8/20 Taishi AMPS 277, +3 171, +6 264, +11.75 84, PMPS 94, +1 133, +2 172, +3 177

Taishi_Ci

Member Since 2021
Help!

Taishi's BG is at its lowest level ever at PMPS tonight (84 on human meter, we did double check). This is after a night/day of numbers in the high 100s/mid 200s. I'm withholding food for now, but what should we realistically do tonight? What's a "safe to shoot" number? Should we consider a reduced dose?

Taishi has been begging for food for the past 2 hours, so I feel awful making him wait longer. It's really shocking to see a number this low almost 12 hours past insulin. It's not typical for him at all.

Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-19-taishi-amps-263-3-98-4-101-6-95-8-121-11-287.251663/
 
Feed him. If you can monitor, I would shoot the full dose. He might just bounce from here.

I'm so nervous. I can monitor him, but I don't know... I know part of TR is "shooting low", but this is definitely new to us. I'll feed him and test after he finishes. We are almost 20 minutes past his shot time, so I feel like I need to make a decision ASAP. Ahh!!
 
Alright... I did his regular 2.25 (though the .25 part was on the conservative side). We'll see what happens. I assume I need to get a +1?

Also, how in the world do people do this without home testing?!? I wouldn't be able to sleep if I was "shooting blind" lol
 
Congratulations on shooting your first green PS. Here's your BOS award!
upload_2017-6-1_18-35-57-png.61313

Yes, get a +1. Don't fill him up with food so he will be ready to eat every hour if needed.

I don't know how people give insulin without testing but there are many many of them who do!
 
upload_2021-8-21_7-34-37.jpeg


Congratulations at shooting your first green, we all have been crazy nervous the first time it happened but it gets easier and addictive with time :)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-8-21_7-34-37.jpeg
    upload_2021-8-21_7-34-37.jpeg
    13.2 KB · Views: 210
Congratulations on shooting your first green PS. Here's your BOS award!
upload_2017-6-1_18-35-57-png.61313

Yes, get a +1. Don't fill him up with food so he will be ready to eat every hour if needed.

I don't know how people give insulin without testing but there are many many of them who do!

That really made me laugh out loud!! I needed that. Thank you. I'll keep everyone posted :)

I have a friend with a diabetic cat who is injecting 8 units of insulin 2x day and has never done home testing. I can't imagine.
 
She said they do a fructosamine test 1x per year. She also mentioned him being on "special prescription food" (probably high carb). I'm so glad I discovered this forum! I definitely feel a lot more in control with what's going on with my kitty thanks to you guys <3
Fructosamine 1x per year :confused::confused: :blackeye::blackeye: I guess if you don’t know any better you think its allright, they would clearly benefit from this forum as well :blackeye:
 
She said they do a fructosamine test 1x per year. She also mentioned him being on "special prescription food" (probably high carb). I'm so glad I discovered this forum! I definitely feel a lot more in control with what's going on with my kitty thanks to you guys <3
There was a CG who joined our FB group and was shooting 7U of NOVOLIN twice a day and feeding prescription food WITHOUT TESTS. After joining, she was convinced to gradually switch to LC and start testing. I think the cat went OTJ in DAYS. I need to look for the SS.
 
There was a CG who joined our FB group and was shooting 7U of NOVOLIN twice a day and feeding prescription food WITHOUT TESTS. After joining, she was convinced to gradually switch to LC and start testing. I think the cat went OTJ in DAYS. I need to look for the SS.
OMG i would like to see that
 
Fructosamine 1x per year :confused::confused: :blackeye::blackeye: I guess if you don’t know any better you think its allright, they would clearly benefit from this forum as well :blackeye:

I've thought about mentioning it to her, but she says there's no way she can do home testing due to a fear of blood. I also didn't want to come off as giving her advice when my kitty had just been diagnosed and she's been dealing with it for years. I'm hoping that following my (fingers crossed) success with Taishi (I share a bit about him on Facebook here and there) may get her interested so I can share a little more info with her, if she's willing, and subtly drop a link to the forum ;-)
 
Yes. I think he's bouncing. But a +2.5 or +3 should confirm that.

177 at +3, so pretty much the same. Since these are similar to overnight numbers he's had before, I'm going to tuck him in and call it a night. Thank you again to everyone for your encouragement and especially to you, @Bandit's Mom <3 I'm glad I gave him the shot and hopefully it means some greens tomorrow!
 
Back
Top