8/21/18 Olive AM 393; PMPS 430; +4=205; +6=167 No Shot Dental

Status
Not open for further replies.

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

So we leave for dental consult soon. She is fasted 4 hrs prior. No shot this morning. Don't know what to expect. I'm hoping only a cleaning, she deserves break, let this be it.

Our little neighborhood vigilante group got together last night. This time to stop a garbage transfer station from going in a residential area. Besides garbage coming in it also means over 70 large semi trailers a day coming and going. The little country road just can't handle it. There is a school bus stop right at the bottom of the road the trucks will come down. Not sure if we will win this one.

Everyone said we wouldn't stop the public sewers, We did.
Everyone said we wouldn't get the 2 corrupt supervisors out of office, after all they been in office 30+ yrs, We did.

Vines for Olive today please.
 
Sending lots of dental vines to Olive!
I hope you are able to stop the garbage transfer station! Certainly doesn't sound like a residential area is an appropriate place for it!
 
Dental vines for Olive!

I wish I could go back in time and tell myself how my Mishka's dental was going to go just fine to keep me from worrying.
 
This was just the consult. The reason for no food 4 hrs, is so cat doesn't get car sick and vomit. I'm like what!!!!. If I'd known I would have given her insulin. She doesn't get car sick. So she has gingivitis, and inflammation on one side. He thinks there is a questionable tooth. Of course until full mouth xrays are done, don't know if it's serious or not. She is scheduled for the 10th.

Since we got home, she has been crying. It's like she is disoriented or confused. They didn't give her anything, so I don't know what that is about. She will get an increase tonight.
 
Hope Olive settles in now that she’s home. Fasting a diabetic cat for an non-sedated exam seems downright foolish. It’s not as if Olive is, fractious! Maybe they were thinking if sedation becomes necessary.

Good luck with your group’s Resistance to the garbage transfer station. Are there any aquifers or streams etc in your area that would be affected by runoff?
 
She finally stopped crying and settled down in her favorite spot. Increase on board (half hour early). I asked around about this Dr. I even asked a person last night who works at a vet clinic I won't use. All say he is the one in this area to see for all dental, jaw injuries. etc. Although very expensive. I reply to that is I'm sure he is as he is a specialist and dental is all he does (but I'm not sure its all he does). My vet and the other vet I saw last week says he has the latest equipment. My vet doesn't do dental xrays. The new vet could but didn't want to chance with abdominal tumor and hcm and if I decide not to use this one then she said go to Cornell or Phili. His office is small. He showed me a picture of the OR suite and with a fake dog as the patient. Explained all the machines dnd what they monitored, there would be warming cover on her the whole time. She would get D5W for IV as he says we don't use Lactated Ringers on heart kitties. The only thing I question is the insulin, he said give 1/2 dose day of (i'm ok with this) and they can give the other 1/2 when she is finished (this i'm not ok with) I just won't bring it with me. Even today he said I could give 1/2 dose when I got home and keep her regular dose and time the same. I wasn't comfortable with that so I did not do it.
 
She came down more than I thought. Since she had no insulin this AM I gave her a pokey break. She was sort of confused so I let her be. But just warned her, tomorrow it's back to routine.

I have to admit, I liked not getting up so early. I got an extra hour in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top