8/20 Simon PMPS 70 +4.5 68 +5.75 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Food experiment results: Over the last four days, Simon has had no other type of food except Friskies turkey. Last night, I had to give him FF chicken because I ran out of Friskies. This morning, his AMPS is higher than it has been in a few days and Simon also did the pukus thing this AM. Now I don't know if the higher number was because of the FF or the pukus (or both). Anyway, he did have more green numbers when he was eating just Friskies so I'm going to assume the FF causes his bg to go up. I'm heading out to look for some other type of food to try with him. I'm going to look for EVO and see what that does and maybe the Special Kitty if I can stop by Walmart.

Simon is his usual happy self, although he told me that he is sick of Friskies turkey!! He starts eating and then keeps looking up at me like he is saying, "why are you giving me the same thing for 4 days straight!". I guess he was happy when I ran out of it.

Happy Saturday everyone! I will finally try to get a chance to check condos later today.
 
Re: 8/20 Simon AMPS 120

I think you are on to something :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Good luck with the new foods. Walmart has a good selection. Right now that's what Hef and Victoria are eating. How is his ear scratching? How are things going with Cleo?
 
Re: 8/20 Simon AMPS 120 +3 127

Karrie, Simon's ear scratching seems to be worse when I put the fish oil supplement in his food. I'm wondering if he has an allergy to fish. I'm going to stop totally using the fish oil and see what happens. Cleo is doing quite well with the subq fluids except when I forget to turn off the flow of water before pulling the needle out of her -- water goes everywhere, including on Cleo, so she isn't too happy with me when that happens! Other than that, she is well. I'm going to schedule her for more bloodwork in the next few weeks to see where she is at compared to her diagnosis tests.
 
Re: 8/20 Simon AMPS 120 +3 127 +6 56

Not sure where this 56 is coming from. So much for my theory on FF causing his bg to rise! Bought some EVO chicken today and gave it to Simon at lunch. He loved it! Of course, the test will be if he loves it the 2nd and 3rd time he eats it.
 
Re: 8/20 Simon AMPS 120 +3 127 +6 56 +7.5 66

Hi Georgia.....interesting on the FF raising Simon's BG.....or not! Maybe the higher AMPS is from the pukus, never a fun thing in the morning. I have eliminated all fish from Zoe's diet because of tummy issues and her bg's also came down when I did that...went from yellow with some blue to all blue/green (anti-jinx). :mrgreen: She has been getting Merrick's Before Grain Beef and loves it. Watch the EVO...they have herring oil in them....I didn't notice it right away...someone pointed it out to me. So many foods use fish or fish oil in them it is amazing. Zoe will FF Turkey & Giblets and FF Beef & Chicken along with the Merrick's Before Grain.
 
Re: 8/20 Simon AMPS 120 +3 127 +6 56 +7.5 66

Hi Georgia, you and I should get together with the food issues for our cats. I am always running to the store busying Maggie food. I also thought the FF chicken feast raised Mag's bg. Yesterday I tried Wellness Beef and it caused her to vomit plus raised her bg. I bought some Nature's Variety Chicken but have not tried it. Maggie does well on FF Seafood Feast, but too much fishy flavors aren't good. I had a hard time finding Evo here neither Petco or PetsMart carry it for some strange reason. I finally found it at Pet People, but not very many stocked! Maggie liked the Special Kitty Super Supper, but not the Chunky Chicken Dinner Let me know what works for Tarragon, and I'll do the same here.
 
Re: 8/20 Simon PMPS 70 gave 1/2 dose

Of all nights, Simon decides to have some really low green action. I have to go out tonight to a dinner and can't back out of it. I decided to give 1/2 of his regular dose (gave .5 instead of 1.0) because I am too nervous since no one will be home. I also set the automatic timer to go off in an hour after his PM dinner and then again after 2 hours. I should be back by his +3. I know this isn't really following the protocol but I don't want to worry all night.
 
Re: 8/20 Simon PMPS 70 gave 1/2 dose

Hi Georgia, I'm sure Simon will be fine. Don't forget that you are shooting not the PMPS number, but aiming for the place in the cycle when onset begins. If Simon has typical Lantus curves his +1 will be higher than PMPS, +2 will be about the same as PMPS, so you have quite a bit of time and leeway until onset begins and certainly until nadir. Add into that the fact that you gave 1/2 dose and left food out, you are almost certainly in safe territory.

Have a nice evening and don't worry.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top