8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366 +4 347

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
Garland beat DKA last week and is now fighting FHL. Week 2 E tube feedings

During one of the middle of the night feedings, Garland actually wanted to drink some water on her own. She didnt, but she really really wanted to. I have a small cup of water to rinse off the syringe while Im feeding her, and when I sat down, she saw the glass and went straight for it. She tried to drink 3-4 times, but never did? Kept putting her face down, started to look like she was going to take a lick, but then would pull back. Then she would try again. So thats progress! She hasnt even acted interested in food or water for weeks now!
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304

Sounds good! go Garland! and his Mama Bean! you are doing such a great job Violet, come on Garland, drink the water!
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304

There may be some nausea going on which, hopefully, the meds will take care of. Or, even better, she may need to get started on eating and drinking on her own. Try wetting your finger and see if she'll lick or dampen her lips and let her lick her lips from the water. It may get her started.
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304

Wonderful news that she is acting interested in water again sending lots of healing vines her way today :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304

I wouldn't introduce her to food at all until you are 100% sure nausea has been addressed. I've posted before that this can cause her to stay off food even longer. I think she is starting to feel stronger. Have you made a decision about how to go about talking to the vet or what you will do for getting nausea addressed? She is your baby, she can't tell the vet what she needs. It will be uncomfortable talking to them for some minutes but it will be over soon. When I talk to vets I have to practice - someone mentioned talking to Dr. Maverick LOL. So talk to Dr. Garland and practice. Out loud works better than in your head. I do understand. I get sweaty palms, my face gets red and hot and my heart thumps loudly in my ears. Even thinking of talking to a vet gives me butterflies. The peptalks helped immensely. I did wish someone could be there with me by my side and be at the appointment with me though.
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304

Violet --

I think it's time to increase Garland's dose. Given the history of ketones, you really want to be aggressive with the Lantus dosing. You'll want to evaluate Garland's dose every 4 - 6 cycles (2 - 3 days). For tonight, I'd suggest increasing the dose by 0.25u so your new dose will be 2.25u.
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304

Hello there!

Great to here she's a tiny bit perkier!

Popping in to see how things are going. I am without an internet connection at home due to some bonehead taking an axe to a cable in SW Balto. It's getting close to 24 hours now...
Anyway I'm at work and have a connection but can't see googledocs.

How did Garlands BGs play out durng last nights cycle? Also, how many cycles has shw been on 2.0u Lantus now?

ETA - I agree with Sienne regarding an increase at this time.
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347

I am going to pick up the anti nausua meds from the vet later today. It almost an hour drive to get there, so I had to wait until its a good time for the kids.

So starting tonight 2.25? Im on board with that :) Her numbers really arent budging at all. Its almost like they go up after a dose??
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347

Violet:

Glad to hear she is feeling a little better and showing interest in water. I wonder if you elevate her water bowl if that might help? I just use whatever plastic food storage bowls I have that are 4-5" deep and put the water bowls on that for my renal kitties...it is supposed to help with kitties who may have a little acid tummy. Worth a try....she may not feel like bending her head over because it makes her nauseous but if it's higher...she might be able to do it.

Good luck!!!
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347

Just want to send my best to Garland and Violet. Been praying and sending good thoughts your way.
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347

Post more when you come back - the drug/dosing schedule also. Good luck Violet! You are doing great!!!! It was a rollercoaster treating Maverick just for FHL. He was critically ill, but I only had to learn about FHL and not both FHL AND diabetes AND DKA. And I have no children. Hang in there.
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347

Okay. Sorry, this is the first time Ive had a chance to get online.

I picked up the Cerenia. They are 16mg and he said to give 1/2 tablet every 24 hours (there are 4 in the box all together)

He also gave me a Rx for something else when I picked up the other pills. Ill type it out
--->> ondansetron 4mg, 1 tablet orally every 8 hours-->> Im assuming this in a one or the other situation

Right now Ive been giving the pepcid, potassium gel(oral), and meto all at the same time 2x a day. 20 minutes before first morning feed (around 7am) and 20 minutes before a night feed (between 7-8 depending on when I get the baby in bed)

I have not been giving the mirta(appetite stimulant) or the vitamin
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

WOOOHOOOO You made my day!!!!!!!!!!! Good for you!

I'm double checking on the cerenia dosing. This will be good for the vomiting and then switch to ondansetron for overall well feeling to fight the nausea from the FHL after. Ondansetron - even though the plumbs guide says up to 4mg each dose the recommended dose is 1mg (1/4 of a pill) twice a day. Don't give a whole 4mg pill. I bet you will see a big difference in how she is feeling with the nausea addressed.

Cerenia can cause lethargy also so just a heads up.
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

Don't miss the dosing and testing advice above.

Have you read up on how to change her bandages on the FAF site? There is a picture guide in the pictures section.

One more thing - you can give 10 or 15mls of warm water in the tube between feedings also as she is a DKA kitty. Most cats get enough water from the wetfood feedings but in her case it might be beneficial. I bet she'll start drinking on her own when you give the antinausea meds.
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

Hi Violet and Garland...just wanted to say we've still got you in our thoughts and prayers. You are most amazing...along with all the LantusLanders who are guiding you through all of this. You and Garland have touched all of our hearts. Great work from everyone!

Amy
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

The ondansatron is an anti-emetic -- it reduces vomiting. This is one of the drugs that Karrie suggested you get. FYI - there are a long list of drug interactions with this drug. DO NOT give the mirtazepine without talking to your vet (or better yet, with the pharmacist at your local drug store.) Ondansatron (or Zofran) is used in humans as is mirtazepine (Remeron). A pharmacist is a better resource when it comes to being knowledgeable about drug interactions. I'd also suggest not giving the vitamin supplement given that ondansatron also interacts with B and D vitamins.

Is Garland getting any pain meds? If so, several of these also interact with ondansatron.

Karrie can tell you more about when the meds are best given.

BTW, did you pick up any Clinicare?
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

Karrie and Maverick said:
WOOOHOOOO You made my day!!!!!!!!!!! Good for you!

I'm double checking on the cerenia dosing. This will be good for the vomiting and then switch to ondansetron for overall well feeling to fight the nausea from the FHL after. Ondansetron - even though the plumbs guide says up to 4mg each dose the recommended dose is 1mg (1/4 of a pill) twice a day. Don't give a whole 4mg pill. I bet you will see a big difference in how she is feeling with the nausea addressed.

Cerenia can cause lethargy also so just a heads up.
So you want me to start the cerenia first then when that runs out start the other?

And do I do the dose in the AM or PM?
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

Sienne and Gabby said:
The ondansatron is an anti-emetic -- it reduces vomiting. This is one of the drugs that Karrie suggested you get. FYI - there are a long list of drug interactions with this drug. DO NOT give the mirtazepine without talking to your vet (or better yet, with the pharmacist at your local drug store.) Ondansatron (or Zofran) is used in humans as is mirtazepine (Remeron). A pharmacist is a better resource when it comes to being knowledgeable about drug interactions. I'd also suggest not giving the vitamin supplement given that ondansatron also interacts with B and D vitamins.

Is Garland getting any pain meds? If so, several of these also interact with ondansatron.

Karrie can tell you more about when the meds are best given.

BTW, did you pick up any Clinicare?
I stopped the Mirtazepine for good last week. I was told it can cause food adversions and stuff. I also stopped the vitamin for good because of the BS numbers. It has a bunch of sugar in it.

The only meds she is on right now is the potassium, the meto, and the pepcid. No pain meds or anything like that. I got some clinicare 4-5 days ago. Ive been mixing it with the recovery.
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

Karrie and Maverick said:
Don't miss the dosing and testing advice above.

Have you read up on how to change her bandages on the FAF site? There is a picture guide in the pictures section.

One more thing - you can give 10 or 15mls of warm water in the tube between feedings also as she is a DKA kitty. Most cats get enough water from the wetfood feedings but in her case it might be beneficial. I bet she'll start drinking on her own when you give the antinausea meds.
Yea, i changed her dose to 2.25 for her PM shot.. That .25 increase is hard to see on the syringe, even with the half markings.. i hope i did it right
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

TrixieCat said:
Hi Violet and Garland...just wanted to say we've still got you in our thoughts and prayers. You are most amazing...along with all the LantusLanders who are guiding you through all of this. You and Garland have touched all of our hearts. Great work from everyone!

Amy
Thank you so much. Everyone here has been such a blessing to Garland and me. I would have been lost without you all! ((hugs))
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

OMG OMG OMG

GARLAND IS WALKING AROUND!!!! I had brought her out in the living room about 30 minutes ago so she could get a change of scenery. She just got up, walked across the room to the patio door and scratched to be let out! (we let them lounge on the concrete here and there outside) I opened the door and she walked over to her usual sunning spot and sprawled out!!

OMG OMG OMG -->> she hasnt walked more than 3 steps in 2 weeks! flip_cat

Shes still a bit wobbly, but it was such an improvement! Before she could barely move her hind legs.
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

Just checking on Garland. Sounds like you are making progress!

Go Garland!
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

violet826 said:
OMG OMG OMG

GARLAND IS WALKING AROUND!!!! I had brought her out in the living room about 30 minutes ago so she could get a change of scenery. She just got up, walked across the room to the patio door and scratched to be let out! (we let them lounge on the concrete here and there outside) I opened the door and she walked over to her usual sunning spot and sprawled out!!

OMG OMG OMG -->> she hasnt walked more than 3 steps in 2 weeks! flip_cat

Shes still a bit wobbly, but it was such an improvement! Before she could barely move her hind legs.

Best news EVER!!!! You go, girl!!!!
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

WOOOHOOOOO> Those tiny steps just refill the heart don't they.

If it was Maverick, and he hadn't vomited all day and I had to chose what to start - I would chose the ondansetron. But you have the cerenia on hand so you can use that tonight. Call around tomorrow to a lot of pharmacies for the price of their ondansetron. Some places will charge crazy high amounts per pill, a mom and pop shop could sell it for as low as a dollar, I think walgreens sells it for $3/pill.

I'll get back with you hopefully tonight about timing.
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

Violet:

We've been doing a bit of backchannel spreadsheet and dose review for Garland. I'd like to suggest you raise Garland's dose to 2.5u in the morning. This is an aggressive approach to dosing but necessary if we're going to keep the ketone levels down. Not enough insulin is one of the causes for ketones developing.

And speaking of ketones, please test for ketones whenever you can. Ketones are never really "cured." This is a critical phase for Garland. Even if it's a false positive, you need to know that.
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

Hi - just checking in, seeing how you guys are doing. WOW, and wonderful on her wanting to be out on the patio. Best news!! I wish you luck with everything - you have done an amazing job!
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

YAY for Garland!!! Im so happy for you Violet, ive been following since the beginning and this news brings a tear to my eye!! :-D :thumbup :RAHCAT
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

Sienne and Gabby said:
Violet:

We've been doing a bit of backchannel spreadsheet and dose review for Garland. I'd like to suggest you raise Garland's dose to 2.5u in the morning. This is an aggressive approach to dosing but necessary if we're going to keep the ketone levels down. Not enough insulin is one of the causes for ketones developing.

And speaking of ketones, please test for ketones whenever you can. Ketones are never really "cured." This is a critical phase for Garland. Even if it's a false positive, you need to know that.

Hi Violet, GREAT news about Garland getiing up and about today!

I agree with Sienne that it's a good idea to raise Garlands dose to 2.5u Lantus in the morning (it will be easier on your eyes too!)
Ketones can rear their ugly head again - it's important to be vigilant. Get at least 1 test a day.
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

You are doing a wonderful job, Violet. That Garland walked and went to her favorite spot on the patio is tremendous. We are praying for her continued recovery and wishing you a good night tonight. :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Sienne and Gabby said:
Violet:

We've been doing a bit of backchannel spreadsheet and dose review for Garland. I'd like to suggest you raise Garland's dose to 2.5u in the morning. This is an aggressive approach to dosing but necessary if we're going to keep the ketone levels down. Not enough insulin is one of the causes for ketones developing.

And speaking of ketones, please test for ketones whenever you can. Ketones are never really "cured." This is a critical phase for Garland. Even if it's a false positive, you need to know that.

Hi Violet, GREAT news about Garland getiing up and about today!

I agree with Sienne that it's a good idea to raise Garlands dose to 2.5u Lantus in the morning (it will be easier on your eyes too!)
Ketones can rear their ugly head again - it's important to be vigilant. Get at least 1 test a day.
2.5, okay :) thanks
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

How are all of you getting your kitty avis the right size?? ive been trying forever to use a picture of garland as my avi and nothing I do can get it small enough :(
 
Re: 8/21 Garland AMPS 304 +6 347 PMPS 366

Sienne and Gabby said:
And speaking of ketones, please test for ketones whenever you can. Ketones are never really "cured." This is a critical phase for Garland. Even if it's a false positive, you need to know that.

DCIN has sent Violet a meter and strips to test Garland's blood ketones.
 
Garland is walking and looking for the sun!! GO GARLAND!! You are an amazing kitty and you have a very caring bean, Go Girl!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top