8/21 Chino|AMPS=390|pink|PMPS=373|+2=346|+4=225|+6=151|+8=99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

This is day 3 on cabergoline. Today I dispensed it in his mouth instead of mixing it with his food, and he tolerated it surprisingly well. I hope this high AMPS means he's ready to come down from this bounce. If he hadn't just started cabergoline, I would've reduced the Lantus dose to 13 units instead of 12.
 
Last edited:
It has been 14 days since Chino last pissed on the couch and I stacked boxes on both couches to keep him off of them. I've been testing him on the floor ever since. Sometimes I'll move a box to make just enough room for me to sit, but each time I do that, he tries to get under my knees or tries to cram himself into the tiny space between me and the box. Tonight, I covered the long couch (the one he pissed on) with a thick sheet of vinyl, 9' x 4.5'. The couch cover is on top of the vinyl, so if he does it again, at least the couch will stay dry.

If he turns out to be one of the lucky few that respond to cabergoline, I know it's safer to be on a less effective dose of Lantus when it starts working, but that doesn't make it any easier to see these persistent pinks. I think my biggest fear at the moment is that he won't respond to cabergoline, and I'll have to go a lot higher with Lantus to get his BG back under control.
 
PMPS = 373 (3rd meal LC 3%)
[4th cycle on 12 units Lantus, 3rd day of cabergoline]
+2 = 346
+4 = 225 (4th meal LC 3%)

The +4 meal usually slows him down a little. I hope it does tonight. If he drops another 100+ over the next 2 hours, he'll be close to 100 at +6, so I'm going to bed now and the next check will be at +6. (Since I'm on call tomorrow, this is a more sensible strategy than staying up for a +5 and likely having to skip a dose - along with half a night of sleep.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top