8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sores

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
8/20 condo

AMPS - 430
+2 - >500
+4 - 466
+6 - 483
+8 - 438
+10 - 406
PMPS - 428
+2 - 386

I know most of it went in, just when the plunger was at about 1-1.5 units, Tip move a little and the rest went on her fur. But I'm not sure how to put that on my SS. Do I just put the normal 4.25? Or is there something special I add?

I also have some news, this time about both of them, and some more about Christmas. Well, 1st, the cats are getting along again, I think partly due to the antihistamines keeping Tip so tired that she doesn't care. Also, Christmas caught a mouse today and came running at top speed in to my room to wake me up and let me know.
 
Re: 8/21 - Tip - AMPS(430); How to note furshot on SS?

Hi Cindy,

This is my first time visiting your condo. Sorry to hear about the partial fur shot. At least a bit of insulin went in to keep the shed happy:) When I have done a partial fs in the past, I just write a comment about in the notes section as it's impossible to know what went in. Nice to hear that Tip and Christmas are getting along again. Sounds like fun times at your place:)

Tamara
 
Re: 8/21 - Tip - AMPS(430); How to note furshot on SS?

Alright, thanks. :) That's what I wound up doing. And yeah, at least some insulin was given. Surprisingly, this is my first furshot. Glad it was just a partial.

Heh, I'm thankful it's a mostly calm morning so far. Haha, I know, this is mostly calm. :lol: I'm used to 2 screaming cats as an alarm clock. And then the birds are quick to follow up with some music.
 
Re: 8/21 - Tip - AMPS(430); How to note furshot on SS?

Hi Cindy,
I'm visiting your condo for the first time, too. I hope that Tip will recover quickly from the "fur" shot. Congrats to Christmas on his mouse catch!

Another way to keep track of weird shots and partial fur shots, etc. etc. is to do a "footnote" on the SS. In the present case, when you want to note a possible fur shot, put the cursor in the "Units" square after you have entered the dose. Control/click on the Mac (Right/click on the PC) and a dialogue box will open. Choose "insert comment". Write your comment. Then hit the "Tab" key. You will see a little orange triangle appear in the upper right-hand corner of the square. When you move your mouse over the triangle, the comment is visible. This is a great way to keep from cluttering up the "comments" section on the spreadsheet. You can write "footnotes" in any square on the spreadsheet. Take a look at Rusty's spreadsheet and you will see this footnote method at work.

Have a great day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/21 - Tip - AMPS(430), +2(>500);

Alright, thanks. Hmm...I'll think of which way I want to go for that one.

EDIT: Oh, yes, and I'll pass on the congratulations, she seemed quite proud of herself! As she should, the mice 'round here are lightning fast.
 
Re: 8/21 - Tip - AMPS(430), +2(>500), +4(466);

Hi guys, I also think this is my first time catching your condos, so welcome from us! I'm glad your cat's are getting along better, and I hope you gave Christmas a nice talking to, letting her know you don't need to know about her "finds"! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/21 - Tip - AMPS(430), +2(>500), +4(466);

Well, drat on the partial fur shot! Ah well, they happen and Tip will recover. Tip, hold still while yer bean is giving the shot. It's just for a second. Woohoo, Christmas! Very exciting! :-D And she wanted to share with you, Cindy, isn't that nice of her? Glad to hear T & C are getting along again. That makes is easier for everyone.
Liz
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386) Feve

Sorry I couldn't respond until now.

And I know, I did congratulate Christmas for her catch. :)

But I have a problem....Tips ears are very warm to the touch. Last time she had a fever, this was also the case, so I think it's safe to assume she does? The vet is closed currently, so I'd like some advice as to what to do, if it can wait until the vet is open tomorrow, etc. Thanks.
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386) Feve

I've never taken Gabby's temperature but that's what I'd suggest. You might ask on Health how you take a cat's temp.
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386) Feve

Alright....well, just for the heck of it, since I've been feeling warm(I didn't put 2 and 2 together), she likely doesn't have one, and it's just me, since I actually have one. Sorry about that.
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386);

Tip is coming down nicely tonight. I have to admit when I read your last post that I thought first, "oh good, Tip isn't sick" and then "oh no, Cindy is sick". :roll: I hope you are feeling better soon.
Liz
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386);

Haha, thanks. It isn't that bad of a fever, so hopefully I'll be well in no time. :) I do have school next week after all. Which reminds me....I haven't ordered my books yet, eep!
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

I think it's okay to call them sores....but now Christmas has tiny scabs on her head. ): It's really tiny and in a cluster, a little smaller than a dime, but they look close to what Tips look like. Now this is really scary. Maybe I should stop contributing it to them itching themselves raw and take them to the vet.

What do you guys think I should try before that? My mom suggested Vitamin E, but is that safe? Should I keep watching for more on them until I can get to the vet tomorrow? Or should I still give the antihistamine and hope for the best? Christmas isn't scratching near as much as Tip.

And can cats itch between their ears? As that's where Christmas's is starting. I'm getting a bit tired of these fleas too....any suggestions that can work kind of quick?
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

You're sure this is from fleas? Are the areas circular? Any chance of ringworm. (Please say no because it is a horrific ordeal to treat ringworm. Been there; done that. Don't recommend it.)
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

The ones on Tip seem to have no rhyme or reason except for the ones on her chin/neck. Those are in a straight line right down the middle. Some of Tips look kind of large(a few being close to half the size of a dime, thankfully those look like they're healing because I haven't let her scratch as much).

I'm honestly not positive anymore if they're from fleas, allergies, infection, or what anymore....I just want the fleas and scabs gone....

Currently Christmas is hiding somewhere, so I can't check her. I'll be in with an update soon as I can with hers.
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

Cindy & Pets said:
I think it's okay to call them sores....but now Christmas has tiny scabs on her head. ): It's really tiny and in a cluster, a little smaller than a dime, but they look close to what Tips look like. Now this is really scary. Maybe I should stop contributing it to them itching themselves raw and take them to the vet.

What do you guys think I should try before that? My mom suggested Vitamin E, but is that safe? Should I keep watching for more on them until I can get to the vet tomorrow? Or should I still give the antihistamine and hope for the best? Christmas isn't scratching near as much as Tip.

And can cats itch between their ears? As that's where Christmas's is starting. I'm getting a bit tired of these fleas too....any suggestions that can work kind of quick?

ask your vet about CAPSTAR® (nitenpyram). you can administer the pill once a day as needed. it'll begin to kill adult fleas within 30 minutes. since there's a known flea problem, chances are the sores you're seeing are the result of an allergic reaction to the flea bites. i know you can get Capstar online and i'm pretty sure places like PetSmart carry it.

for sores, abrasions, etc. i use Halo Herbal Healing Salve. this too can be purchased online or at some health food stores such as Whole Foods. imho, anyone with pets should have this salve on hand. it's that good! not only does it heal quickly, but if pets happen to ingest it you don't have to worry. it won't hurt them. a tiny bit goes a long way so use it sparingly.

vitamin E should be ok, but i'd ask your vet about it. he/she may have some other suggestions.


yes, cats can itch and scratch between their ears. alex has a tendency to break out with little sores on her forehead and between her ears from seasonal allergies as well as flea bites. keeping her claws trimmed helps. if worse comes to worst... i have to put an e-collar on her.


hope this helps...
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

Alright, I'll be calling the vet tomorrow, see if an appointment is needed, and ask about both of those. A friend of mine suggested Black mountain botanicals wound balm for pets, but it seems like the one you linked me to is cheaper.

I'm having a hard time telling with Christmas's spots because they're real tiny, so I'll snap a picture. They don't seem to be in a circular pattern either, but it's late, and my eyes hurt. So picture it is.
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

I'll 2nd the plug for CAPSTAR. I had a fairly bad flea problem after moving into this house earlier this year, and I've used capstar twice on Mullet and Bob (in addition to evacuating the house for most of two days for a major bombing). It works almost instantaneously, and I haven't seen a flea in weeks. It's not expensive either.

Carl
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

Oh good....I'll definitely ask about that, I'll also be buying a flea powder for the carpets and washing EVERYTHING. Take it as "Remove these pests once and for all" day, because even I have TONS of bites around my ankles from them

And I looked up what ringworm bites look like, and neither of them have that, thankfully. But I'm just so darn worried about how it seems to be spreading.
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

it's been many years since I lived in flea territory but I do remember
that when the fleas are biting you , i. e. your ankles, then you probably have a bunch of newly hatched fleas and they tend to
be super hungry.
if you can find a way to bomb them, that will get rid of them the quickest.
Of course, you have to have somewhere to go.

Just having that many will cause all kinds of little sores and scratches reacting to the little buggers.
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

I hate how hot and humid it's been....and I especially know how bad it is for the cats because flea bites are so itchy, I can barely let myself heal even with anti-itch cream. D:

I'm not sure if a bombing could work, since a lot of friends and family live in no-pet apartments, or don't want to risk bringing fleas in to their pets. So I might just have to get rid of every cloth and wash it so much. Maybe do it twice to make sure the buggers are gone. What's a good flea powder to put on the floor? From now on I'll also try to vacuum daily. I was hoping I could prevent it from getting bad by washing everything once a week, treating the cats with frontline, and vacuuming every 3 days or so.
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

Cindy & Pets said:
I hate how hot and humid it's been....and I especially know how bad it is for the cats because flea bites are so itchy, I can barely let myself heal even with anti-itch cream. D:

I'm not sure if a bombing could work, since a lot of friends and family live in no-pet apartments, or don't want to risk bringing fleas in to their pets. So I might just have to get rid of every cloth and wash it so much. Maybe do it twice to make sure the buggers are gone. What's a good flea powder to put on the floor? From now on I'll also try to vacuum daily. I was hoping I could prevent it from getting bad by washing everything once a week, treating the cats with frontline, and vacuuming every 3 days or so.

Fleabusters is supposed to be one of the best products around for ridding the house of fleas. follow the directions carefully.
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

Jill & Alex said:
Cindy & Pets said:
I hate how hot and humid it's been....and I especially know how bad it is for the cats because flea bites are so itchy, I can barely let myself heal even with anti-itch cream. D:

I'm not sure if a bombing could work, since a lot of friends and family live in no-pet apartments, or don't want to risk bringing fleas in to their pets. So I might just have to get rid of every cloth and wash it so much. Maybe do it twice to make sure the buggers are gone. What's a good flea powder to put on the floor? From now on I'll also try to vacuum daily. I was hoping I could prevent it from getting bad by washing everything once a week, treating the cats with frontline, and vacuuming every 3 days or so.

Fleabusters is supposed to be one of the best products around for ridding the house of fleas. follow the directions carefully.
Oh thank you.

And....I may have been setting myself up for this....I've only used frontline their whole lives. The fleas are immune to it now, aren't they? I'd use it yearly and then if they had fleas, once a month until they're gone.
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

My vet told me it's a good idea to switch the "topical" brands every couple of years. I don't know if it's an immunity thing or what? I do know that Frontline Plus no longer worked, and I switched to Revolution this year (during the flea crisis) and so far so good.
I was also told (but haven't tried to verify if this is true) that the eggs can lay dormant in your carpets for ages. And the best way to "activate" them is humidity and vibration. So the vet said that just before you bomb the house, you should open all the windows (It's always humid here) and vacuum. The vibration from the vacuum helps make the eggs hatch. Then you toss out that vacuum bag, bomb your house (or use the powder), then you have to vacuum again once you can reenter the rooms, and toss that bag out as well. If you happen to vacuum eggs up, and don't toss the bag away, then you've got fleas hatching in the vacuum bag and reinfesting your house.
So, I brought the boys to the vet and overnighted them. They were given Capstar there, plus Revolution. I bombed the house, vacuumed about 5 times afterwards, and then sprayed the perimeter of the house and every window sill and door jamb on the outside. Those little suckers weren't getting back in my house! The Capstar got rid of all but a few fleas, and when I saw a couple on them a couple days later, they each got another pill. Since then it's been Revolution the 1st of every month, and no fleas spotted in weeks. And my ankles are bite free!

Carl
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

Something I forgot to mention, I'm also concerned about bug bombing due to my birds and tortoise. I don't exactly have a fairly cheap place to overnight them at. Last time I had to leave one of my birds there was when poor Luka the parakeet had a tumor that now comes back every year. But that cost an arm and a leg for just leaving her there for the night....but you said that method works with flea powder instead of bombing the place as well?

I'll be getting off for the night really soon, so any other conversations will either be addressed in the health forum with a new topic(with links to here and to the topic in tomorrows condo) or in Tips condo tomorrow/today, since it's almost 2am which means I'll need to get up in 4 hours to get Tips AM stuff done.
 
Re: 8/21 Tip ..., +8(438), +10(406), PMPS(428), +2(386); Sor

As far as I know, the same method can work for the powders, yes. But make sure to read the box/can the powder comes in really closely. I know the powder I looked at said that "pets" should be removed from the area, and that would probably include birds and reptiles.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top