to grab a test or drink a really big glass of water before going to bed so you have to get up and go to the bathroom. ;)

When we do do increases here, we do them in increments of .25 of a unit so you don't miss the best dose. Sometimes too much insulin can look like not enough insulin so those night time tests are soooo important.

Also, with more testing you won't need to pay the vet to do a Fructosamine test as you will have the data that is needed and you can save that $$ for something else.

 
We decided to go SLGS as he's bouncing all around - for 5 weeks already. We didn't really have 2 consecutive days with the same results. Not only that but we have limited possibilities to watch and test him around the clock for hypo.
The only reason we look for an dose increase is because in the past 2-3 days he seems to finally set on a 12 hours normal curve - but with high numbers. We just want to take him down a little and hopefully the 12 hours curve will continue.
Thank you.
 
Last edited:
I would wait until tomorrow or another day you can monitor, before doing any increase. He got to green last timemon 1.25, and tonight would be the sixth cycle, and possible bounce breaking cycle if he went lower the night of the 18th. I would definitely get a before bed test tonight. You don't want to increase on the cycle a xbounce might be breaking.
 
I understand. In order to avoid the possibility of starting a higher dose on a downward curve following a bounce, you suggest to wait for another day.....we'll hold the dose increase until tomorrow to see what happens. It really makes sense.
Thank you so much, all of you !
P.S. You were right, he's heading down again......the visit to the vet was a daymare with Toro acting like a wild beast. He hates the car, the vet and us for taking him there.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top