8/21 Phoenix BG 39

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
Anyone please help ! At Phoenix's PMPS his BG was 87. This was a shock because he usually doesn't drop during the day. I gave him his insulin injection of 11.25 units. I checked 30 minutes later and his BG has dropped to 39 even after eating.

I gave him some honey and half a can of f.f HC. I will check his BG again in a few minutes.
 
Feed some hc and test again in 20-30 minutes.
Thank you both. I am worried because I gave him his insulin. I can't believe he dropped after eating. I just checked his BG and it is up to 106. I am going to continue monitoring every 20 minutes. I hope you can both stay with me. Thank you for responding so fast.
 
Thank you both. I am worried because I gave him his insulin. I can't believe he dropped after eating. I just checked his BG and it is up to 106. I am going to continue monitoring every 20 minutes. I hope you can both stay with me. Thank you for responding so fast.
Everything will be ok. See how the food got him safe? It's fine even with his insulin. You can feed him to keep him from dropping. You are in good hands with Elise.
 
These are the instructions from the Don't Panic sticky:

f your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

I suspect the 87 was a dropping number. Once the food wore off a bit, numbers resumed the drop. You're doing fine. Just feed HD, test in 20 min, and repeat as needed.
 
Everything will be ok. See how the food got him safe? It's fine even with his insulin. You can feed him to keep him from dropping. You are in good hands with Elise.
Phoenix is up to 136 an hour and fifteen minutes after insulin. I am going to monitor him throughout the night. Thanks everyone for your help.
 
Hi Susan, he has earned a reduction with that drop to 39 today. Looks like he came up quickly. :)

Hi Bhooma
How much should I reduce his dose? One thing I am worried about is that I am going to have to give Phoenix breathing treatments again starting on Monday. The Gentamicin gives him diarrhea which just cleared up this week. It also seemed to cause his BG to go high. When he last had the treatments was when we had to raise his insulin from 10.25 to 11.25.
I really hate to start him on the treatments again but he has had several coughing episodes this week. Phoenix crouches down like the sphinx when I prick his ear. The last few days he doesn't want to crouch because it starts a coughing episode. He wants to sit up instead. This behavior really concerns me. Otherwise, he eating great and walking around just find. I am really puzzled by this behavior
 
Back
Top