Taishi_Ci
Member Since 2021
My previous thread (Saturday): https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-31-taishi-amps-404-5-5-264.250670/
We're back! I apologize for my absence yesterday. I've had a lot going on and needed a mental break from the internet yesterday.
We bumped Taishi up to 2U this morning (the dose originally prescribed by his vet), since we still haven't seen much change in his numbers. I understand the concept of "bouncing", but it seems that since upping the dose he's experiencing major swings (as much as 200 points) instead of his prior consistency. I'm wondering if maybe we should be holding the dose for longer so his body adjusts? What if we are increasing too quickly without giving his body the chance to adapt to the insulin? Wouldn't, ideally, he have somewhat stable numbers instead of dramatic swings before increasing? The 428 number yesterday was a shocker.
My husband seems to think that the kind of wet food we feed Taishi is having an impact. We've been mixing it up between Fancy Feast pates, Fancy Feast naturals, and Friskies (either Ocean Whitefish or Turkey & Giblets). In the beginning, I planned on feeding him exclusively FF naturals (which seemed to be one of the best options on the list... 0 or 1 carbs, 70%+ protein), but we started supplementing with regular FF and Friskies due to cost and ease of access. We are going to try feeding him mostly FF naturals and supplementing with the Friskies Ocean Whitefish (which looked like the best Friskies option, nutrition wise) and see what happens. I personally don't see it having a *huge* impact, but the FF naturals is probably the best for him, even if it doesn't impact his numbers.
Thanks to everyone for having so much patience with me here. I really *do* appreciate the advice and willingness to help/inform. I tend to get easily overwhelmed and will try to get better about that
We're back! I apologize for my absence yesterday. I've had a lot going on and needed a mental break from the internet yesterday.
We bumped Taishi up to 2U this morning (the dose originally prescribed by his vet), since we still haven't seen much change in his numbers. I understand the concept of "bouncing", but it seems that since upping the dose he's experiencing major swings (as much as 200 points) instead of his prior consistency. I'm wondering if maybe we should be holding the dose for longer so his body adjusts? What if we are increasing too quickly without giving his body the chance to adapt to the insulin? Wouldn't, ideally, he have somewhat stable numbers instead of dramatic swings before increasing? The 428 number yesterday was a shocker.
My husband seems to think that the kind of wet food we feed Taishi is having an impact. We've been mixing it up between Fancy Feast pates, Fancy Feast naturals, and Friskies (either Ocean Whitefish or Turkey & Giblets). In the beginning, I planned on feeding him exclusively FF naturals (which seemed to be one of the best options on the list... 0 or 1 carbs, 70%+ protein), but we started supplementing with regular FF and Friskies due to cost and ease of access. We are going to try feeding him mostly FF naturals and supplementing with the Friskies Ocean Whitefish (which looked like the best Friskies option, nutrition wise) and see what happens. I personally don't see it having a *huge* impact, but the FF naturals is probably the best for him, even if it doesn't impact his numbers.
Thanks to everyone for having so much patience with me here. I really *do* appreciate the advice and willingness to help/inform. I tend to get easily overwhelmed and will try to get better about that
. If you are in need of immediate help or have an emergency make sure you use the drop down menu on your condo title and click 991. Someone will get back to you as soon as possible. Use the question mark for all other non-emergency questions. 