8/20 Miss Kitty AMPS 420 increase did not go well

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
I increased her dose by 0.25 units. She started getting better numbers almost right away. Sunday morning, however; she hit 52 at +3, I gave her some gravy food, checked her in 15-20 minutes and she was at 40! I was all dressed and ready to go to church, but I just got undressed and stayed. I tried giving her more gravy food, but she didn't seem to want to eat it and so I added a little Karo syrup and then she ate it and then her number started coming up. But, by PMPS time, she was over 500. Maybe I should not have given her the Karo, but I felt a little panicked that her number went down even after the gravy food. I decreased the dose back again to a fat 2 units. Any thoughts?
 
I don't know that I would say that the increase didn't go well. I think you did fine. You should be aware that sometimes (and with some cats) it takes closer to 30 min. for you to see the effect of the HC. We frequently tell newbies to test in 15 - 20 min. so they get a handle on how to steer the curve. That 500 is unlikely to be the result of the Karo -- it wears off quickly. It's more likely a bounce from the fast drop. What I'd suggest is that the next time you increase, get a test at +2. It will let you know how the cycle is going.

I also think decreasing by a smaller amount was a good strategy.
 
Hi guys .. yikes, it can be scary seeing such low numbers can't it? I'm glad you were able to get her back up, and I tend to agree with Sienne, probably that 500 came from such a fast drop .. I hope miss kitty decides to come down for you today, nice and slow! Have a great day guys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top