? 8/21 Max; (EDITED) AMPS 88/86, +2 56, +3 49.

Rebecca & Max (GA)

Member Since 2020
8/20
Edited to add this: knew to watch Max at +2, but did not act on the 56, just let him go another hour. +3 at 49, so gave him a spoonful of FF gravy food and will retest in 30 min as 49 isn’t super low for him and he’s acting/doing just fine (mad I dragged him back inside from his sleeping spot, tho). So, dose reduction tonight, or would it be foolish to hold him at 0.1U seeing as his numbers are kind of bouncy?

Oh, Max, Max, Max...
Hopefully, he's clearing a small bounce from his skinny 0.1U...OR the little bit of jarred baby food I gave him last night at his PM shot caused a spike? Bandit (the elderly dog who's not doing too well) hasn't been eating much so bought some jarred baby food to see if he'd eat. Max has also been on a food strike - very picky which isn't really him. FF was the gift from the kitty gods just a few days ago (couldn't get enough of it) but now wants nothing to do with it (have offered 3 flavors). This happened the last time he ate it straight too. So PMPS last night he wanted nothing to eat...gave a half of a teaspoon (the eating kind of spoon, not measuring) on top of the 3rd Weruva pouch I offered and he was happy to eat, so gave a bit more and he finished he cat food too. Because of his PS #, I knew I needed to test between +2 & +3, was shocked to see him so high.

He wanted out SO badly that I finally caved as I knew he wasn't low enough to have to test again. I crashed HARD at 2:30 AM and didn't wake until I heard him meow to come in at 6:30 AM. He didn't want any food I offered but was NOT going back to the baby food. He ran off and used his litter box and left me a nice big poop nugget! Figured maybe he was constipated (still gets 1/8 tsp Miralax 1-2x/day), because he ate a little of his Weruva pouch when I topped it with boiled chicken. He wanted back out, so I let him go.

AMPS time found him eating grass (ugh), but one ear poke and I got a great blood drop (hot ears bleed!). If he bleeds good, I do spot checks with my AT meter, and just because I'm crazy, I'll test him with my Freestyle Freedom meter (the human version of the AT) which I would switch too if I could get the stips OTC. Digressing as usual...He read 88 on my regular Contour meter, and 126 on the AT (expected), but then the Freestyle gave a 123 read. I figured one of the human metes was off, so decided a retest was needed and with the second ear stick, and the Contour read 86, while the Freestyle read 83. Better! So I'm keeping him at his 0.1U, but because of the lower PS and not eating much, I know I will have to watch him closely today!
After his dose, he ran back off to the litter box and left me TWO more big poop nuggets...oh, Max. Max, Max.

((Pheobe Buffay's, Smelly Cat, from Friends, is running through my head))
 
Last edited:
I will try to help you get a response :smuggrin:!!
Aw, thank you! I had a Zoom Board meeting and my daughters tag-teamed to test Max for me (woohooo there are now officially others in my house who can also test him! :joyful:). He was up to 60 already, so I'm pretty sure he's out of the woods. I have yet to just sit by and see how low he might drop because I'm just not ready to walk that ledge. He's totally chill in the mid to high 40 to the high 60s, but a total beast (hisses and very bite-y) when he's in the 70s-80s. (90s to 100s are great too). Not really sure what he has against the disco and big hair, eras, but whatever (:D).

My biggest issue is to reduce or not (to a needle shot). I did a skinny 0.1U two nights ago and that was not a good thing. I think he's been doing a little bounce since, so I don't want to reduce unless necessary. Yes, he dropped below 50, but is that because of a bounce or because he's getting closer to going OTJ? We haven't had a full cycle of greens as yet, but if a reduction is in order then so be it.
 
Back
Top