? 8/21 Jessi, time sensitive, shoot, reduce, skip???

Stefania S

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...e-453-glucose-333-from-vet-blood-work.280266/

Hi all,

We had a CAT scan today, and Jessi just ate her first full meal. I am waiting to see if it stays down. She is drinking like crazy. In the AM I gave a token dose since she was fasting. We are normally at about .85 units of Lantus these days. Her BGs were low after the exam when they tested them today, in the 80-70 range, if I remember right, but not dangerously low. The exam was about 3 hours ago maybe a little more.

I have no testing possibilities. I just want to know if I should give a half dose, a full dose, or other.

The real problem now is that the schedule got so late that tomorrow evening, pre-surgery, I may not be able to give her the full dose or any dose at all since she will probably have to be fasting from midnight. It's already 8pm here and I haven't given insulin yet. We are 2 hours late so far.

Please let me know your thoughts.

thanks!
 
Last edited:
Actually, now that I think of it, the Vet may have said that when they tested post anesthesia, her BGs were even lower. I should have written it down, I was a little out of it.

I am still waiting and the clock is ticking. We are now 3 hours behind schedule. At this point I am tempted to just give another token dose and resume our regular schedule and dose in the morning.

I sure could use some advice...
 
Also her belly is extremely bloated, more than ever, she just belched, and I'm concerned she may puke especially given how much water she is drinking. She has digestive issues normally but right now her belly is like a balloon. It could be the intestine hasn't quite woken up entirely.

Is this more reason to hold off, give a token dose, or skip? If I give her a dose not my night will get crazy late and I probably won't be able to give a dose tomorrow PM before surgery.

I guess I didn't prepare for this. I forgot to consider the lasting effects of anesthesia and the possibility that the shot could get very late.
 
9:20pm now, I guess I'll go ahead and give her a partial dose. I have no idea how to handle this situation. What will I give in the morning and at what time? If I give a partial dose now can I make the time earlier in the morning by more than just a small increment?
 
I just managed to get a BG test, it's at 248

I can give the full dose then, but we are not almost 4 hours late which makes it impossible for me to give the dose the night before the surgery.

any advice please, shoot or skip and go back to the earlier time?
 
I just managed to get a BG test, it's at 248

I can give the full dose then, but we are not almost 4 hours late which makes it impossible for me to give the dose the night before the surgery.

any advice please, shoot or skip and go back to the earlier time?
Hi Stefania, great job getting reading :bighug:
you are 4 hours post shot time? If you shoot now, your next shot would be 12 hours from now
For me, I would skip.
 
Thanks, Angela, I waited hours but finally had to make the call on my own so I gave a half dose. I really didn't know what to do.

If I had gotten your message a half hour earlier I would have done what you said. I thought skipping was worse. Now I know.

So that means I will have to skip the PM pre-surgery shot, right, since she will be fasting starting at midnight?
 
I painstakingly kept us on a super early schedule for several weeks so I could give her the evening shot before surgery. That just went up in smoke...now she will miss two doses back to back, possibly three depending on how post surgery goes...I have no idea what this will do to her BGs.

Wouldn't it be nice if the Vets would have taken all of this into account and worked with me to make the scheduling work out better? It was the Vet herself today who said, 'we never skip a dose' making me too nervous to skip tonight, even though it was what I wanted to do. I would have gotten more sleep too.
 
Back
Top