8/20 Ahmin AMPS 227, +6 112, +9 140

Status
Not open for further replies.

christine&ahmin

Member Since 2011
I need to go out for few hrs right after PM shot tonite.
since the BG readings of Ahmin is slowly going down in the past few days, do u guys think there will be any risks if no one taking care of him later tonite?
any advice?
thank you~
 
Re: 8/20 Ahmin AMPS 227, +6 112, +9 140. Need advice urgentl

How long will you be gone for? If you'll be back within a few hours, you'll be fine. If you're going to be gone all night, that's harder since there's no way to know what will happen.

One thing you can easily do is to leave food out. Do you know if Ahmin will come back to his food bowl if hungry (vs. eating everything at once)?

(Also, at some point soon, you're going to want to increase Ahmins dose to 1.25u. I wouldn't do it tonight. If you're going to be home tomorrow, that may be a good time.)
 
Re: 8/20 Ahmin AMPS 227, +6 112, +9 140. Need advice urgentl

Those are very nice #s. Have a great day, guys! :) Good luck with the dosecrease, and have fun tonight. :smile:
 
Re: 8/20 Ahmin AMPS 227, +6 112, +9 140. Need advice urgentl

Hi Sienne,

Thanks for yr quick response!
i'll leave some canned food to him when i leave home tonite, hope there will be fine since i'm just going out for few hrs.

btw, if 1u to Ahmin is doing fine now & we can see his bg is slowing going down, why need to increase to 1.25u :roll: ? (i'm newbie, sorry to have so many question :smile: )
 
Re: 8/20 Ahmin AMPS 227, +6 112, +9 140. Need advice urgentl

Hi Angela,
haha....I'd rather to stay at home with Ahmin than going out tonite......just really have to go....tonite have a birthday party for my staff
 
Re: 8/20 Ahmin AMPS 227, +6 112, +9 140. Need advice urgentl

We look to get numbers into a normal BG range -- below 120. The longer you let Ahmin stay in numbers that are above "normal," the more his body will get used to those numbers and, in a sense, get stuck there. You want his body to recognize numbers below 120 as normal.

Take a look at the Tight Regulation sticky note when you have a chance or read the link to the Tilly Protocol which is one of the more formal versions of the protocol we use here.
 
Re: 8/20 Ahmin AMPS 227, +6 112, +9 140. Need advice urgentl

Hi Christine,

Another tool you can use if you will be away several hours is to freeze a can of food and serve the frozen food as you leave. This way it will be available for eating later, when it comes up to room temperature.

regarding raising his dose, below is from the protocol used by most here:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

The full protocol can be found here
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581:

Have a good time!
 
Re: 8/20 Ahmin AMPS 227, +6 112, +9 140. Need advice urgentl

good morning christine! glad you've gotten an answer to your question! have a great time at the staff party tonight - those are important.

when you get a chance, you might want to edit the subject line of your first post to update it. with the "need advice urgently" people will be looking at it all day til it's updated! although it is a good way to meet people! ;-) :lol:

have a fun day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top