8/21 Snickers - AMPS 399 -- 2.25u is too low, 2.5u is too high

Hi Liz,

One thing I've noticed is that you're changing dose increments too often. I understand that your schedule isn't allowing you to be at home - however it's not appropriate to change the dose one day and then back to a different dose the next.

For instance, you increased his dose this morning after he saw such nice numbers yesterday. On SLGS you need to settle on a dose and stick to it for 10-14 cycles...Lantus requires consistency in dosing amounts and times of day.

If you feel that the 2.5 is taking him too low and you're not able to test as frequently as you have been (looks like you've been testing quite a bit though, so not sure what your comment about not being home is based on)...so IF you have to leave.. the best thing to do is get an auto-feeder and set it up so that he'll have food available at regular intervals throughout the day/night that you're not there to test. If there's anyone who could come in and test/feed him that would be great too...and then the last resort, if you have to leave, you can put out medium carb food for him if his numbers are lower than you're comfortable with - but at the end of all this, you really can't keep changing the dose - it really doesn't work that way.

I hope this is helpful...
 
Thanks for the replies. I'll stick to 2.25 for a while.

I'm in and out a lot, and can't test when I want to. I'm also trying to get used to multifocal contact lenses. The doctor adjusted the prescription, so I don't have double vision now.

Those rare days when he's in the blues or greens are so exciting. I want so much to help him.
 
Back
Top