8/20 Oberon AMPS 348, +3 318, +6 317, PMPS 357, +3 335

Come on Oberon work the juice.
Maybe he'll give you some yellows today. How nice would a beach visit be!?! Oberon the beach is calling you.
Glad he's being more accepting of the pokes today.:)
Have a great day Lisa.
 
Doesn't look like he's making it out of the pinks this cycle. Maybe this evening?

Thinking ahead... if I switch him fully to canned food (a work in progress, but nearly there) and switch to TR, how many cycles would I then have to wait before upping his dose? At the moment he's been at the current dose for 3.5 days. Under SLGS I'll have to wait another 3.5 days to increase the dose by 0.25 U. What would I do under TR?
 
Under TR, a dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles), unless a reduction is earned (then you have to reduce) you could take increases between six and ten cycles. Adjustments are based on nadirs, for the most part:

From the sticky:
Increasing the dose (under TR):
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
And as you know, Oberon would have to be on LC wet food first.:)

So you could take increases in as little as 3 days/6 cycles if the BG nadirs support that.

You need to get more testing for TR, including overnight tests, so you are confident you have the data to take those increases. Or you can easily miss a drop. Getting tests at various times throughout the daytime and nighttime cycles is a good place to start. His spreadsheet should look like a mosaic. When I first started, I would do a +3, +6, +9 one day, then a +2, +5, +8 the next. I test a bit less when Butters is firmly in a bounce, and much more when she isn't. You want to catch those nadirs and gather enough data to support the aggressive dosing changes. Get a before bed test and wake up for a midcycle test, and decide if you need to get up for another test.

Decreases with TR are taken automatically following a drop below 50 for a newly diagnosed cat (less than 1 year since dx).

I always post in my daily condo when I think we are a cycle away from taking an increase, just to make sure I'm not missing anything.

ETA: Another very important point, with TR you could shoot as low as 50 but NEVER under 50.
And to answer your question: Let's assume that the last six cycles you caught Oberon's nadirs (I think you'd need more tests). All his numbers were over 300, so if you were doing TR, you'd be able to take an increase.
 
Last edited:
I agree with Lyla - any chance you could consider switching to TR fairly soon? As soon as the dry food it out of the picture you can switch to TR and increase his dose...the dry food confuses things so it's requested not to be used while doing TR.

I hope it'll work out for you soon...I'd love to see him out of that pink cloud :)
 
Thanks, both of you! I've ready the sticky and the original paper on TR, so I've got at least a feel for how it works, but it doesn't specifically address a transition from SLGS/dry food. I think what I was really trying to ask is whether the time spent at a particular dose right now, while there's still a little dry food available, "counts" toward the TR cycle count or whether I'll have to start from when I get him fully onto canned food. In other words, if I were to pull the dry food right now, would I evaluate his dose based on his 6 most recent cycles, or do I need to wait? (Realistically, I don't think he's been eating much of the dry food at all, and it's zero carb, so I doubt it's having much impact on him.)

Still firmly in the pink... it feels like every time his dose goes up he dips low for a while but then pops back up. I'd love to get him lower but also don't want to rush things and overshoot. I'll up my testing frequency again to get a better picture of things, too. (I backed off for a few days because he was getting cranky about it.)
 
f I were to pull the dry food right now, would I evaluate his dose based on his 6 most recent cycles, or do I need to wait?

It really doesn't matter much about the cycle count when the numbers are this high. Once you pull the dry food, get a few tests and let's go from there. You won't be able to change his dose on day #1 regardless...it will need to be reduced gradually or IF you see plunging numbers - then we'll reevaluate the impact of the diet change.

Often when kitties have a diet change - IF the food was the cause of the high numbers - they show it - dramatically! Some cats as it turns out are completely diet controlled - no dry = normal numbers. It's astonishing, but it happens.

Remove the dry food - put a big colored line in your SS indicating that there's no more dry and you're doing TR. Then we'll see what happens with those numbers - sound good?
 
Remove the dry food - put a big colored line in your SS indicating that there's no more dry and you're doing TR. Then we'll see what happens with those numbers - sound good?

Sounds good! (That's exactly what happened in December when we switched from Science Diet dry to FF. But here I'm just pulling the zero carb stuff so I'm not expecting anything nearly as dramatic.)
 
Back
Top