8/21 - Salem amps 181 - travel question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Camille and Cyclone

Member Since 2009
Hi again, everyone. Salem has been doing great, down to 2.25 u with PSes mostly under 200 and a lot of nadirs in the 50s. His cycles are pretty regular.

Now for my question: Next week I'm going to California for 5 days. Kim, Salem's real mom, is planning to pick him up tomorrow and take him to her brand new apartment. (Say congrats to Kim - she's doing very well too!) Depending on how well he adjusts to the move, she'll either keep him there while I'm gone (a neighbor will take care of my civvies) or if necessary bring him back after a day or two and stay here to take care of all the kitties. (Last time she took Salem he yowled all night for three days, but that was at her mother's house and he may have felt stressed there.)

Anyway, all that's not my question. :) Due to job demands, on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday Kim will probably be home from work too late to keep on the 12 hour shot schedule. She'll have to give the pm shots late but still give the am shots before she leaves in the morning. I think the usual way to deal with this is to reduce the dose of the shot that was late (pm) to reduce overlap with the next shot which may be a couple of hours early? Salem is an early nadir kitty, lowest numbers at about +4, which I think helps. He's also totally not a drama kitty. :)

Thanks! So wonderful to have the expertise and support here to help us through rough spots!
 
+5 88

Sienne - I don't know - I can ask Kim but her situation is a deadline at work to get a magazine ready for publication, so she may not know how late she'll have to stay. For under an hour early I would think it's just a matter of making sure the PS is in a reasonable range and/or rising - could I get info on the situation of two or three hours early?
 
I'm happy for Kim, it sounds like things are coming together. Yeah! I hope Salem will be happier in her own apartment so they can enjoy some time together.

I'm sure there are ways to work around the shot time thing, but it will depend on the numbers each day. She can always post if she has questions, it would be great to hear from Kim.

Just saw your question - if 2 or 3 hours early, then it might be necessary to skip, or just throw a small dose into the shed. 2 hours you can sometimes get away with if they are bouncing, but 3 is definitely pushing it. Unfortunately you can't really plan scenarios ahead because it will depend on the numbers at the time.
 
((((((((((((((((((Salem))))))))))))))))))
I would love to catch up with the three of you.
Kim, are you here reading too? Congratulations on getting an apartment.
Kim, send me an email I would love to hear how things are with you.
Salem sure was blessed to find you Camille. You have done so much for him -- it makes me teary.
 
Anne - no, this is New York City, but thanks so much for the offer!

D - I will ask Kim to write you. Lots to catch up with!

Libby, Kim said she will post here if she runs into a situation where she's not sure what to do. Wouldn't be a bad idea for her to post during the whole time if she can. I don't know what her computer situation is.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top