? 8/20/20, Tiger amps 398. + 7 346

Wendy Jones

Member Since 2020
a few days ago Tiger had a couple of low BG reads but since then he's been in the 300's pretty consistently. I suppose that's good he's been level and not bouncing but I'm wondering why he dipped for a day and now staying high. He's also been eating quite often. Haven't noticed so much water intake or urination though. He has gained a little more weight. I'm planning to do a curve this weekend but I wanted to see if anyone would recommend a dose increase based on his 300's. I thought when we hit those low 200 and 100 we might have found the right dose but I'm not sure now.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2612140/
 
As per SLGS, you hold the dose if he's seeing numbers below 90 and 149. We determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat.

What you are seeing is "bouncing" - here is the definition from the New to the Group Sticky note:
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

I suspect he bounced the night of the 15th in response to that 104, cleared the bounce on possibly the night of the 18, saw some lower numbers than he's used to, then bounced again. This is perfectly common for recently diagnosed cats, though annoying to us.
 
As per SLGS, you hold the dose if he's seeing numbers below 90 and 149. We determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat.

What you are seeing is "bouncing" - here is the definition from the New to the Group Sticky note:
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

I suspect he bounced the night of the 15th in response to that 104, cleared the bounce on possibly the night of the 18, saw some lower numbers than he's used to, then bounced again. This is perfectly common for recently diagnosed cats, though annoying to us.
I thought bouncing was going from high to low quickly. I thought since he's been in the 3's for several days that's him leveling out. I was told to bump the dose after a week of higher numbers but if this dose got him to 100 which made him bounce up high like he has would an even higher dose be too much? I guess I'm unsure when the bounce ends and what is his true low.
 
A lot about FD is counterintuitive. Follow the guidelines. They work. Bouncing can also occur is they get into numbers they aren’t used to as explained by Wendy. Too fat a drop or lower than used to often results in a bounce. The more time in normal numbers the more the pancreas had a chance to heal and many stop a lot of bounces.
 
Thanks. I guess I didn't think the consistent 300's wasn't a bounce and then thinking it is i am confused if I should increase the dose like does he just need more time at the current one to level out more and he could get to those lower numbers. I'm really afraid of giving him too much and causing a hypo after reading the post on group. I've read the protocols but probably forgetting parts. I'll go read them again. Thank you.
 
As Tiger gets to spend more time in lower (but safe) numbers, he will eventually start to bounce less. Numbers wobble all over the place during a bounce.

When thinking about how to change the dose, ask the questions "how low does this dose take my cat?". Try to ignore the higher numbers.
 
As Tiger gets to spend more time in lower (but safe) numbers, he will eventually start to bounce less. Numbers wobble all over the place during a bounce.

When thinking about how to change the dose, ask the questions "how low does this dose take my cat?". Try to ignore the higher numbers.
So basically whether he's in a bounce or not if his lowest numbers stay above 150 I increase?
 
Yes,however, you dint want to increase in a bounce clearing cycle. If you ever think it’s time just ask for dosing help. I did that for a long time. If it was time and I hadn’t noticed someone would suggest I increase.
 
I'm unclear if he's in a bounce clearing cycle. I don't know how long that last. I was scared to increase if he is just bouncing and he levels out he might be taking too much. How do you know if he's in a cycle?
 
It’s not always easy to tell. I somehow brought up the wrong Tiger’s spreadsheet when I pulled up sheets on my iPad. Let me look again.
 
Last edited:
After his low day at 100 he clearly bounced into the high 300, 400's and then had the good day in the 200's which I thought was him coming out but then he went into 300's and has stayed there. He's usually 300-500 so I didn't know what to make of it. Plus he's eating a lot more. The past few days is the longest he's been in a certain range so I wasn't sure if it's still part of his bounce or leveling.
 
I think he bounced, cleaned and is bouncing again. They can take six cycles to clear. Give it a few more cycles. Sorry I pulled up the wrong spreadsheet earlier.
 
Back
Top