? 8/21 Lisa amps 116 +2 120 +5 101 vacation dose question

dionysia ke

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...94-vacation-and-drop-dosing-questions.251564/
I am leaving in two days on the 23rd for a 10 day vacation. I have been giving Lisa a snack at +9 since 18/8 pm cycle. Mom can shoot and test twice in every cycle at ps and +2. However she can't fill the syringe so I have to prepare them for her. What do you think of Lisa's progress? Do you think I should prepare drop dosed syringes for my mom or do you think we should give no insulin during my vacations?
 
Is there any way you can have someone fill the syringes? The syringes have a lubricant in them. Pre-filling syringes with Lantus is not advised. There is information on this in the sticky notes. For the amount you're shooting, I would think this is something your mom could do. (Are you just pressing hard on the plunger, inserting it into the insulin and then releasing the pressure?)

The dilemma, as I see it, is that Lisa is doing great! She's just not quite ready for an OTJ trial, at least not ready if you were going to be home. I would ordinarily suggest reducing the dose if you're away from home but there's no place to further reduce the dose.

I asked a few people to take a look.
 
Lisa -

I suspect you have 2 options:
  • don't have your mom give insulin while you're gone or
  • have her shoot and give your kitty some higher carb food
The issue is one of safety more than anything else.
 
I could show my mom how to draw a drop, however I am afraid she may do something wrong. Also, check my ss again, bg has been lower in the latest cycles.
 
She has been in the green more but has more blue than a cat in remission. It’s up to you. If you are worried your mom will give too much insulin then don’t have her give it. In that case have her feed lc only and know that she might need to go back on insulin upon your return. You have to do what makes you comfortable. If no insulin will be given have your mom test morning and night. If the numbers go up a lot she can try giving a drop or wait for your return. It will only be a week.
 
Last edited:
How do you see liza ?pmps.70 and +1 58!!what do you think??maybe she ready for stop insulin?i need advice!!!
 
If you were not going away we would have you keep giving the drop dose to change some of the blue to green . Are you giving a +9 snack every cycle? Since you are going on vacation I think it best to stop insulin while you are away. When you come home post for advice. Have your mom get an Ambg morning and night. If either is not under 100 it would be good to get a +3-4. If she can’t she can’t. Have her feed lc only. Have a fun vacation and don’t worry about Lisa.
 
Back
Top