8/21 Max AMPS 127 - To shoot or not to shoot?

Gabrielle R.

Member Since 2021
Hi all. This is my first time posting. Max, my acrocat, is currently on 9u Lantus BID. His BS is more consistently in the 100s to lower 200s, with a reading of 127 AMPS and I'm left questioning whether to reduce his insulin this morning or skip it all together. Advice greatly appreciated!
 
Hi Gabrielle!

Have you fed Max? If you give him his shot can you monitor him?

Did your vet or whoever is advising you about dosing not suggest a reduction in dose after that 62 on 8/16?
 
Tagging @Wendy&Neko who is our expert on Acromegaly to help you with dosing.

Btw, Hills K/D and Royal Canin Senior 12+ dry are too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. At some point, you may want to look at transitioning max to a low carb canned food.
 
Hi! I have fed Max 75% of his morning meal (he gets the other 25% close to noon). His vet (internal medicine specialist) is on vacation this week and no one could/would advise in her absence. He has an appointment with her Monday so I can clarify things with her then. Unfortunately, due to his kidney disease I cannot feed him a low carb diet. This is the best balance we have found.
 
Yes, I can monitor if I shoot.
Considering that 62 on 8/16, I would drop his dose to 8.5U for now. Wendy will stop by later to advice whether a further reduction is needed.

Can you get another test now to see where he is? It's almost an hour since the previous test and food?
 
It's been 1.5 hrs since eating and he is at 159. Thank you, dropping the dose slightly does seem the best way forward.
 
Hi Gabrielle when posting on the Lantus board you would post your title like this
8-21 Max AMPS -127 then whatever you want to say. You can add the rest of his tests if you want to

We do a new post everyday so tomorrow would be 8-22 Max AMPS

If you post tomorrow copy your previous thread which would be today's and paste it on your new thread
Max is a cutie :cat:
 
Hi Gabrielle! Welcome to the Lantus forum. I'm so sorry that your kitty has acromegaly, but Wendy is one of the moderators here and she has a lot of experience with it. We have several other members whose cats are acrokitties or whose cats are getting high doses of insulin, so you've found a really good community of kind and generous people.

One of the most important bits of advice given to new members here is to start your cat on low carb wet food. This change alone often helps cats into diabetic remission. My cat also has kidney disease in addition to her diabetes and her kidney disease is now diet controlled without resorting to prescription or commercial high carbohydrate renal diets. Many caregivers here feed their CKD cats foods from Weruva and Soulistic, both of which you can get at Petco, and many of them are low in phosphorus. You can also get phosphorus binders to add to low carb food. My cat also has gastrointestinal disease, so I've opted to feed her a low carb, low phosphorus raw diet that has lowered all of her kidney values dramatically in a matter of 6 months. I know this is not necessarily in the cards for all kitties, especially acrokitties, so it's a question of experimenting to see what works.

Since you're already working with an internal medicine specialist I'm sure you've gone through the options of how to manage Max's diet, but both the diabetes and the kidney disease can be managed with low carb food without privileging one condition over another.

Another important aspect of how we manage insulin dosing and low glucose events is through the feeding of a combination of low carb, medium carb, and high carb foods. Having these different combinations of carb content on hand helps us help you steer Max's glucose levels so that he can get the most insulin in him while also keeping him safe. Once you get a handle on how the forum works, you'll be able to understand a bit better how it all works.

Hang in there, and let us know if you have any questions or need more help. :bighug:
 
I see your signatures says Max has Cushings and acromegaly. Has he been diagnosed with both conditions? Just trying to understand the whole picture here.

Diet won't make any difference on his possibility with remission if he has those conditions, but it will make it easier to regulate Max's diabetes if you switch to all low carb food. The Wellness wet is fine for diabetics but the Chicken and Herring is a bit high in phosphorus if you are dealing with kidney disease too. As Katherine mentioned, there are lots of options for a cat with diabetes and kidney disease. A lot of the Weruva products are appropriate if you want to go to canned food. This food chart, though a couple year old now, lists the carb and phosphorus count of a lot of foods available in the US. You want carbs under 10% and phosphorus ideally low 200's or less. Neko had CKD too, and I mostly fed her raw food made with premixes. FoodFurLife's EZComplete and TCFeline has a low phosphorus version available in Canada, where I am.

I see you gave last night's dose 1 hour early? If you shoot that much earlier, it can act like a dose increase. That plus you are still dealing with the depot of the 9.0 unit dose, which is clearly too high a dose because of that 62 (AT) you saw recently. I would try 8.5 units if you have syringes marked with 1/2 unit markings.
 
Hi Gabrielle when posting on the Lantus board you would post your title like this
8-21 Max AMPS -127 then whatever you want to say. You can add the rest of his tests if you want to

We do a new post everyday so tomorrow would be 8-22 Max AMPS

If you post tomorrow copy your previous thread which would be today's and paste it on your new thread
Max is a cutie :cat:
Thank you, I'll remember that going forward. :)
 
Hi Gabrielle! Welcome to the Lantus forum. I'm so sorry that your kitty has acromegaly, but Wendy is one of the moderators here and she has a lot of experience with it. We have several other members whose cats are acrokitties or whose cats are getting high doses of insulin, so you've found a really good community of kind and generous people.

One of the most important bits of advice given to new members here is to start your cat on low carb wet food. This change alone often helps cats into diabetic remission. My cat also has kidney disease in addition to her diabetes and her kidney disease is now diet controlled without resorting to prescription or commercial high carbohydrate renal diets. Many caregivers here feed their CKD cats foods from Weruva and Soulistic, both of which you can get at Petco, and many of them are low in phosphorus. You can also get phosphorus binders to add to low carb food. My cat also has gastrointestinal disease, so I've opted to feed her a low carb, low phosphorus raw diet that has lowered all of her kidney values dramatically in a matter of 6 months. I know this is not necessarily in the cards for all kitties, especially acrokitties, so it's a question of experimenting to see what works.

Since you're already working with an internal medicine specialist I'm sure you've gone through the options of how to manage Max's diet, but both the diabetes and the kidney disease can be managed with low carb food without privileging one condition over another.

Another important aspect of how we manage insulin dosing and low glucose events is through the feeding of a combination of low carb, medium carb, and high carb foods. Having these different combinations of carb content on hand helps us help you steer Max's glucose levels so that he can get the most insulin in him while also keeping him safe. Once you get a handle on how the forum works, you'll be able to understand a bit better how it all works.

Hang in there, and let us know if you have any questions or need more help. :bighug:
Thank you so much for the very helpful info! I'll pick up Weruva and/or Soulistic and see how he gets on with it. It has been a challenge finding a diet that works for both kidney disease and diabetes, that's for sure. One of the biggest obstacles with his diet is that he just isn't very keen on wet food, he never has been, so we're working on that.
 
Found this when I did a search in the search box
Posted by one of our members
For kitties with kidney disease and diabetes



. First number is carb percentage, second is mgs of phosphorus/100 cals, all less than 10% carb and less than 250 mg phos:

Weruva Truluxe Steak Frites can 6% 118
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen La Isla Bonita can 3% 166
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Meowiss Bueller pouch 7% 174
Weruva Truluxe Glam 'N Punk can 0.6% 180
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Fowl Ball can 4% 180
Weruva Classic Pates Jeopurrdy Licious pouch 4% 187
Weruva Classic Pates Family Food pouch 0% 191
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Cattyshack pouch 9% 211
BFF PLAY Tuna & Salmon Shhh... pouch 3% 223
BFF PLAY Tuna & Turkey Totes! pouch 2% 226
BFF PLAY Tuna & Chicken Chill Out pouch 2% 226
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Cat to the Future pouch 8% 235
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates The Breakfast Cat pouch 9.7% 235
Weruva Classic Pates Meal of Fortune pouch 8% 236
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Lamburgini can 8% 236
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Double Dip can 8% 248

You want carbs under 10% and phosphorus ideally low 200's or less.
 
Last edited:
I see your signatures says Max has Cushings and acromegaly. Has he been diagnosed with both conditions? Just trying to understand the whole picture here.

Diet won't make any difference on his possibility with remission if he has those conditions, but it will make it easier to regulate Max's diabetes if you switch to all low carb food. The Wellness wet is fine for diabetics but the Chicken and Herring is a bit high in phosphorus if you are dealing with kidney disease too. As Katherine mentioned, there are lots of options for a cat with diabetes and kidney disease. A lot of the Weruva products are appropriate if you want to go to canned food. This food chart, though a couple year old now, lists the carb and phosphorus count of a lot of foods available in the US. You want carbs under 10% and phosphorus ideally low 200's or less. Neko had CKD too, and I mostly fed her raw food made with premixes. FoodFurLife's EZComplete and TCFeline has a low phosphorus version available in Canada, where I am.

I see you gave last night's dose 1 hour early? If you shoot that much earlier, it can act like a dose increase. That plus you are still dealing with the depot of the 9.0 unit dose, which is clearly too high a dose because of that 62 (AT) you saw recently. I would try 8.5 units if you have syringes marked with 1/2 unit markings.
Hi Wendy. Yes, he has been diagnosed with both Cushing's and Acromegaly, along with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and kidney disease. Regarding his diet, the Internist vet has advised to lean more towards a diet benefitting his kidneys since we can treat the diabetes with insulin but we can't reverse damage to the kidneys. Unfortunately, Max flat out will not eat wet food that doesn't contain fish. He's never been keen on wet food and the Wellness Chicken & Herring, while higher than ideal in phosphorous, is one of the only wet foods he'll eat without a lot of coaxing (he loves FF, but that's way too high in phosphorous). I'll definitely check out the brands Katherine mentioned and look into a phosphorous binder.

Our vet said adjusting the timing of the shot by an hour in either direction shouldn't be an issue but that sounds like it may not be the case. He had a much lower than normal PMPS BS on Thursday which though us for a bit of a loop. We ended up waiting a few hours to give a reduced shot and were subsequently trying to get him back to his regular schedule. Max is a bit of an anomaly with both Cushing's and Acromegaly and there are a lot of variables. We have a lot to learn and are so grateful for all on this forum! I'll try the 8.5u and see how he does. Thank you!
 
Thank you so much
Found this when I did a search in the search box
Posted by one of our members
For kitties with kidney disease and diabetes



. First number is carb percentage, second is mgs of phosphorus/100 cals, all less than 10% carb and less than 250 mg phos:

Weruva Truluxe Steak Frites can 6% 118
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen La Isla Bonita can 3% 166
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Meowiss Bueller pouch 7% 174
Weruva Truluxe Glam 'N Punk can 0.6% 180
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Fowl Ball can 4% 180
Weruva Classic Pates Jeopurrdy Licious pouch 4% 187
Weruva Classic Pates Family Food pouch 0% 191
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Cattyshack pouch 9% 211
BFF PLAY Tuna & Salmon Shhh... pouch 3% 223
BFF PLAY Tuna & Turkey Totes! pouch 2% 226
BFF PLAY Tuna & Chicken Chill Out pouch 2% 226
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Cat to the Future pouch 8% 235
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates The Breakfast Cat pouch 9.7% 235
Weruva Classic Pates Meal of Fortune pouch 8% 236
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Lamburgini can 8% 236
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Double Dip can 8% 248

You want carbs under 10% and phosphorus ideally low 200's or less.
Thank you so much!
 
I have only heard of a couple other cats that had both acromegaly and Cushings, none of them posted here, so yes, it is unusual. Did your vet ever mention the possibility of hypophysectomy? It's the surgical removal of the pituitary gland, that is a cure for both Cushings (I'm presuming it's PDH or pituitary Cushings) and acromegaly. Unfortunately the closest place to you is AMC in New York, and it's not cheap. Other options are radiation therapy (also not cheap) and a number of people here are using the medication cabergoline which helps a lot of kitties. No idea if it works on Cushings. Did the vet talk about Trilostane for the Cushings? And sorry, one last question for my education, how was Max diagnosed with the Cushings? I presume he had the IGF-1 test run for acromegaly.

Neko also had HCM, and later congestive heart failure, and kidney disease. She did fine on the raw, and the occasional canned food though did need a binder in the later stages. Have you tried freeze dried raw? Some like the crunch of that. The Weruva and BFF both have options with fish in them. Adding a binder is always an option if you find a low carb wet food he'll eat that is higher phosphorus.

You can adjust the shot by 15 minutes per shot, or 1/2 hour once per day without much effect. More than that can make a difference.
 
I have only heard of a couple other cats that had both acromegaly and Cushings, none of them posted here, so yes, it is unusual. Did your vet ever mention the possibility of hypophysectomy? It's the surgical removal of the pituitary gland, that is a cure for both Cushings (I'm presuming it's PDH or pituitary Cushings) and acromegaly. Unfortunately the closest place to you is AMC in New York, and it's not cheap. Other options are radiation therapy (also not cheap) and a number of people here are using the medication cabergoline which helps a lot of kitties. No idea if it works on Cushings. Did the vet talk about Trilostane for the Cushings? And sorry, one last question for my education, how was Max diagnosed with the Cushings? I presume he had the IGF-1 test run for acromegaly.

Neko also had HCM, and later congestive heart failure, and kidney disease. She did fine on the raw, and the occasional canned food though did need a binder in the later stages. Have you tried freeze dried raw? Some like the crunch of that. The Weruva and BFF both have options with fish in them. Adding a binder is always an option if you find a low carb wet food he'll eat that is higher phosphorus.

You can adjust the shot by 15 minutes per shot, or 1/2 hour once per day without much effect. More than that can make a difference.
The specialist did mention hypophysectomy but quickly disregarded it as there isn't anywhere nearby that performs the surgery. We discussed SRT, but after speaking with an oncologist it was deemed too risky due to Max's obstructive HCM and kidney disease. They felt the dye from radiation mapping may be too much for his kidneys. Ultimately, due to his age and other health conditions, and the lack of data on treating a small animal with both Cushing's and Acromegaly, we have decided not to undergo any invasive procedures. The cost for SRT is $8000, and if he was otherwise in good health we would give it a shot. I do plan on asking the vet about cabergoline on Monday. She mentioned a medication previously but said it was very cost prohibitive and there wasn't enough long-term data on it yet.

Max was diagnosed with PDH Cushing's in May 2020 via a low-dose dexamethasone test. It was caught early and is currently sufficiently managed using Trilostane and has ACTH stim tests every 3 months. Earlier this year a number of symptoms weren't improving although his Cushing's was under control, and his weight gain and increasingly growing abdomen prompted an IGF-1 test which confirmed Acromegaly.

I've tried a raw diet for all our cats a couple times in the past, but they weren't interested. I do use the Instinct Raw Boost Mixers as a topper to entice him when he's not interested in his dinner, but I'll see about trying it as a meal.
 
I started my kitties on Primal raw nuggets. They liked the duck. I introduced the raw really slowly, like a quarter of their usual food for a week, left in a corner of the bowl unmixed with their regular food so that they had the option to ignore it or eat it, then gradually increased it to half of their food, 75% of their food and then they started leaving the regular food and only eating the raw. Now I use ground meat with EZ Complete and Alnutrin, both different brands of meal completers that have the vitamins and minerals the cats need. The meal completers have egg shell calcium so it keeps the meals all low phosphorus and low carb. You can use commercially prepared raw as well but most of them contain bone so you'd need to add a binder to them to lower the phosphorus content.
 
They felt the dye from radiation mapping may be too much for his kidneys.
I don't think there is dye used for SRT radiation mapping - mapping is done via CT Scan. Neko had SRT twice at Colorado State University. The folks at NCSU are also really well regarded for SRT. However, I can see how they might think the repeated anaesthesia would be too much for his heart/kidneys. Neko did have early stage kidney disease for her second SRT. She had an echocardiogram/cardio vet consult and complete blood work first, to see if she could handle it.

Glad to hear Max is on Trilostane, it does seem to help the kitties we see here. The diagnosis of Cushings seems pretty straight forward. It's also interesting for me to see cats diagnosed with those pituitary conditions before the DM was diagnosed. On hindsight, Neko had a couple signs of acromegaly (teary eye from soft tissue grown in the tear duct, and eating inappropriate foods), before her DM diagnosis too. For most cats the DM is diagnosed first, then the other conditions when the DM isn't controlled.

As for the raw diet, the EZComplete and Alnutrin premix also works with cooked meat, should they like that better.
 
I’m just stopping by to say hello, Gabrielle. My kitty Darcy was also an acrocat but I lost him in June. I am very impressed with your management of Max’s various conditions. I can tell how much you love him! He is beautiful by the way. He has lovely markings.

Oh, my boy was on Cabergoline and it really helped get his insulin dose down and helped his BGs tremendously.
 
Hi Wendy. Yes, he has been diagnosed with both Cushing's and Acromegaly, along with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and kidney disease. Regarding his diet, the Internist vet has advised to lean more towards a diet benefitting his kidneys since we can treat the diabetes with insulin but we can't reverse damage to the kidneys. Unfortunately, Max flat out will not eat wet food that doesn't contain fish. He's never been keen on wet food and the Wellness Chicken & Herring, while higher than ideal in phosphorous, is one of the only wet foods he'll eat without a lot of coaxing (he loves FF, but that's way too high in phosphorous). I'll definitely check out the brands Katherine mentioned and look into a phosphorous binder.

Our vet said adjusting the timing of the shot by an hour in either direction shouldn't be an issue but that sounds like it may not be the case. He had a much lower than normal PMPS BS on Thursday which though us for a bit of a loop. We ended up waiting a few hours to give a reduced shot and were subsequently trying to get him back to his regular schedule. Max is a bit of an anomaly with both Cushing's and Acromegaly and there are a lot of variables. We have a lot to learn and are so grateful for all on this forum! I'll try the 8.5u and see how he does. Thank you!
Do you know what his phosphorus levels are? It’s usually not a good idea to start a binder until the P is over 6; the best approach is to stick with as low a P diet as you can get that is also, for the diabetes, lower in carbs. Keep in mind that you don’t need a super low carb diet. We’ve found most diabetic cats do better with carbs in the 6-10% range so that might open it up a bit more for you. Unfortunately, most foods with fish are higher in P but I would not recommend feeding a higher P food fish diet and adding binder if his P levels are not over 6. Binders can cause constipation and the best one, aluminum hydroxide, could potentially result in aluminum toxicity if you are giving it for a really long time. Hard to say what that might be for him so best to not use it until you have to.

So he was diagnosed with HCM some time ago. What meds do you give him for it and is it stable or do his measurements continue to increase?

He is a beautiful boy. Welcome to our group!!!
 
Hi Wendy. Yes, he has been diagnosed with both Cushing's and Acromegaly, along with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and kidney disease. Regarding his diet, the Internist vet has advised to lean more towards a diet benefitting his kidneys since we can treat the diabetes with insulin but we can't reverse damage to the kidneys. Unfortunately, Max flat out will not eat wet food that doesn't contain fish. He's never been keen on wet food and the Wellness Chicken & Herring, while higher than ideal in phosphorous, is one of the only wet foods he'll eat without a lot of coaxing (he loves FF, but that's way too high in phosphorous). I'll definitely check out the brands Katherine mentioned and look into a phosphorous binder.

Our vet said adjusting the timing of the shot by an hour in either direction shouldn't be an issue but that sounds like it may not be the case. He had a much lower than normal PMPS BS on Thursday which though us for a bit of a loop. We ended up waiting a few hours to give a reduced shot and were subsequently trying to get him back to his regular schedule. Max is a bit of an anomaly with both Cushing's and Acromegaly and there are a lot of variables. We have a lot to learn and are so grateful for all on this forum! I'll try the 8.5u and see how he does. Thank you!
Hi there!

My cat also tends to lean hard on the fish when we switched to wet. Weruva’s BFF PLAY line has worked really well for us in terms of being both low carb and low phosphorous. The favorites around here contain tuna (always with another protein), but they also have chicken based ones.
 
Hi Gabrielle. Just stopping by to welcome you to LLB. I know how hard it is to manage more than one chronic condition as my Max had chronic pancreatitis and later ckd and chf. You are doing a great job with your boy.
 
I started my kitties on Primal raw nuggets. They liked the duck. I introduced the raw really slowly, like a quarter of their usual food for a week, left in a corner of the bowl unmixed with their regular food so that they had the option to ignore it or eat it, then gradually increased it to half of their food, 75% of their food and then they started leaving the regular food and only eating the raw. Now I use ground meat with EZ Complete and Alnutrin, both different brands of meal completers that have the vitamins and minerals the cats need. The meal completers have egg shell calcium so it keeps the meals all low phosphorus and low carb. You can use commercially prepared raw as well but most of them contain bone so you'd need to add a binder to them to lower the phosphorus content.
I just wish the raw wasn't so darn expensive. I'll explore this further, though. Thank you!
 
I don't think there is dye used for SRT radiation mapping - mapping is done via CT Scan.

It's also interesting for me to see cats diagnosed with those pituitary conditions before the DM was diagnosed. On hindsight, Neko had a couple signs of acromegaly (teary eye from soft tissue grown in the tear duct, and eating inappropriate foods), before her DM diagnosis too. For most cats the DM is diagnosed first, then the other conditions when the DM isn't controlled.

As for the raw diet, the EZComplete and Alnutrin premix also works with cooked meat, should they like that better.
The oncologist we spoke with did say she would need to use contrast dye for mapping during the CT scan as the pituitary gland is so small. Yes, we were surprised it took so long for the DM to develop. Max certainly marches to the beat of a different drum, though.
 
Do you know what his phosphorus levels are? It’s usually not a good idea to start a binder until the P is over 6; the best approach is to stick with as low a P diet as you can get that is also, for the diabetes, lower in carbs. Keep in mind that you don’t need a super low carb diet. We’ve found most diabetic cats do better with carbs in the 6-10% range so that might open it up a bit more for you. Unfortunately, most foods with fish are higher in P but I would not recommend feeding a higher P food fish diet and adding binder if his P levels are not over 6. Binders can cause constipation and the best one, aluminum hydroxide, could potentially result in aluminum toxicity if you are giving it for a really long time. Hard to say what that might be for him so best to not use it until you have to.

So he was diagnosed with HCM some time ago. What meds do you give him for it and is it stable or do his measurements continue to increase?

He is a beautiful boy. Welcome to our group!!!
Hello and thanks! He had bloodwork done yesterday and his phosphorus levels were within the normal range, though I don't know the exact number. The specialist he sees said everything looked good (Creatinine and BUN both in the high normal range), CBC, thyroid and cortisol also normal. His Pancreatic level is increased, though, and we suspect he may have pancreatitis as he's not eating quite as much suddenly. The vet said she usually doesn't recommend a binder unless the CKD is in the later stages.

Yes, he and his brother bother have HCM. He takes 6.25mg of Atenolol daily and his measurements have been stable for around 6 years.
 
Hi there!

My cat also tends to lean hard on the fish when we switched to wet. Weruva’s BFF PLAY line has worked really well for us in terms of being both low carb and low phosphorous. The favorites around here contain tuna (always with another protein), but they also have chicken based ones.
Hi! I had a look for Weruva while at PetSmart today but they don't carry it. I'll have a look at Petco as someone else mentioned they stock it.
 
I’m just stopping by to say hello, Gabrielle. My kitty Darcy was also an acrocat but I lost him in June. I am very impressed with your management of Max’s various conditions. I can tell how much you love him! He is beautiful by the way. He has lovely markings.

Oh, my boy was on Cabergoline and it really helped get his insulin dose down and helped his BGs tremendously.
Hi Suzanne! I'm so very sorry to hear about the loss of your sweet Darcy. My heart goes out to you.
Max's belly and flanks are a bit bare these days, but he is as beautiful as ever. I'm glad to hear Cabergoline worked well for Darcy. Our vet did a bit of research on it and is in favour of us giving it a try soon.
 
Hi! I had a look for Weruva while at PetSmart today but they don't carry it. I'll have a look at Petco as someone else mentioned they stock it.
Yes, unfortunately PetSmart does not carry it. Bums me out because PetSmart is literally a 2 minute drive, and PetCo is 20. But I did like that I could get a bunch of different flavors to test rather than having to buy a whole case from Chewy or PetCo online. I bought so many from PetCo in the last few months I had $10 off in rewards...
 
I just wish the raw wasn't so darn expensive. I'll explore this further, though. Thank you!
It doesn't have to be costly if you can make your own. EZ Complete can be expensive alone, but if you buy supermarket meats (vacuum sealed, not in the styrofoam or plastic trays), stick to inexpensive cuts like chicken, turkey, beef, and pork, and grind it yourself, it doesn't have to be expensive. I buy pre-ground boneless meats from a pet food purveyor and they ship it to me frozen. Even with the shipping I spent about as much as I would on Weruva for two cats each month. It comes out to be more if I buy more "exotic" meats like venison and bison. I wrote a condo about raw feeding in the Think Tank forum that might be good for you to read and think about: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/raw-feeding-senior-kitties.248460/
 
Hello and thanks! He had bloodwork done yesterday and his phosphorus levels were within the normal range, though I don't know the exact number. The specialist he sees said everything looked good (Creatinine and BUN both in the high normal range), CBC, thyroid and cortisol also normal. His Pancreatic level is increased, though, and we suspect he may have pancreatitis as he's not eating quite as much suddenly. The vet said she usually doesn't recommend a binder unless the CKD is in the later stages.

Yes, he and his brother bother have HCM. He takes 6.25mg of Atenolol daily and his measurements have been stable for around 6 years.
Alot to unpack here. First, kittens’ values are also in the normal range which means at, Antech Lab, for example, it goes up to 8. A cat with CKD should not be above 4.5 so her saying it is in the “normal” range could be very problematic. I had a vet tell me this on my first CKD not understanding about the kitten values included and my cat’s P was at 7. No wonder he felt horrible and, consequently, I didn’t know to do anything to get the P under control.

Second, what test did she run for the “pancreatic level”? I ask because some vets still haven’t caught up to the fact that Amylase cannot be used to determine pancreatitis in cats like it can in dogs. She would have had to run a snapfPL or a specfPL although Antech does a “Precision PL” test which they like to think somewhat resembles a spec or snapfPL but it doesn’t. So, unless your vet specifically ran a spec or snapfPL, I wouldn’t give alot of credence to that statement.

One thing I try to tell anyone who asks about labs is, you paid for the labs and probably quite dearly so there is absolutely no reason why you should not get a complete copy of the lab results emailed or handed to you when they are received from the lab. Lab values are not in a vacuum meaning there aren’t just a couple things we look at for CKD such as BUN and creatinine. There are many values there which provide valued information about the CKD. I strongly encourage you to insist you receive a complete copy of the labs and then load them into the SS on the Lab tab. I keep a SS for my two healthy cats since they were kittens so, at a glance, i can see if there are any trends.
 
Alot to unpack here. First, kittens’ values are also in the normal range which means at, Antech Lab, for example, it goes up to 8. A cat with CKD should not be above 4.5 so her saying it is in the “normal” range could be very problematic. I had a vet tell me this on my first CKD not understanding about the kitten values included and my cat’s P was at 7. No wonder he felt horrible and, consequently, I didn’t know to do anything to get the P under control.

Second, what test did she run for the “pancreatic level”? I ask because some vets still haven’t caught up to the fact that Amylase cannot be used to determine pancreatitis in cats like it can in dogs. She would have had to run a snapfPL or a specfPL although Antech does a “Precision PL” test which they like to think somewhat resembles a spec or snapfPL but it doesn’t. So, unless your vet specifically ran a spec or snapfPL, I wouldn’t give alot of credence to that statement.

One thing I try to tell anyone who asks about labs is, you paid for the labs and probably quite dearly so there is absolutely no reason why you should not get a complete copy of the lab results emailed or handed to you when they are received from the lab. Lab values are not in a vacuum meaning there aren’t just a couple things we look at for CKD such as BUN and creatinine. There are many values there which provide valued information about the CKD. I strongly encourage you to insist you receive a complete copy of the labs and then load them into the SS on the Lab tab. I keep a SS for my two healthy cats since they were kittens so, at a glance, i can see if there are any trends.
Amen!
 
Back
Top