8/21 Kiwi -need help with dose (AMPS 436, +3 164)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiwi F

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100483

Hi guys.

I really need your help. I know I'm asking some of the same questions as before, but I guess I'm still confused about how to make decisions about dose changes when his numbers are all over the map. I also know I've been holding his doses too long, but I am very sick myself, and I'm trying hard to keep up. I do know that its very bad for him not to be regulated yet, and I feel terrible about it (and very worried about him). I want to try harder to speed this process up, and I'm hoping I can do that with your help.

First of all, I would like to know if everyone agrees he needs another increase? He was starting to get some greens on 1 unit, but I had given it extra time, and he was still only having these low numbers during part of the day, and even the lower numbers weren't quite low enough, so I decided to raise him to 1.25. Now he is spending a little longer in the blue range, but some of his numbers are higher than they were at 1.0 (and he's not hitting any greens on his current dose, like he did then). I just want to make sure no one thinks I missed his correct dose before I start raising it farther. I have been testing him for ketones and he's still negative, fortunately.

Also, I'm going to need to be in the hospital a couple of days this week, and the only sitter I can find for Kiwi is very uncomfortable giving him a shot. I tried to convince him to let me teach him, but I don't think its going to happen. Should I be waiting to change his dose until I get home, or would it be better to raise it now, so he doesn't need to wait any longer (I'm not sure which days it will be yet, so I don't know how long I have... I was hoping to have been done already, so I could concentrate on Kiwi, but its not happened that way). Does anyone have any suggestions on how to handle this? Is there anything I can do to get him through those couple days safer?

I would appreciate your help very much.

Thanks,
Kim and Kiwi
 
I think you have room to raise the dose.

Have you thought about asking a vet tech from your vet's office to stop in to give Kiwi his shots? Maybe he or she can learn to test too. I would have whoever pet sits do ketone tests and instruct them to let you know if Kiwi doesn't eat or seems off.

Good luck with the new dose.
 
I agree with Dyana on all counts. I think you have room to raise the dose. I've always used a vet tech as a sitter when I travel.

Have you thought about posting a note here and on Health to see if anyone lives near you? We have had people lend a hand.
 
Thanks for the ideas. I did teach him to test blood test (but it seems of little value if Kiwi doesn't get his shot...except to let me know how bad he's doing :sad: ). I'm glad you mentioned the ketone test (that slipped my mind). I'm sure I can show him that, and I'm sure its extra important if he doesn't get his shot (how dangerous is it for him to miss two days of insulin?). I will try the vet tech idea, although my experience with them tells me its unlikely (but worth asking!). Thanks for all the ideas and advice.

As far as his dosing... how do I know if I need to increase (I'm asking this for next time) if he's bouncing so much (without waiting so long)?
 
As a best guess at the moment -- since each situation can be different -- if you see a yellow pre-shot, it looks like there's a good chance the bounce is clearing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top