8/20 Tiggy PMPS 279

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo

back to yellow. Even though I gave him the full dose yesterday, he didnt manage to hold the greens as long as he did on the 14th August when I only gave 3/4 of the dose. Odd. Anyway we will see how he does today.
 
Re: 8/20 Tiggy AMPS 268

I think you're seeing a bit of a bounce. I want to encourage you to get at minimum, a before bed test every night. You really need to be diligent about PM tests to insure Tiggy is safe.
 
Re: 8/20 Tiggy AMPS 268

Hi guys .. I hope tiggy comes down for you .. as far as only getting a pmps +3, that's all we could get with mocha as well, unless we knew for sure she was dropping, then we'd set the alarms .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/20 Tiggy AMPS 268

Could this be whats going on.. a bounce low then high, then flat for a few days.. then repeat? Looking back at the two sets of green numbers he dropped to 50ish midday and then he rose to pinks the next day. Then a few days of flat yellows and back to green. Next time I get a green I will set the alarm and try and see if there is a high spike overnight.

Also he could well have dropped below 50 yesterday and I just missed it.
 
Re: 8/20 Tiggy AMPS 268

We don't describe a "bounce" into lower numbers. When a cat responds to insulin and the numbers come down -- either lower than what the cat's body is used to or the numbers come down fast -- it triggers a physiological reaction that drives numbers up and that we refer to as a bounce. In other words, the numbers bounce up (not down). The body's reaction involves the liver releasing a stored form of glucose and other, counterregulatory hormones are released. It can take up to 72 hours for the high numbers to resolve.

What you described, in terms of how Tiggy dropped into greens and then he numbers went up into pinks is very typical of a bounce. It's not just important to test to know for sure if numbers are going up. It's more important, like Devon noted, to test in the PMs in case numbers are dropping. Testing at +3 is fine -- it will tell you if numbers are coming down in such a way that you need to get additional tests.
 
Re: 8/20 Tiggy AMPS 268

That makes sense but what does it mean for dosing?
On the 14th August he dropped below 50 so I reduced his dose according to the protocol. However the bounce that day could have been the reason his numbers were over 200 for the next 3 days (72 hours) - and so according to the protocol, again I raised the dose, But did I raise it based on "fake" bounce numbers ? Does the protcol account for that?

Reason I ask is that he seems to be doing the flats again and if I follow the protocol this time I will be raising the dose again on bounce numbers possibly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top