8/2 Tigger AMPS 502 PMPS 247

Status
Not open for further replies.

hnkstr

Member Since 2011
What the heck is this 500.... cat(2)_steam

Here are the answers to these questions
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=48910

The dosers are new to this and will just be dosing and feeding, no testing. I will be available to them via phone, but they are gone all day working and coming from out of town twice a day to dose/feed so i'm leaving it at 7u. I'm hoping he comes down before I leave in 2 days. Crud.

4 more days of being gone then I will be around to do dose increases by the .5u and follow the protocol tighter.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS 502

Hi Brent,

Maybe a fur shot last night. I think it's smart to leave the dose as is, under the current circumstances.

This is the first time I've been to Tiggers condo - 7u is a lot of juice -getting into "High Dose" territory. When you return, you may want to think about investigating why Tigger is needing so much insulin.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS 502

Thanks for the input and I agree with you about leaving as is for now.
Before I came to FDMB Tigger was on 6u and dry diabetic food.
Looks like we are back up there again, and Tigger acts high strung and starving. If going to the vet can raise blood sugar due to anxiety, then him acting like he is starving and axiety ridden over food could also do the same I believe. I have cut his food back to about 4 cans of FF a day and it looks like his numbers raise instead of dropping when i do that.

He is EXTREMELY vocal and getting worse with less food. I have done the math multiple times and I know he's probably still over the caloric intake that is recommended, but if I cut the food back more i'm going to have an even more anxious kitty.

I am going to feed him 5 cans/day until my vacation on Thursday and see if he winds down a bit and his numbers come down with the 7u.

The situation is getting tough on both myself and Tigger as he's almost unbearable, and then I check him and he's hitting 500. cat(2)_steam

Once I am back from my trip I will come up with a better plan.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS 502

Is Tigger gaining weight on the amount you're feeding? It's a lot of food but if his weight hasn't increased, I'd put testing for hyperthyroid on your list for what you need to check out. The incidence of hyper-T increases with age.

You could always increase the dose up until you leave and then bring it back to 7.0u for the catsitters.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS 502

I did bump him another Unit this morning before I left, as he jumped after eating to 568.
I think i am going to do an increase until I leave, depending on what is reading is tonight.

He has not gained weight and sitting about where he has been. I will get a Vet appointment when i get back from Vacation and go over my numbers with the vet.
The vet office has new ownership and a new Vet so starting kinda new with this Vet.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS 502

Wishing you better #s, and good luck with the new dose.

Each flavor of Fancy Feast has a level of total calories in each can. For instance, Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblet has 97 calories/can. Depending on the amount of cans/day that you're feeding him may be a contributing factor to the increase of AMPS #, and the increased need for insulin.

There's a formula to calculate the amount of food and maintain his weight. :smile:
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS 502

I only buy FF that has 5 or less carbs and now mix in some that have 0. They all have between 92-97 calories.
I have that formula and the more I work towards getting him down to what that formula says he should have, the more anxiety ridden he gets and the higher his numbers get.
He is down to 4 cans of FF which is still just a shade high according to that formula, and he is unbearable on 4 cans.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS 502

How often do you feed him? Many mini meals throughout the day may help, and adding a snack of, say, steamed or boiled chicken or turkey during those long stretches of mini meals may help, too.

For instance, I feed Blackie during these times:

AMPS, +2, +3 (1 oz. wet food), +6-+8 - 1 oz. steamed chicken, PMPS, +2 and +3 (1 oz. wet food), +4.5 - 1 oz. steamed chicken.

The only time that she has a longer stretch is when I go to bed. I try to not let her go more than 8 hours without something in her tummy.

You could try that, if you wish. :)
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS 502

hmmm, brent, you are describing a lot of my acro cat symptoms . . . is tigger pretty good sized? punkin is 14+ lbs and people comment on how big he is. He eats 3 can of FF daily plus he cleans up with a bit more on anya's plate. she's kind enough to always leave him some. you have a high dose kitty who's getting a lot of food, still high BG, wanting to eat all the time. acromegaly is a benign tumor on the pituitary gland that sends out excessive growth hormones, causing your cat to literally grow. there was just a special on it on the nature channel - i'll find the link if you're interested - on gigantism in people and most of the show was on the form of gigantism that is caused by the tumor.

something for you to consider is having the test run for the Growth Hormone levels. it's a blood test that has to be sent to Lansing Michigan - the test is actually done on Wednesdays and the results are sent to your vet. it's better to know because if that's what he has it changes your treatment strategies slightly.

there are other medical conditions that cause a need for high doses, but that excessive hunger is what's making me think of acro.

eta: brent, something to consider is having one of the vet tech's from your vet's office come and test when you can't, so you can get more on top of those BG numbers. he's been sustained really high for a long time. even with the other people giving shots, at least a mid-cycle test would be insurance that tigger doesn't get too low.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS 502

He is not a huge cat, and if you ask me he's not overweight but a solid build.
Here are a couple pictures
 

Attachments

  • Tigger1.jpg
    Tigger1.jpg
    73.3 KB · Views: 424
  • Tigger2.jpg
    Tigger2.jpg
    63.8 KB · Views: 432
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS 502

He's a handsome boy. I hope that your vet can figure out what's wrong with him. I look forward to updates on Tigger. Sending you tons of prayers and good wishes.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS 502

Hi guys .. bum deal on this mornings number .. Hoping tigger comes down for you .. Sounds like you have a lot to think about and discuss with your vet after vacation .. have a great day!
 
Ok, liking the 247 for the PMPS.. Whewww
I have upped his food a bit and he's much more content, i gave him a can and a half of FF now.

Lets see what +2 and +4 bring
 
much better number - way to go tigger! he's probably happier with some extra munchies! every so often i give punkin an extra 1/2 can just cuz i feel sorry for him. he's good at looking pathetic - has that down to a fine art!

no, tigger doesn't look particularly big at all. hard to know with punkin cuz he's Mr. Fluffy Fur. other signs that i'm aware of include a changing voice (one of punkin's first signs is that his voice got really low), there is a sound when they breathe called "stridor" that sounds wheezy, snore-y or a bit labored, they grow overall & because they are adults the soft tissue grows first - the feet get bigger, their muzzles around their noses can get a bit larger, punkin's tongue got big (which i could especially see compared to my other cat), their foreheads can grow outward a bit over their noses so the slant from nose to ears is lessened. you can see pics of punkin in my signature line. he looks fairly ordinary, but once i was looking i can see these signs.

BUT, this all might have nothing to do with tigger, so i don't want to say it does. not trying to be Henny Penny or diagnose your kitty from the internet!!!! i'm just responding to your comment about his appetite and the current dose he's on. there are cats who just need more insulin, for whatever reason.
 
Thanks Julie!

He definately has the wheez going on, I notice that all the time. Haven't noticed any of the other stuff though.
What is this stuff a sign of? Acro?

Oh, and he doesn't make me feel guilty with any looks, he gets extremely vocal, and I mean very very vocal to the point it pushes my patience.
Not good. People comment as i'm talking on the phone with them its so loud and constant.

And I must say its not a great combo with a guy having issues with Fatigue and low cortisol and a very stressful job!
 
here's some info - i bumped the post as well with a lot of good basic info on acromegaly.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=45324

even if tigger has the wheezing, that alone wouldn't be definitive. there is a blood test that can be done. several of our kitties here have it - Bev & Gus, Squirrel & Tommy, Libby & Jazzy, Susan & Lanky, punkin, Linda & Guinness, Nina & KB - not sure if i got everyone who is active. there is also a group on facebook for acro. if you have any questions i'll be happy to help you, as would anyone else. probably the first step is if you want to, get tigger's blood drawn and have him tested.
 
julie1220 said:
probably the first step is if you want to, get tigger's blood drawn and have him tested.
while you'r at it (if you decide to test for acro) you may as well have Tigger tested for Cushings (urine test) and IAA (Insulin auto-antibodies - blood test) as well as hyperthyroid as Sienne suggested. Both Cushings and IAA can be a cause for needing higher doses of insulin.

BK was a high dose kitty (big gulper). However he will only cry for food at meal times. Also anytime I walk past his fridge he cries for a peice of kitty crack (freeze dried chicken breast).
 
Oh my god, I should just take Tigger to Mayo with me! :lol: :lol:
Cushings, Thyroid, etc..

My friend Jason is here now and is witnessing it first hand, he cannot fill up.
He's eaten a couple cans since i got home from work and is still acting like he's starved.

His numbers jumped a bit as expected, to 320 due to the food spike.
 
Much better on yoPMPS. Sounds like you have a long list to talk to your vet about! Did you get any answers at Mayo? I was gone and hadn't had time to ask. Hope you have a great night.
 
I know the feeling!! Willie has as many doctors as I do! Regular vet, dermatologist, cardiologist, and an internal medicine specialist. :shock: :shock:

Much better PM number!! Hope all goes well with your travels!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top