8/20 Tidus AMPS 181 +5.5/167 PMPS 231 +4.5/197

Status
Not open for further replies.

miso00

Member Since 2011
yesterday condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77419


TIdus is doing great and I hate that I am leaving just when I think I would have had a "break" in his numbers :sad: :sad: :sad:


So I increased him to 4.75u this morning. I gradually changed his shot time to get it closer to when the petsitters will be here although I don't know that they will come the same times each day so now I am shooting at 9:30 a/p.
I know you can't give me a definite answer but how much is this going to set him back me going away and him getting a reduced amount of insulin? When I come back to I have to gradually bring him back up to the dose he was lat at?
 
Re: 8/20 Tidus AMPS 181

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me but I'm sure others will be here soon .. I know that Sienne travels for her work occasionally so hopefully she'll be able answer this question .. in the meantime, what a nice amps! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/20 Tidus AMPS 181

So my petsitter/vet tech/receptionist told me they can board Tidus so he won't miss any insulin and they can monitor him better there. He's already stayed with them when he was sick and they took super care of him with insulin and fluids. I think they test then shoot based on the BG#. Any recommendations? There's an FD in a shelter that just overdosed on insulin and is in really bad shape right now so I'm hesitant for them to shoot the 4.75 I am shooting.
 
Re: 8/20 Tidus AMPS 181

I can't give dosing advice, the experienced ones will be able to help with that. Will your petsitter/boarding be able to test at midcycle as well as PSm, could give them instructions to use the nadir to manage the shot? We are going away next month and thinking about how to prepare our petsitter too.
 
Re: 8/20 Tidus AMPS 181

I have to say my vet has been amazing! When I first got Mikey and started with DCIN my vet was VERY skeptical. Now with MIkey OTJ twice he knows TR Protocol is no joke. He is very open to what we do and I'm sure they would test him as often as I told them to. I'm going to leave all the testing supplies so it won;'t cost them. You may also want to reach out to Lisa and Mary her in LL. She uses vet tech pet sitters and they are wonderful at testing at least for PS and I know Sienne also uses a pet sitter too.
 
Re: 8/20 Tidus AMPS 181

I use a pet sitter whose a vet tech. She's fantastic.

Boarding can be fine. However, if they base the dose on the pre-shot number, then they are not following the protocol. Also, if you Board, will they get a test close to nadir?

Remind me when you're leaving. I thought it was Wednesday? How long will you be gone?
 
Re: 8/20 Tidus AMPS 181

Boarding they will be able to get PS and nadir tests done as well as giving insulin. The petsitter thought this would be better since they will be with him all day and not sure of exact times they will come to my home. He is at 4.75u right now. I do know they test before giving any insulin. Tidus spent 4 days there when he first came to me and they monitored him and gave me all his #'s and never gave insulin because his BG was never that high


I'm leaving Friday 8/24 return Sunday 9/2. 10 loooooong days!
 
Re: 8/20 Tidus AMPS 181

I'm glad they will be able to get nadir tests in too. That way they can see if he needs any adjustment (if he goes too low). Will you be in telephone contact with them?
 
I can contact them via email and phone. I'm going to leave them all the testing supplies as well as and a spreadsheet so they can log the times/BG's. I'm planning to get the numbers daily but just in case I can't I'll have it all logged
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top