8/20/17 Amethyst AMPS 401

Status
Not open for further replies.
Morning Pam, looks like a typical day again. I wonder if doscrease threats work with Amethyst ....

Time to work out Amethyst.... work that juice
 
Here is the link to the slang dictionary
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-land-slang-dictionary.1903/

And pet health dictionary
http://www.felinediabetes.com/dictionary/cat-health-dictionary-fdmb.htm

Dosecrease - a change in dose (can be either an increase or decrease)
*but most of us use it to refer to an increase.
I think she needs a decrease this same thing happened with Prozinc the higher her dose the higher her numbers Jillian had me decrease her to 2.5U where she at least stayed in the 300s!!:banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
I know it is frustrating, I had the same behavior with Marvin. Hang in there, you are doing what you need to do. Hoping that you get those test done soon. I am pretty sure it will give you an answer as to why. :bighug:
 
Thank you Dr Bonnie can not come out until Aug.31 Jillian at DCIN told me that if Amethyst got to 6U she should be put on Levemeir. I read where some high dose kitties get a sting from Lantus??? I hope she is not in any pain??? I really do not want her to have to wait 2 more weeks. Don"t you think her numbers say something is not right???:nailbiting:
 
Just keep on. Don't give up now. There are more pinks (vs reds) in the past two weeks.

Remember this is a marathon, not a sprint.
 
Hi I will never give up on my little girl I just do not want her in any pain. I read in high dose kitties Lantus can sting??? Is she in any pain???
 
Is she in any pain??
Only time Gizmo has flinched when I gave the shot was when I hit a muscle by accident. Just like children need vaccines, kitties with FD have to get their shots and get tested. Lots of lovins, verbal praise, kind touches and scritches. Gizmo now understands when I tell him to hold still (when I test and shoot) and he does. Cats are very trainable. Some with high dose kitties switch to Levemir, some do not.

Try and just take it one test, one shot and one day at a time. Be prepared but try and not worry about tomorrow, next week or next month. You can only do what you can based on the next test and shot. :bighug:
 
From what I hear they will let you know if it stings when you give the shot. Marvin didn't have any reaction. Some do Some don't. You said she is pretty good with her shots, so my guess is that it is not stinging her. :)
 
From what I hear they will let you know if it stings when you give the shot. Marvin didn't have any reaction. Some do Some don't. You said she is pretty good with her shots, so my guess is that it is not stinging her. :)
She is such a good girl!! She sits in my lap for her testing,for her inhaler ,for her 7 eye medications When it is time for her injection I ask her to lay down if she already is not and she lays down!!:cat:
 
She knows you love her... and are trying to make her feel better.

you might be changing insulins, but meanwhile just keep on keeping on....
it's the best thing for her, and its a process. Sometimes it's a slow process, as here, but it's the best way to find her dose and keep her safe at the same time.
 
Since there was a fur shot this morning I gave Gizmo a pokey break today. He realized he wasn't getting the normal attention (tests) and was hunting us down looking for petting and lovins this afternoon. He then started to get obnoxious and was scratching at the couch and chewing on plastic (because he knows that will get our attention) :rolleyes:. Silly cats:cat:
 
She knows you love her... and are trying to make her feel better.

you might be changing insulins, but meanwhile just keep on keeping on....
it's the best thing for her, and its a process. Sometimes it's a slow process, as here, but it's the best way to find her dose and keep her safe at the same time.
You do not think she is getting TOO MUCH insulin,like what was happening with the PROZINC????
 
no. I think her glucose has been too high long enough that insulin resistance is a factor that's why you are increasing methodically
and by the protocol which is a fairly aggressive protocol.
We have seen improvement already, just not the breakthru dose...

If she has a high dose condition, she just needs more insulin ....
You are almost to that cutoff dose of 6 units where the test is usually performed to search for those conditions.

There have been cats that get to that dose and it's the right one.....

I know it's hard to be patient .

How are her 5 p's?

Is she playing a little? Peeing? Pooing? Preening? Purring?

when the feel really awful, they quit preening and get covered in dandruff....
 
no. I think her glucose has been too high long enough that insulin resistance is a factor that's why you are increasing methodically
and by the protocol which is a fairly aggressive protocol.
We have seen improvement already, just not the breakthru dose...

If she has a high dose condition, she just needs more insulin ....
You are almost to that cutoff dose of 6 units where the test is usually performed to search for those conditions.

There have been cats that get to that dose and it's the right one.....

I know it's hard to be patient .

How are her 5 p's?

Is she playing a little? Peeing? Pooing? Preening? Purring?

when the feel really awful, they quit preening and get covered in dandruff....
 
Okay It is just that with the Prozinc more damage was done then good She is going good Thank God All 5Ps She is even running around more so now that her eye has completely healed from her eye surgery May22,2017. I was just afraid that she was getting too much Thank you for being here I will keep following the protocol I wish her vet could see her sooner than Aug 31???
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top