8/20, Bell, AMPS 155 +4 128 +6 146 PMPS 262

Seth&Bell

Member Since 2024
Yesterday

Bell finally earned a reduction on this dose! Looking back over the SS, she seems about 50/50 in the good zone versus the not so good zone, but she did it! As I was looking over her SS, I noticed for the past few months she's saved all the limes for the middle of the night. Very thoughtful, Bell (teenager).

Stressful day for me. On top of the lack of sleep last night, it was announced at work that my team is moving locations, which means my commute time will essentially double come October. I'm not quite sure what to do, but I am sure I can't handle a 30 minute commute, 4 times a day. Return to office is being super strictly enforced, so I am pushing it as is... Might be time to figure something else out, sigh.
 
1787273977267.png
 
Good luck with both the reduction and the whatever you do with the job. I can imagine there are a number of people unhappy at having a longer commute. Any chance the new location would allow pets? My last job did, and more than one person had a cat in their office. I still remember laughing to see one cat on a leash following the conversation between our chief engineer and a senior technical lead. Smart kitty too.
 
Yesterday

Bell finally earned a reduction on this dose! Looking back over the SS, she seems about 50/50 in the good zone versus the not so good zone, but she did it! As I was looking over her SS, I noticed for the past few months she's saved all the limes for the middle of the night. Very thoughtful, Bell (teenager).

Stressful day for me. On top of the lack of sleep last night, it was announced at work that my team is moving locations, which means my commute time will essentially double come October. I'm not quite sure what to do, but I am sure I can't handle a 30 minute commute, 4 times a day. Return to office is being super strictly enforced, so I am pushing it as is... Might be time to figure something else out, sigh.
Oh Bell, congratulations on earning that reduction! Naughty teenager that she is.
I’m sorry she saves her limes for overnight. It’s so hard with no sleep.
You’re truly amazing with all of her scuba 🤿 dive cycles 😳

She is one adorable girl, though. I love this pic as always. Love her little white chest 🥰🐈‍⬛

I’m so sorry about the work situation. Is there any way you could have a frank talk with them about being remote since they’re really putting you in a predicament you just can’t handle?

So many jobs really can be done remotely, as we all learned. I hate how companies are forcing workers in to the office even if they can do the job from home.

I really hope you can come up with a solution that works for you and Bell 🫂💖🐈‍⬛🤞🐾
 
Good luck with both the reduction and the whatever you do with the job. I can imagine there are a number of people unhappy at having a longer commute. Any chance the new location would allow pets? My last job did, and more than one person had a cat in their office. I still remember laughing to see one cat on a leash following the conversation between our chief engineer and a senior technical lead. Smart kitty too.
Thank you, Wendy, she earned this one! Unfortunately, no chance at all. Large, traditional corporation with zero flexibility. I can't even envision a cat in the office. An alien would be more likely 👽.
 
Oh Bell, congratulations on earning that reduction! Naughty teenager that she is.
I’m sorry she saves her limes for overnight. It’s so hard with no sleep.
You’re truly amazing with all of her scuba 🤿 dive cycles 😳

She is one adorable girl, though. I love this pic as always. Love her little white chest 🥰🐈‍⬛

I’m so sorry about the work situation. Is there any way you could have a frank talk with them about being remote since they’re really putting you in a predicament you just can’t handle?

So many jobs really can be done remotely, as we all learned. I hate how companies are forcing workers in to the office even if they can do the job from home.

I really hope you can come up with a solution that works for you and Bell 🫂💖🐈‍⬛🤞🐾
The funny thing is we were fully remote for 3 years over Covid, then flexible hybrid until last year. Company did great over that period, managers were singing the praises of how everyone came together and collaborated remotely. Then recently it was like a switch got flipped. They are monitoring where our laptops are pinging to determine that we are in the building, they have eliminated our flexibility to work extra and take fridays off, but they did put in a free coffee machine :rolleyes:. The word(s) of the year is "effective face-to-face collaboration" (Half my team is located in India).

Last year, when we were pulled back into office full time, I had many conversations with my manager (who I like very much) about any flexibility with Bell. He worked with HR and upper management and was told no. He was very upset on my behalf, but middle management doesn't have any real authority when it comes to executive office mandates. My options were to quit, move to a contract company with a huge pay and benefit cut, or do the nonsense back and forth I've been doing so I don't get flagged as noncompliant.

Did I mention that my current building was an old factory that was converted to cube farms? 10ish times this year I've walked in to my desk area and chair being completely drenched in water because the ceiling leaks (they put up what we like to call "ceiling diapers" and funnel those into a giant trash bucket that sits in the middle of our cube). No windows, no plants, no natural light. There is a huge push for AI and automation, which is an excuse to ramp up pressure to deliver more and lay off folks. This is a Fortune 500 company whose stock price has 10x'd since 2019...

Super sorry, wayyyy more information than you asked for, Staci 😂. I think I needed to vent. Feel better now :bighug:
 
Sorry about the work situation Seth 😕 I’ve never understood why companies would rather spend more money on having a building and paying for utilities to have employees in office when it can be done at home. It just doesn’t make sense.
As for Bell, could you have a pet sitter stop by to test her during the day while you’re at work? When I did pet sitting, we would offer 30 min visits and sometimes even 15 min visits for cats. Hope you can find a plan that works soon and that tomorrow be a better day.
 
Thank you, Sara! I may have to look into that pet sitter suggestion. I'm not sure how she would do having a stranger test her, that would give me some peace of mind. A Libre would also be an option. She did not enjoy that when she was first diagnosed but maybe I could find someway make it work.
 
Thank you, Sara! I may have to look into that pet sitter suggestion. I'm not sure how she would do having a stranger test her, that would give me some peace of mind. A Libre would also be an option. She did not enjoy that when she was first diagnosed but maybe I could find someway make it work.
The funny thing is we were fully remote for 3 years over Covid, then flexible hybrid until last year. Company did great over that period, managers were singing the praises of how everyone came together and collaborated remotely. Then recently it was like a switch got flipped. They are monitoring where our laptops are pinging to determine that we are in the building, they have eliminated our flexibility to work extra and take fridays off, but they did put in a free coffee machine :rolleyes:. The word(s) of the year is "effective face-to-face collaboration" (Half my team is located in India).

Last year, when we were pulled back into office full time, I had many conversations with my manager (who I like very much) about any flexibility with Bell. He worked with HR and upper management and was told no. He was very upset on my behalf, but middle management doesn't have any real authority when it comes to executive office mandates. My options were to quit, move to a contract company with a huge pay and benefit cut, or do the nonsense back and forth I've been doing so I don't get flagged as noncompliant.

Did I mention that my current building was an old factory that was converted to cube farms? 10ish times this year I've walked in to my desk area and chair being completely drenched in water because the ceiling leaks (they put up what we like to call "ceiling diapers" and funnel those into a giant trash bucket that sits in the middle of our cube). No windows, no plants, no natural light. There is a huge push for AI and automation, which is an excuse to ramp up pressure to deliver more and lay off folks. This is a Fortune 500 company whose stock price has 10x'd since 2019...

Super sorry, wayyyy more information than you asked for, Staci 😂. I think I needed to vent. Feel better now :bighug:
I’m really sorry about your situation. I feel like it’s so ridiculous and I see it so often with these companies that force people back into the office for no real good reason
It’s a bunch of BS in my opinion🤬
Especially since most of your team is overseas.

I really wish they would support you. It’s great that your manager has tried to support you. Wish they had more power 🤬

The situation in your building sounds really awful too. Shame on a company like that making all that $$$ with no accountability for their employees 😡

I know you have been working so hard and jumping through all the hoops to make it all work for Bell 🫂🐈‍⬛💖
I really hope you can continue to make it all work in some way.
I gave complete faith in you 💞

As for the Libre….just keep in mind that when they linger in low ranges it tends to shut down the sensor.
I’d be concerned with Bell’s low (lime) tendencies it wouldn’t help you.

With Ivy, if she was reading 50s or under on the Libre for several hours at a time (which was 60s to low 100s on a handheld) the sensor would quit 🤬

(It’s why at the moment I’m not using one. I had 3 shut down in one week during Ivy’s whole “pancreatic episode “ a few weeks ago).
I just couldn’t handle it with everything going on, so we began the insurmountable push to poke 🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️

I miss the Libre and I’m sure Ivy does too since we are poking and she hates it.

I’m rooting for you and have huge admiration for your ability to manage your complex work & Bell situation 💖💞💖💞💖💞
 
Thank you so much Staci. Good point about the Libre, I forgot about that.
 
Back
Top