8/21, Bell, AMPS 276, +2 246, +5 270

Seth&Bell

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Bell's numbers have not been great lately. The insulin doesn't seem to be moving her much. She seems to get a bit of a dip at +2 most days and then it raises back up. She's had so much going on it could be a bunch of factors: infection, medication, stress, insulin losing effectiveness... Or maybe she is just needing higher doses. I've been increasing them steadily per the TR protocol.

I'm a little concerned that if it is an infection/medication/insulin/stress issue that once it is resolved she may be on too high a dose. Not quite sure how to prepare for that outside of monitoring her closely and having materials to deal with a drop in BG on hand.
 
Bell's new cone did come today and looks to be much better suited to her!

upload_2024-8-21_15-35-10.png


Maybe I can retire my beaten up handmade cardboard collar.

Her anal rupture seems to be healing well. It is scabbed over and I've prevented her from getting to it. She also hasn't had diarrhea on the Clavamox like she did on the Zydaclin, so fingers crossed it stays that way. I read quite a few posts here that mentioned Clavamox doing a number on their cats.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-21_15-35-10.png
    upload_2024-8-21_15-35-10.png
    709.5 KB · Views: 61
Bell's new cone did come today and looks to be much better suited to her!

View attachment 70841

Maybe I can retire my beaten up handmade cardboard collar.

Her anal rupture seems to be healing well. It is scabbed over and I've prevented her from getting to it. She also hasn't had diarrhea on the Clavamox like she did on the Zydaclin, so fingers crossed it stays that way. I read quite a few posts here that mentioned Clavamox doing a number on their cats.
Now that looks like a much more comfy cone. Is she ok with wearing it?
I used to take it off when I fed Ivy a meal then put it right back on afterwards.
So glad she’s doing ok with the meds, too.
And you’re monitoring Bell so closely so if you see any major BG drops, you have the tools ready to use them If needed. Great job!!
Have a safe surf and a safe night. Hope she’s cozy in that cone. She looks adorable :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
She doesn’t love it but doesn’t despise it like the other 4 cones/collars I’ve tried! I think it’s a bit heavier than the cardboard one, but it is more comfortable for her when she’s lying down. I’ll take it!!

I have been taking off her collar to feed her. We took a collar break for a few hours last night so she could chill. I almost fell asleep before I caught her sneaking a lick :D.

She is now a space CAdeT :cat:

Thanks for you kindness, Staci!
 
Not quite sure how to prepare for that outside of monitoring her closely and having materials to deal with a drop in BG on hand.
I'm so sorry Bell has so much going on. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
You're doing the right thing by following the numbers and once she's off the AB, the numbers will show when a decrease is needed. You hit the nail on the head that you test to keep her safe.
 
Back
Top