8/20 Calley's AMPS 149

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris10mo

Member Since 2014
Calley seemed more perky this morning. I was woken by her sounds of vomit, but I think it was a fur ball more than anything. :( I will have to try the fur ball meds after all.

AMPS was 149. I gave her insulin and her morning meal. Today is the first day she will go all day alone....no meals or anyone there to check on her. I hope she is alive when I get home.
 
Ah nothing like the sound of a fresh hairball being upchucked first thing in the morning to make you want to pull the covers back over your head. Lol

Couple points to remember: not all hairball are created equal. Watch the ingredients if you're going to use a commercial product as many are high in sugars. The easiest and cheapest is just good old fashioned white petroleum jelly aka Vaseline.

Second: if you're going to only feed twice a day she still needs the same amount of food. Food and insulin have to balance. If she tends to scarf and barf then feeding her either off something like a dinner plate with the food spread out on it or a heavy mug turned upside down in the center should slow her down.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
So for the jelly....do I just put it on her food or what? HELP....sorry.

So what does the lower morning numbers mean? Is that a good sign or does that mean she is going hypo overnight? Should I decrease the dose? Hold the line or what?

Yeah it is a lovely sound to have as an alarm each morning. I just roll over and find sweet Calley laying by my pillow staring at me wanting her breakfast. :)
 
Just dab it on her nose or her paw and let her lick it off. Its that simple. It doesn't take much just a tiny dab.

That's a beautiful preshot number just hold the line unless she drops under 50 Any reading under 50 is an automatic dose reduction of a quarter unit.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Calley may not lick it off her paw....I will try it though. She is not grooming herself much these days.

My daughter tested Calley at 4pm and she was down to 83. She had vomited a large amount all over the LR carpet. After eating and a couple hours she was up to 367 at 7pm. So I gave her insulin.
 
I got out the Vaseline and put a dab on her paw. Nope....she totally ignored it. So I put another dab on her nose....she licked it off. How often do I do this? Daily?

Thanks Mel.
 
kristin
i usually do a little dab every day until it resolves. after it is better, then maybe twice per week to prevent them. i so hope that's what is making her vomit. keep us posted.
 
I will...thanks Nadine.

I was not awoken by Calley retching this morning; can I be so hopeful that the Vaseline made a difference already?


:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top