8/20 Carbonel AMPS 239 1u

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello Everybody,
Carbonels BG# were too high on 1/2u twice a day afer her plummet to 47. So I have gradually increased her dosage to 1u in the morning and 1u at night. Today I did a glucose curve which is set out below. I am worried about the 1unit shot as I think she might crash again either overnight or tomorrow. I would like somebodies advice as to the dosage for this evening in the event that her BG is still around185 ( lower than her AMPS). I know that this is not particularly low, but it was about the same when she crashed last time. Her numbers also did not go up for the PMPS.
Perhaps I am catastrophising but here are the numbers.
AMPS 239 1u
+2 225
+4 185
+6 191
+8 180
+10 185
+12 194
Thank you
Carol and Carbonel
 
Hi Carol,

I agree, I would not shoot 1 unit into that 194 PMPS. Not without more data. These numbers are low enough.

The normal no shoot # for someone new is 200. When you collect enough data to know how the insulin effects her than you would lower it to 180.

What were her bg's on the 1/2u?

The lower PMPS could mean she's getting some good duration. However it's not that much lower than her AMPS about 45 points lower.

Your choices are to not shoot,
or shoot a token dose,

If you choose to shoot I would shoot 1/2unit or less to be on the safe side. It's so hard to know without seeing her bg history.

If you choose to not shoot you will see a higher number in the morning but that's ok. It's Better to be too high for one day than too low for one minute.

Can we help you set us a Spreadsheet? If you go to the Tech Forum there are instructions on how to copy the spreadsheet and than how to attach it to your signature. If you get stuck, just ask and someone can help you with it.

With a spreadsheet we can look at her history whenever you have questions and make better informed suggestions, otherwise we're just guessing.

Robin
 
HI Rob,
It is too late I am afraid, she has had 1u or just under 1. :oops: I was really hoping for a good nights sleep and now it looks as if that is not going to happen. Carbonel was getting between 286 and 342 on 1/2unit.
Thanks for your response, wish I had waited a bit longer,
Carol and Carbonel
 
I am an artist Rob and I am clueless when it comes to spreadsheets. How do I find the tech forum? My mom is visiting next week and she is going to show me if I have not worked it out by then!
Carol and Carbonel
 
No you shouldn't wait in PZI if you need an answer right away. I saw your post on health and you got good advise. Joanna knows what she's talking about. I would try to get a +4 test though, I know how hard that is because I've had to do that twice this week.

If you go back to the Board Index the Tech Forum is one of the groups listed like Health, Community, ISG, Etc. If you click on the Tech Forum I think there is a link for setting up your spreadsheet. I've heard it's pretty easy, you go to google and copy the ss. I think you just follow the directions. I started mine before they changed it but I've heard that it's supposed to be easier now. I am not tech savvy either or I would help you with it. Someone else had to add Harleys picture for me. But hey, that's the beauty of this community, if you can't do it there is usually someone out there willing to help you do it or do it for you.

I'm glad that Carbonel is giving you such nice bg's. We'll get this all figured out soon. Hang in there.

What kind of artist are you? I'm a frustrated photography wanna be.
 
Hi Rob,
Thanks for the response. I think you are right about the + 4hours looking at the blood glucose curve I did today. Thanks for the advice with regards to the tech forum. I will give that a go. I am a printmaker. Linocuts and colour reduction woodcuts are my thing but I also paint and restore furniture. I wondered how everyone had managed to put on a picture of their cats. I would like to put one of Carbonel on too.
Thanks again,
Carol and Carbonel
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top