8/20 Pudge AMPS 159 +2 168 +3.5 121 +5.25 116

kitten68

Very Active Member
8/19/25 Prev Thread Pudgles

today was horrifically stressful.. its just me and nugget and unless its an absolute emergency and/or skip dose or reduce it by at least half.. nope.
turns out it was ok but we were at the vet during the most active parts (he refused to eat.. was able to test him at least..) and home now (after taking the wrong exit because of road work and the appt taking a while..) but he won't eat yet.. I'm hoping his stomach is ok the rest of the day. numbers are pretty good. glad I reduced as I did.. I didn't want to decrease much, but for my future peace of mind, will do more.. or maybe this is the way to go (like just by 1/4 - 1/2..)? I'm not sure.

it was an emergency tho to me.. but like, I will think very hard for the future doin any appts like this again in this way.. it as also kinda far at an hour both too and from.. but that's who was around and apparently ok to use. just didn't want to lose his numbers too badly..... but juggling this all is a tightrope. been about 3.75 hrs since he's eaten.. which should be ok but I don't like him going long without snacks if I can help it.. alas. fortunately he's wound down some and now has ate for me a bit. yay.. now to see if it stays.

he always takes time to decompress after vet.. I wonder if numbers affected his pressure from before.. alas. we did our best and it was a lot.. and getting back took a while, idk why..

so he has some issues w his eyes, his pressure is a bit high at 210.. why his vision is like that.. they did a blood pressure test, eye pressure, and one other thing.. forget.. found a little hemorrhage in one, retinas are attached tho, tho possibly detached at one point, its attached now.. and we'll see if he gets what vision that's been affected back.. she said its just age.. the FD didn't help, but he looks very good she said. can't do pills so its transdermal Amolodine .0625.. or .625 mg.. something, or what have you, 1x/day, by ear.. we go back 2 weeks after starting his meds.. (they looking into it for me..). starting him on small dose.. so we'll see how he does.. sooner the better. but gotta wait some to get it.. idk. anyone know of any good compounding pharmacies? they use like a special one in Jersey...... idk. 😏 our primary suggested Chewy, and the specialist is gonna see if its what she wants to use..these specialists ain't cheap btw. gonna call his primary and see her thoughts too..

today was wild. home now. hoping to wind down somehow myself.. so far he's doing ok. ugh.

❓: anyone got any suggestions with now having to add a BP med?.. any good eye supplements to maybe try? plz let us know. 😇
 
Last edited:
I'm glad you got to the specialist appointment and got some answers. Looks like he was in safe numbers too.

Cats can detect our stress and reflect it themselves. A blood pressure of 210 is too high. Neko once registered more than that at a very stressful vet appointment. Vet was busy with an emergency and we had to sit forever in a waiting room with dogs bumping her carrier. :arghh: Anyway, when we finally got a good pressure test done when she was relaxed, it was in the 140's. The eye changes the vet is seeing means it's more likely Pudge does have high BP, good to get it dealt with.

I don't know if amlodipine can be compounded into a chew treat, might be worth asking. I have a med I have to give all the time compounded into a treat which the cat loves. Some of the well known compounders are BCP (Texas), Wedgewood (Arizona and New Jersey), Wedgewood, and Road Runner. They are all national and can do overnight shipping. Something to consider if you get accidentally get low on meds and need a refill quickly. Maybe it's Wedgewood they use? All the ones I mentioned have good reps.

Regarding his dose, from yesterday's post. What you do really depends on your goals for Pudge. If you want him to be relatively regulated, then maybe you wouldn't increase. If your goal is tight regulation, which is generally a prerequisite for remission, then you'd increase. Ideally he'd be under 100 most of the time. He's going days without seeing numbers under 100.
 
Sending you and Pudge lots of hugs. What a rough day. I’m sorry he was so upset.
( you know we can relate to vet visit stress)

Does he get any gabapentin before the visit?
Some cats it helps a lot.
(I don’t think it really helps Ivy, but I use it anyway).
🫂💕💞❤️‍🩹
 
I'm glad you got to the specialist appointment and got some answers. Looks like he was in safe numbers too.

Cats can detect our stress and reflect it themselves. A blood pressure of 210 is too high. Neko once registered more than that at a very stressful vet appointment. Vet was busy with an emergency and we had to sit forever in a waiting room with dogs bumping her carrier. :arghh: Anyway, when we finally got a good pressure test done when she was relaxed, it was in the 140's. The eye changes the vet is seeing means it's more likely Pudge does have high BP, good to get it dealt with.

I don't know if amlodipine can be compounded into a chew treat, might be worth asking. I have a med I have to give all the time compounded into a treat which the cat loves. Some of the well known compounders are BCP (Texas), Wedgewood (Arizona and New Jersey), Wedgewood, and Road Runner. They are all national and can do overnight shipping. Something to consider if you get accidentally get low on meds and need a refill quickly. Maybe it's Wedgewood they use? All the ones I mentioned have good reps.

Regarding his dose, from yesterday's post. What you do really depends on your goals for Pudge. If you want him to be relatively regulated, then maybe you wouldn't increase. If your goal is tight regulation, which is generally a prerequisite for remission, then you'd increase. Ideally he'd be under 100 most of the time. He's going days without seeing numbers under 100.
..I have to admit I've been pretty upset, cuz it's been a lot to deal w just the FD and now some issues w his pressure and its affected his eyes.. I was really disheartened yesterday after, and just the stress of appt being far and hoping numbers would be ok. they were thankfully, yes. I made sure to give a reduction.

that's wild. I remember you mentioned this. well.. these people were like stress in cats at the vet would make it go to 160 at most. since he was 210 and issues w the eyes.. im guessing that is some confirmation right?.. I am really hoping it is.. cuz bottoming out the pressure is a gigantic problem, too. this is my concern now.. watching his sugars, and watching his pressure now too.. its hard to also test BP at home.. but we taking it one day at a time.. and I do look forward to him feeling better and that the medicine helps his pressure and eyes.. cuz I'm upset about his vision/struggling.. its been enough w everything else. he's also an older baby tho.. but ugh.

his primary suggested Chewy for his meds and I told them on this and they happened to call and find out to see if they were prescribing what was needed and everything turned out ok.. just bought the meds last night; been approved and suppose to arrive this weekend.. I certainly don't want him getting worse. good to know suggestions for other places. ✨

thanks for suggesting on dose going forward.... the goal was always to hopefully heal.. get all the way better, it is tight regulation.. my concern just w that rn here is that on this dose he's had 60s, and 50s on it, and I remember increasing w getting nadirs like that was told a no no.. understandably. and he never has been under 100 consistently.. even from before. and his cycles sometimes don't go under 100.. that's always been the case. active cycle.. then a quiet one.. 2 active cycles.. a blue one.. sees 50s.. example.. if you mean he's not having enough green cycles, mmm, again haven't been able to be as consistent as I would like.. doing best to make sure that's done esp rn.. but lmk know what you maybe trying to say more. ✨.. I'm thinking, if cool, to maybe give it a day or two and see.. the weekend.. and go from there. I would like cycles to be more green too.. to return to before.. but have been seeing those nadirs so idk. 😕
 
Sending you and Pudge lots of hugs. What a rough day. I’m sorry he was so upset.
( you know we can relate to vet visit stress)

Does he get any gabapentin before the visit?
Some cats it helps a lot.
(I don’t think it really helps Ivy, but I use it anyway).
🫂💕💞❤️‍🩹
tysm… it was literal underworld
Sending you and Pudge lots of hugs. What a rough day. I’m sorry he was so upset.
( you know we can relate to vet visit stress)

Does he get any gabapentin before the visit?
Some cats it helps a lot.
(I don’t think it really helps Ivy, but I use it anyway).
🫂💕💞❤️‍🩹
hugs back.. we could use them. haha ❤️‍🩹 i think i will really look into that..
 
Many hugs to you, I too struggle when all the issues compound. FD is more than enough to handle on its own! I hope your weekend is better
it can be so overwhelming..... esp when it was caught earlier and no one stresses to you or enlightens you about it.. im gonna write some about this. and it really can be! tysm 💖 same very much to u and many hugs as well.. 🥰 (he just got his pressure medicine, and took it so far as I can tell hidden in a treat, what a champ 🥰.. ugh we managed today.. day 1.. )
 
Back
Top