8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592+7.25=123! PMPS "HI" Gurrrr!

Status
Not open for further replies.

BorisV

Member Since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=101267

Well, we at least have a NUMBER and not that dreaded word! Wonder just how high the meter goes before it just says "hi" .......thinking 600?

Speaking of meters ....... had a "come to Jesus" meeting with my vet - she wants me to get an AlphTrak - that is what all the "frustration" is about! She said that I got one and sent it back and for her to have to look at "human meter numbers" is just one more thing she has to think about.

After calling around to try to find a new vet - either needing referrals, not taking new patients or, they will support home testing with an AlphTrak Meter I finally came to the conclusion "the devil you know vs. the devil you don't" and, as my vet said to me, "you have spent so much money on Tashie's diabetes, I can't understand why you won't get one" So, what's another $200 in the big picture, huh? Was able to get one for $113 and bought 100 strips (ouch) and will start testing with it when it arrives ..... yes, I will change my signature line :-D

Yesterday was a bit of a "Debbie Downer" day for Tashie - think she was just tired from the night before when we were up until 4AM. Boris was pooped too as he remained "on guard" Wednesday night wanting to know what was going on. Tash finally snapped out of it late afternoon and perked right up - of course, she wanted to eat and it was getting close to the 2 hour before food removal - figures! She has been coming downstairs more & more - after 10 years! Mikko the SHihTzu seems to be "allowing" her to do this now without barking at her incessantly so her confidence is building there --- of course, now that I've said this I'll be jinxed!

Wishing all a CALM cat day with great numbers and NO dipping TOO low!

B&T
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

Morning Bern,
Sending lots of "keep on coming down, nice and easy - no diving" vines for Tashie this morning. Grrrr on the devil you know, but it's true and until you can find someone else you like, it sounds like your best option.
So...hmmm... if your vet needs you to have an Alph Trak, how about you buy the meter and she buys the strips? :roll: Grrr that she can be so free spending your money.
I hope it's a great day at your house.
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

Wow....I can't believe your vet strong-armed you into using an AT. Really, it seems pretty unethical of her to behave in that manner. For us, even using the One Touch meter was causing a financial strain, so I can't imagine we'd be able to effectively treat Trix's FD if our vet "required" the AT - and used the manipulation tactic of "You've already dropped a ton of cash, why drop a ton more - but only with ME?". That is just very, very wrong. I'm sorry, but surprised, that it seems like all the vets in your area have the same philosophy.

Let's ease on down, Tashie! Have a great day, Bern!
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

Morning, I hope Tashie slides down. I started out on the Alpha Trak meter, like you, with the Vet. After a year or less. I was going broke buying the strips. Hoping you can find a new Vet or hopefully, this Vet will change her mind.
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

So, has the vet offered to provide you with strips? Maybe you should lay out the costs. And, frankly, is she so arithmetic disabled that she can't add 30 to the numbers you provide her? Yeesh.

If you have to purchase strips through her, will she be around to supply you if you run out? Further, it's a conflict of interest. If she's making money off of every strip you buy and you are "required" to use get your supplies through her, then she has a vested interest in your lining her pockets.

I'd look at her comment in the opposite way. You've already spent and will continue to spend money to provide the best possible base for Tashie. Why should you underwrite an unnecessary expense? Given that the research on the TR protocol includes values for BOTH human meters and the AlphaTrack, it's amazing that she can't get current with the veterinary literature.

(I'll get off my soapbox now. I just really dislike bullies.)
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

Guys, I know what you mean but I made a ton of calls and it was all the same story. Don't think she really "strong armed" me but wants us to be on the "same page" ........ sort of sick of battling with people of late, if this gives us a better relationship, it's worth it.
The PROS to staying where I am is that I've been dealing there 30+ years - yes, my original vet sold the practice and, sadly, he's not there any more but this vet has been there a long time too. It only takes me 10 minutes max to get there - there are a total of 4 vets so they can all confer and my other baby's go there as well. The tech's are great and treat Tashie like gold and Tash doesn't get TOO worked up as she KNOWS the place (unfortunately)
If I could find an alternate, I don't want to have to drive an hour to get there - in a potential emergency, that is too much. And, I can spend 10x the AlphaTrak cost to find that I should have stayed where I was? This is one battle that I'm putting on hold for now and will see if things improve where I am. She did take 45 minutes of her own time to call me and she has also taken her own time to do some consulting on my case - and, she takes my calls or calls me back which is a big plus.
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

Bern

What I don't understand is why you are even discussing management of Tashies FD with your vet? As long as she does not go back into DKA, why are you taking input from her?

eta:I apologize for that initial and nonhelpful response. I was just frustrated that she coerced you into buying an AT to make it easier for her especially I light of her comments for you to not test except PSs. :shock:

I also think it is highly unethical for her to say that. And other vets might say that on the phone, but once you sat down with them with the protocol, might think differently. My original vet and my current one did.
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

You did what you had to to keep the peace...

I'm feeling lucky that my vet gave me the prescriptions, showed me how to give a shot and wanted me to come back in a week but I found fdmb and just touched base with
her by email.... gave her the link to my ss so she could see if she wanted....
She only heard from me if I needed something but I managed it all myself with the help of those here. The vet offered advice but saw we were doing fine and left me alone after that.
Then the practice was stunned and amazed when I showed them all the green and remission status. They would have had me letting them do the curves.... and wanted me to
stop testing.
But it's still what they tell others to do.


Perhaps when Tashie gets in better numbers ( And She Will :-D ) , you'll feel less tethered to your vets input too.
There are quite a few here with alphatraks.... no worries. :-D
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

What I don't u deleting is why you are even discussing management of Tashies FD with your vet? As long as she does not go back into DKA, why are you taking input from her?

Marje, sorry not quite getting what you wrote :-D
I am NOT really discussing TR with her. I need to have a place where I can go in case of an emergency etc; Like the other day when she needed SubQ's and something to settle her tummy. Other than that, I am not listening to her on Tashie's dosage or sharing the TR Protocol -

She told me two weeks ago to dose 2U and DON'T test - I tried to tell her I was close to weaning Tash back on LC wet - she didn't LISTEN - so I DIDN'T lsiten and dosed 1.5U - two days later Tashie went WAY low on that 1.5U - 2u would have been WAY too much due to the food change.

I am just using her for the necessities and want PEACE in the valley! She OBVIOUSLY is not well schooled with Lantus - that is why I'm here and trying to follow TR.
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

Bern --

We all need a vet for many aspects of our cat's health care. I'm not suggesting you fire your vet. What I am suggesting is you have a discussion over the cost of Tashie's care and breaking down the difference in cost between an AT and a human meter and the inconvenience since strips can't be purchased easily if you need them at night or over a holiday when the vet's office is closed.

To some degree, I think the vets get "brainwashed" by the manufacturers of the AlphaTrack and from the fact that they are trained to look at results from a serum chemistry analyzer. The results of the AT and the labs are similar so it's what vets are most familiar with. Some time ago, a representative of Abbott, the manufacturer of the AT, posted on Health asking for input about how people were using their meter. The consensus was that it was expensive and inconvenient especially when a human meter produced equivalent numbers. Your vet is treating this as a black and white issue and doesn't want to be bothered by mentally converting the numbers. It's not that hard; we do it all the time here -- it's a difference of 30 points. It's like saying that despite the majority of the people in the US using Fahrenheit to report temperature, it's easier for your vet to think in terms of centigrade.

Of course, you don't have to give your vet Tashie's SS. You can always give her a couple of days worth of numbers and just add 30 points and save yourself what amounts to hundreds of dollars.
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

If you're up for it, you might try printing out the AAHA guidelines and giving them to your vet. (And if you're really up for it, sending those guidelines to the other vets in your vicinity as a spot of continuing education.)

You might provide the link to the University of Queensland Centre for Companion Animal Health page on Information for veterinarians on management of diabetic dogs & cats where there are a number of documents on feline diabetes which we reference frequently
- Information on Use of Glargine (Lantus) and Detemir (Levemir) in Diabetic Cats with insulin dosage adjustments based on home monitoring of blood glucose concentration at least 3 times a day.
- General information regarding Glargine use in treatment of Diabetic Cats.

Plus, print and share the Roomp & Rand article which is the basis of our Tight Regulation protocol.



If you happen to dual test with both meters for any time, let me know. I'm collecting dual tests into a spreadsheet so we'll have data on % differences, etc. that can be shared with vets.
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

bern


you gotta do what you gotta do. at times like these...when you are so highly stressed about everything.....if you are able to appease the vet in this way...and you can afford to do so...then so be it

so you are going to use another meter? no biggie.

at this point, it really isn't worth your fragile energy and time to shop around the town for a vet that may or may not be any better in the long run.

if the vet that is closest to your house and the vet that Tashie feels comfortable with... will give you time and care only if you use the "best" meter...than so be it..........it is worth it

at this point in your life: you have to choose your battles

you are just keeping her in your good graces for a back up anyway....you have the protocol and all of us for the actual treatment and support of diabetes for sweet Tashie

okay.....I hope you have a good day and a sleep filled night

~kelly
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

you have to choose your battles

Kelly, this is EXACTLY what I am trying to do! Tashie's diabetes is my MAIN concern but, unfortunately, not the ONLY source of stress right now in my life. I am simply trying to "prioritize" ....... sometimes you just have to give in, throw your hands up and move on. I am not "usually" quite this passive but I have other things to deal with - not to mention my other two fur babies go there and one has had a major issue & surgery and I have to give him meds 3x a week and another MAY have a potential problem with high calcium levels that we are testing for monthly. THEY KNOW I mean business and I THINK this will change the working relationship - hoping!

BJ, IF I am lucky enough to poke a GOOD blood spot and can get TWO tests - I will! I'd planned on doing that anyway for my own reference. Heck, once I REALLY know FOR SURE what the ACTUAL variance are between MY two meters, I may just go back to the RelioOn and do the math! I KNOW there are charts out there and I am more than capable of DOING THE MATH but I want to use both the AlphaTrak and ReliOn that I OWN so that my calculations are based on the calibrations of MY meters - make sense? Again, I would think that once I gather enough data, I can go back to the ReliOn ....... and do the MATH for her! And, I will GLADLY share my findings!

I can just start a meter store! Will have 2 ReliOn's, 1 Nova Max and then an AlphaTrak2!

**** Just as a sidebar - funny that SOME web sites require a PRESCRIPTION that you have at actually MAIL in - cannot be faxed or scanned via email and others don't? I snagged the meter for $113 and free shipping - think that was the beast deal out there.
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

Sorry that your vet is being so dense about this. The Rand study was done using human meters!

I agree pick your battles. Once you are comfortable w/ the differences in the 2 meters, go back to the Relion and do the calculations for the vet. But don't tell her! She doesn't need to know and it will keep things settled between you. The head vet at our clinic says she can't understand Tess's SS so when our regular vet isn't there I just don't bother telling her. She also says she doesn't know how to email test results! :roll: She also keeps asking for a fructosamine test, so I pull out our meter , punch the buttons and tell her Tess's average over 2 weeks was 200 or whatever the reading is!

Just because she can't cope w/ new ideas is no reason for you to be spending $$$$$.
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

Ann,
Once you are comfortable w/ the differences in the 2 meters, go back to the Relion and do the calculations for the vet. But don't tell her!

This is EXACTLY my plan! I have ordered 100 strips for the AphaTrak + the 30 or so that come with it - I am "planning" on not having to buy any more because I would think that my "independent study" would be long completed by then! :twisted:

If need be, I will keep TWO SS's - but it's not like she ever looks at them anyway!

I also hope that my little "study" will bring more information and a better comfort level to others on the board that possibly have the "same vet" if you know what I mean? The ONLY obstacle I can see is being able to poke enough blood for TWO meters - some pokes are not as "juicy" as others - you know! I will wait to load the ReliOn so I don't waste strips there - or, humm, if it "times out" and you haven't used the strip, you can probably reuse though?

Also, DUH! Didn't know that you can get an "average" reading from the meter - will have to play with that one - gees, with Tashie having SO MANY "HI's" I am sure it will cancel out all the other readings! :?


Ah! Life!
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

Hey Bern - I understand because my vet did the same thing and I bought one because I wanted us to be on the same page. Have you paid for the alphatrak yet? If not, you can have mine. I absolutely could not afford the strips so I started using the Relion micro meter. In the last two weeks, I think I've used almost 150 strips, believe it or not. ohmygod_smile Yikes! I think everyone here just wants whatever is easiest for you - if you can afford the alphatrak, then it's no problem, just make sure it's in your signature line so they know how to answer your questions. For Bob and me, the alphatrak sometimes showed 100 points higher than the Relion meter, but most of the time it was approx 30-50 pts difference. I don't think it really matters, because I think they are both pretty accurate at lower numbers and that's when it's important to really know. So, do what you feel is best for you and bouncy Tashie! :-D
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592 + vet news

Thanks Dara! Yes, it's paid for but THANK you so much for the offer! And, the offer of YA still stands for you - hope he's eating it! Hey, did you ask Jennifer about the seasoning to sprinkle on top - might just KEEP him interested?

B
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592+7.25=123!

Hummmm..... decided to do a later test on her today as sometimes I think she nadir's later ---- well, we've gone from AMPS of 592 to a +7.25 of 123! Boy, does she react on the insulin some days! Amazing! Just IF SHE COULD LEARN TO SURF! She's just not a "California Girl" ........ maybe if I played some Beach Boy music in her room she could catch on - instead of her listening to all that daytime piffel on TV .... Think she's sick of Rachael and her cooking!
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592+7.25=123!

Great BJ, I appreciate the link - hopefully, I can contribute to it! I actually think it will be an interesting project and, as I am a bit "OCD" I will have no problem keeping it neat & tidy! Thanks!
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592+7.25=123!

PS: BJ, as you gathered this data - is there anything SPECIAL you would like to have me notate? I will gladly do so!
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592+7.25=123!

Just be as consistent as you can - wash hands, etc.

If you wish, note strip lots or batches, in case that turns out to have anything to do with the results.
 
Re: 8/2 TASHIE AMPS=592+7.25=123!

WILL DO! And, if you think of anything else, just let me know! Won't have the meter until next week - I'll let you know when I do!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top