8/21 Bj PmPs(268), +2.5(173), +4(114), +6(129)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike and Bj

Member Since 2012
AmPs(130) BCS .5u
+1 (164)
+3 (81)
+4.5 (106)
PmPs (268) .75u
+2.5 (173)
+4 (114)
+6 (129)



Yesterday Recap:
AmPs (346)
+2.6 (288)
+5 (83)
+6 (90)
PmPs (435)
+2.5 (363)
+4 (180)
+6 (136)
 
Re: 8/21 Bj AmPs(130)

This is the lowest he's ever been for pre-shot. I'm thinking I'm a little scared to shoot. Can I get some feedback, please?
 
Re: 8/21 Bj AmPs(130)

Hey there,
You had that 124 back on july 30. Am I remembering correctly that was your baptism by fire introduction to all of this or
am I remembering someone else?

Are you around all afternoon so you can watch BJ?
 
Re: 8/21 Bj AmPs(130)

You're correct. Yes, I'll be here. The way he's been dropping 300 points in an hour scares me.
 
Re: 8/21 Bj AmPs(130)

Yes I see he's been doing some bouncing there.
I don't see anyone around who usually can give advise. I hope someone pops in.
Sienne sometimes pops in for a few minutes during the day. Marje still isn't home yet.
 
Re: 8/21 Bj AmPs(130)

Ok, I went with a reduced dose of .5u today. I dunno maybe I',m just being paranoid but my gut is telling me to do this.
 
Re: 8/21 Bj AmPs(130)

well you should know here in the next few hours if he was going to rise already and you could've .
But you should do what you feel most comfortable with and you'll be better prepared next time.
Hopefully BJ will wait and do it when you have an advisor cruising the board.


The good news is you are getting some lower numbers and it will continue to play out.
BJ has proven to be a little less than predictable.
 
Re: 8/21 Bj AmPs(130), +1(164), +3(81)

Sometimes, you got to go with your gut, Mike. You did good by listening to it.
You might want to write BCS next to the .5u, so we know it was a temporary one time reduction.
 
Re: 8/21 Bj AmPs(130), +1(164), +3(81)

:o :lol:













she said it.... i didn't..... :oops:
it's okay. just about everybody does it once. Sometimes it's a necessity.
You've done it before. You knew how stressful it was and you made a call.
Odds are, it will present itself again....
 
Re: 8/21 Bj AmPs(130), +1(164), +3(81)

+4.5 (106)

Hey, I've been called worse. :-D
Kidding aside, you think that was a bad call? His numbers were wierd last night - he's usually UP by +6. I'm looking for patterns in there but the only thing I can predict is that it will be unpredictable. I dunno, I was so tired this morning I could hardly focus my eyes on the syringe lines.
 
Re: 8/21 Bj AmPs(130), +1(164), +3(81), +4.5(106)

i think it was just because of protocol.
you were home so it was a good day because of that.
You very likely would have been having a pokefest for the entire cycle and then earned a reduction but now you don't know that.
So we'll have to see what the advisor group has to say.

Sounds like you'll be doing that dose again and having to watch the next cycle(s) until this plays out. So I hope you will be around
for the next cycles until it does.
Cats are good at timing this stuff out when we aren't going to be home. Sure don't want that to happen.
 
Re: 8/21 Bj AmPs(130), +1(164), +3(81), +4.5(106)

Hi Mike,

Kidding aside, you think that was a bad call? His numbers were wierd last night - he's usually UP by +6. I'm looking for patterns in there but the only thing I can predict is that it will be unpredictable. I dunno, I was so tired this morning I could hardly focus my eyes on the syringe lines.

I don't think it was a bad call at all, Mike. Like Dyana said, listen to your gut in these cases. BJ certainly isn't making this easy for you. He seems to be a kitty who enjoys early cycle cliff diving and an early nadir. Like you said, he's usually "up" by +6, and the excitement seems to happen in the first 3 or 4 hours of most of his cycles. On top of that, BJ is a big fan of bouncing off those green numbers.
Really, the reduction wasn't that much of a BCS, but it might be enough to slow things down a little bit. Many times it doesn't seem to have the immediate effect you are looking for, because there's still the "depot" affecting things. That 1u depot is still adjusting downward to the .75u dose you just reduced to. So far though, these numbers look a little less chaotic so you might get a relaxing cycle or two out of him. ;-)
When you're so tired your eyes can't focus on the syringe, that's when "mistakes" can happen. No worse feeling than going back to bed, and all of a sudden waking up and wondering "did I shoot the right dose? Did I even give him a shot? Did I remember to put the insulin back in the fridge???? :o "
Carl
 
Re: 8/21 Bj AmPs(130), +1(164), +3(81), +4.5(106)

Right on, thanks for looking out for us you guys. I'm going back to .75u tonight.
PmPs (268)
 
Re: 8/21 Bj AmPs(130), +1(164), +3(81), +4.5(106), PmPs(268)

Hiya Mike

Just going over your condo and SS, and something jumped out at me. You mention BJ is "normally" up by (+6). As you've seen, in BJ himself and many other kitties, "normal" is a pretty loaded term around here :mrgreen: One cat's normalcy differs from that of most others, and even within one cat's progress through the sugardance, one day's or one phase's normalcy can vary and change... Just to make you feel a little less anxious about "weird numbers".

I believe what you saw last night was BJ becoming better at clearing bounces and staying a *little* more levelled out. Go over his SS and pay particular attention to his reactions to mid-range or lower-range greens - can you see how BJ's response time has improved? Compare, say, the 5th of August (bounce off the 40s into the 500s, next blue and approaching decent number was 3 cycles on) with the dips into the 40s on the 18th, and into the 50s on the 19th. Both those times, BJ saw healthy, essentially healing-range numbers mere *hours* after he bounced into the pinks. And afterwards, the dip/bounce-sequence didn't cause quite as much upheaval on the SS overall, either. What you're seeing is a cat that's learning to be happier in the healthy blues and greens, and whose liver is growing used to those beautiful BGs and learning, slowly, *not* to overreact to them as badly, making for a block of time (roughly the past week or so) where, overall, the numbers show improvement. Factor in the pretty small dose BJ is only on, and you've got a pretty encouraging picture.

With the slight BCS-effect, you may be lucky, as Carl said, and have a slightly calmer cycle tonight. Still, stay watchful, ok? You're now on the 6th cycle of 0.75u (basically ignoring the BCS), so the dose will probably really start to show where it will take BJ from now onwards. BJ seems to enjoy shaking things up :mrgreen: We'll check in here a bit later and see what the follow-up BG is looking like.
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top