8/20 Pixie AMPS 153 +1=221 (NEWBIE)

Status
Not open for further replies.

pixiesmom

Member Since 2013
After posting on the health board I was told to try to come over here and see if I could get some help
getting my Pixie a bit more stable.

Little backround: Pixie has been high and went on vacation expecting to return to do a dose increase. Had my neighbor
shooting every 12hrs. (not testing)
I came home to some really low numbers. So with advice from the health board and looking at my Pixies SS you can see that
I decreased some doses and didn't shoot some at all.

I need to be able to get and keep him on a schedule where I can shoot at 7am and go to work.
Right now I have a bit of freedom with testing because I don't go back to work until school starts.
I can test hourly or whatever today.

Pixie has to be given about 1/2 tsp. FF with water for me to test. He does not eat treats.
He gets nasty when he is hungry and attacks our legs and the dogs so waiting an hour or more to see what his numbers naturally do is difficult.

Pixie was 20lbs. before the dx...he is now 13lbs.

All P's are in check!
Hope you can help.....and I am going to try to read thru all the stickys today.
 
Re: Pixie AMPS 153 +1=221 (NEWBIE)

Hi and welcome to lantus land! I don't have much dosing advice for you, but yes, these are some nice numbers! I know others will be by along soon to help you get pixie settled into a nice dose .. definitely read the stickies and make yourself at home! Have a great day!
 
Hi, Lauri and welcome!

It certainly looks like Pixie surprised you when you got home from vacation. Looking at Pixie's SS, I'm not sure I would have dropped Pixie's dose back as much as you did. The green numbers that you were seeing were very safe although, I can appreciate you're being nervous giving a shot with numbers in the 90s. (We do shoot low numbers here, though.) You may want to take a look at the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky. If you opt to use the protocol, you'll note that doses are reduced if numbers drop below 50 and we typically reduce the dose by 0.25u. What would you think about adjusting Pixie's dose to 0.5u if you are uncomfortable with the way the numbers have been looking? (I'd really hate to see you lose all of this great momentum if you reduce too much.)

When do you go back to work? Also, if you are planning on shooting at 7:00, are you out the door immediately after you shoot and what time are you back home? If it's possible, it's often helpful to be able to get a test or two before you leave the house so you have some sense of where numbers are heading.

If you're going to be gone much of the day, you may also want to think about a timed feeder -- especially since it sounds like Pixie gets "cranky" if hungry! By any chance, did you try freeze dried chicken as a treat? What about plain cooked chicken?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
It certainly looks like Pixie surprised you when you got home from vacation. Looking at Pixie's SS, I'm not sure I would have dropped Pixie's dose back as much as you did. The green numbers that you were seeing were very safe although, I can appreciate you're being nervous giving a shot with numbers in the 90s. (We do shoot low numbers here, though.)
Yes, I know...however, I felt like I really didn't know what his body was going to do. I played it safe.
Sienne and Gabby said:
You may want to take a look at the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky. If you opt to use the protocol, you'll note that doses are reduced if numbers drop below 50 and we typically reduce the dose by 0.25u. What would you think about adjusting Pixie's dose to 0.5u if you are uncomfortable with the way the numbers have been looking? (I'd really hate to see you lose all of this great momentum if you reduce too much.)
What would you have done this morning? 1.5U? Hopefully someone will be here tonight that can suggest a good dose.
I would like to see how the numbers drop today with the 1U and have no problem going to 1.25U or 1.5U.

Sienne and Gabby said:
When do you go back to work? Also, if you are planning on shooting at 7:00, are you out the door immediately after you shoot and what time are you back home? If it's possible, it's often helpful to be able to get a test or two before you leave the house so you have some sense of where numbers are heading.
I go back first week of September. I leave the house at 8:30...up by 5. So I can shoot even earlier and test a couple times.

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you're going to be gone much of the day, you may also want to think about a timed feeder -- especially since it sounds like Pixie gets "cranky" if hungry! By any chance, did you try freeze dried chicken as a treat? What about plain cooked chicken?
Kids get home at 2:30 and can give him a can of food.
He gets 3 cans per day. FF or the low carb Purina One from the food chart. I have been feeding 1 can AMPS 1 mid-cycle and 1 PMPS. If I test a lot during the day I use that 3rd can over the course of the day.
He won't eat freeze dried treats. I am waiting for a sample of the Young Again food. Not that I am going to switch from canned because I think he is doing well on it, but maybe they may work as a treat. I will try some cooked chicken too.
 
Welcome to LantusLand, the greatest place you never wanted to be! :lol: Sienne is one of the most experienced members so she is giving you excellent advice. I think she meant to give 0.5u in the AM and PM. We generally recommend giving the same dose in the morning and at night, Lantus seems to work better that way. You are doing a great job with Pixie. It's great to see him responding to Lantus!
Liz
 
Anne & Zener said:
Welcome to LantusLand, the greatest place you never wanted to be! :lol: Sienne is one of the most experienced members so she is giving you excellent advice. I think she meant to give 0.5u in the AM and PM. We generally recommend giving the same dose in the morning and at night, Lantus seems to work better that way. You are doing a great job with Pixie. It's great to see him responding to Lantus!
Liz

Not sure I am understanding this correctly. Are you saying to change his dose to .5U Am and PM? That's it...just .5U?
Wouldn't the next step down for me be 1.5U or 1U? he was just on 2U the other week.

I understand Lantus and keeping the am and pm dose the same. Keep thing nice and steady.
I just don't think .5U will be enough.
Ha! But what do I know?

I am going to test again in a few minutes so I am wondering what this +6 will show.
 
It's crazy, isn't it? Amazing any of us have any of our sanity left. :lol: :lol: You can send a PM to Sienne to clarify but the 0.5u AM and PM makes sense if you compare to 1u in the AM and 0 at PM. It's better to have a consistent dose.
Liz
 
Anne & Zener said:
It's crazy, isn't it? Amazing any of us have any of our sanity left. :lol: :lol: You can send a PM to Sienne to clarify but the 0.5u AM and PM makes sense if you compare to 1u in the AM and 0 at PM. It's better to have a consistent dose.
Liz

Yes, but when I did the 0.0U in the Pm dose it was a am dose of 1.75U.
But I will try anything.
I will not be able to do his pmps until 1/2 hour past his shot time due to a family thing.
But right now he is +9amps=78 so I don't think he'll even be close.

Thanks for the advice.
 
Not sure I am understanding this correctly. Are you saying to change his dose to .5U Am and PM? That's it...just .5U?


Yes. Lantus builds a depot over time.
So after you have given the same amount for a few days , there is a build up in the depot that sustains the action from the insulin.
It is better to find a dose that you can keep shooting each day so that the Lantus can work as it was designed to.
Skipping drains that depot.
 
1/2 hour after PMPS Pixie is only at 119.
Is it safe to give 0.5U at this number?
I can wait another 1/2 hr. at see what he is at 8pm.
But then I will need to somehow get back to a 6-7am schedule.
Ugh...frustrating.
 
Just wanted to say hi now that you are over on the Lantus board. You are in good hands here. but if you ever want to chat you know where to find me.

few things to remember about this board
1. its very active so posts can get lost, if its urgent put a 911 or a ? icon beside the post to get attention
2. Its nice to visit other peoples condos. Its a good learning experience but also encourages them to visit yours, plus its a nice way to get to know people!

Btw I am a little confused over Sienne saying 0.5 too. She is very experienced but I am thinking it might be a typo.. maybe it was 1.5 twice a day? Did you PM her?

Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Btw I am a little confused over Sienne saying 0.5 too. She is very experienced but I am thinking it might be a typo.. maybe it was 1.5 twice a day? Did you PM her?

Wendy

I didn't PM her, but I probably will tonight. I am hesitant to shoot again because I have never shot with these low numbers (119) and I don't
know how he is going to react.
I am thinking only 0.5U tonight at 8pm which is 1 hr. past PMPS time.
I don't feel like I am easing into this "shoot low" thing here...more like jumping off a cliff and hoping I don't crash into rock.
 
Well, he went to 149 and I shot 0.5U....
Maybe this way he will be high enough at 6:30-7am tomorrow to shoot on schedule.
 
The standard questions for shooting low are: are you around to test, have plenty of strips, and have medium carb and high carb food or karo syrup or honey to steer the numbers? If these are all yes, then I think you are good to shoot 0.5u.
Liz
 
Well, (insert embarrassed icon here), I meant to type 1.5u. I wish someone had sent me a PM during the day. I'm really sorry for not having nimble fingers in the AM. Well, I guess it's better to shoot too little than too much.

Looking at how Pixie did on the 1.0u today, that may be an OK dose. Would you be comfortable bringing the dose back up to 1.0u tomorrow morning?

I think if you can shoot as early as feasible and get some early tests before you leave the house, that would be great.
 
I am home all day tomorrow.
I don't go back to work until Sept 6th, so I have a little wiggle room with him.
Just let me know what number in the am I should be looking for to shoot the 1.0U.
Today his AMPS was 153 and I shot 1.0U....his +6 was 75.
But then his PMPS was 119 and I didn't know if that was a safe number for 1.0U so I did the 0.5U.

Just checked him now at PMPS+2=241..(from food?)...think I may get some sleep tonight .

Thanks again!!
 
I suspect that the +2 is not from food. The good news is that you should be able to get some sleep!

It sounds like you shot late this evening. Your AM shot should be 12 hours from when you shot tonight. If your AMPS is lower than 150, please don't feed Pixie (sorry!!) and post and ask for help. You've been shooting at around 150. Ideally, you want to start to lower the range where you're shooting. If you're comfortable shooting at 120, then it should be fine to shoot. It really depends on where your comfort level is. I do suspect, though, that based on where your +2 is, that Pixie's numbers may be rising.

You asked earlier what I would do with a low pre-shot. It's not a fair question since I'll shoot any number above 50 providing I'm around to monitor. If you look at the subject lines that are visible on the Board, you'll see that people do shoot low. It's a matter of having the data and becoming comfortable with shooting progressively lower numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top