8/2 Sweetie AMPS=109 +3.5=39 PMPS=156 +3=250

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweeties-Mom

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo

Long time no post - sorry - just been busy! Luckily today I'm home for a while this Friday morning and I caught that 39 at +3.5!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: So Sweetie just got a bunch of HC gravy lovers to eat (yummm :smile: )

I guess I need to give him a reduction since it is below 40, but it is also only the 3rd cycle since his last reduction yesterday morning (went from 1.5-fat to 1.5) so I would think this dip is largely influenced by the shed getting adjusted and not just the pancreas working a little better.

Do you think that reducing to 1.5-skinny tonight would be enough of a reduction? Or should I even hold at 1.5 and wait until the shed is stable in a few more cycles? I think that going down a full .25 would be too much given he doesn't hold reductions as well as I'd like.
 
Re: 8/2 Sweetie AMPS=109 +2=68 +3.5=39!! Just shed drain?

I think I would have taken the full .25 reduction back to 1.25 instead of going from a Fat 1.5 to a 1.5. Hormones can be tricky and powerful things (as you've seen by the 39...Good catch!!)

Some of the more experienced members may have other ideas, but I think I'd go ahead and take the reduction to 1.25 at his PM dose...assuming he's at a safe number to shoot. After holding the dose for the required cycles, if Sweetie goes back up into the higher blues, you can always add a drop or 2 to the 1.25, but once you shoot, it's impossible to take the insulin back out. His "perfect" dose may be somewhere in between the 1.25 and 1.5...we won't know until Sweetie tells us :-D

I'd bet you're going to see a bounce tonight off that 39 too! I'm not familiar enough with "shooting through the bounce", but hopefully before then, others will have a chance to chime in. I know sometimes they'll suggest holding the current dose one more time "through the bounce" and then taking the reduction at the next cycle.

There sure have been a lot of newly diagnosed cats lately! The ones giving the most experienced advice have been doing a lot more work...I don't know how they manage to help others and still do their own kitties tests, shots and feeding!

Guess they eat their Wheaties!
 
Re: 8/2 Sweetie AMPS=109 +2=68 +3.5=39!! Just shed drain?

Hi Cathy, missed you. :YMHUG: Any time a cat goes below 40, it means business. Maybe go back to what would have been a full .25 reduction if you'd done that yesterday? Maybe 1.25F?

Good catch on that 39! :shock: :mrgreen: Up a little please Sweetie!
 
Re: 8/2 Sweetie AMPS=109 +3.5=39 PMPS=156

Thanks for the input Chris and Wendy - I did decide to go down to 1.25f for the PM shot. If it doesn't hold I'll just creep back up with the micro dosing. 156 is not bad after that 39, but then it could be on it's way up to a major bounce nailbite_smile so +2 will be a very interesting test tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top