8/2 Sparky AMPS~83 +12~40 +13 51+14 56 +15~61

Status
Not open for further replies.

sharon and sparky

Member Since 2009
Yay for waking up to green. First time since going back on insulin. He was surfing last night (I thought!!). He wasn't so hungry this morning and at about a 1/2 can of Fancy Feast. So I am home most of the day so I can watch him closely.
 
Re: 08/02 Sparky AMPS~83 +4 45

Thinking he seems to be settled in now. I will feed him and test him in 20 mins. because he has not hit nadir yet.
 
Re: 08/02 Sparky AMPS~83 +4 45

Hi guys, and yay on the green start to the day .. now sparky, come up just a wee bit ok? No need to be in the 40s silly! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 08/02 Sparky AMPS~83 +4 45 PMPS~40!! Advice pls

Well He is eating right now and I don't know what to shoot. I will retest in 30 mins and then shoot a reduced dosage? Advice please.
 
Re: 08/02 Sparky AMPS~83 +4 45 PMPS~40!! Advice pls

hi Sharon

so if u fed already his number may go up by next test time

can u afford to keep stalling if needed?
are around to monitor tonight?
 
Re: 08/02 Sparky AMPS~83 +4 45 PMPS~40!! Advice pls

oh yea, feeding the 40's is a must in my opinion too.
you're doing good :mrgreen:
 
Re: 08/02 Sparky AMPS~83 +4 45 PMPS~40!! Advice pls

I am around to monitor. I will test in 1 hour and then go from there. He ate 1 can of Fancy feast.
 
Re: 08/02 Sparky AMPS~83 +4~45 +5~66 PMPS~40!! Advice pls

i also would not shoot a 40. better to stall til it's shootable or skip entirely. did i see in your sig line that sparky went OTJ previously?
 
Re: 08/02 Sparky AMPS~83 +4~45 +5~66 PMPS~40!! Advice pls

Yes, he just came back on insulin he was OTJ for 2 years. He was only on insulin for 1 1/2 months before going OTJ.
He gets a fat 1 unit. Should I cut it down to 1/2 unit for tonight.
 
Re: 08/02 Sparky AMPS~83 +4~45 +5~66 PMPS~40!! Advice pls

I wouldn't shoot in the 40s either.

FWIW, you might not have wanted to feed an entire can of food. The idea is to bump the numbers up a little bit then stall the shot to see if they keep heading up. With that much food on board, I hope there will be a food spike.

If you shoot late, can your schedule accommodate a late shot in the AM (i.e., shooting 12 hrs after you shoot tonight)?
 
Re: 8/2 Sparky AMPS~83 +4~45 +5~66 PMPS~40!! 1 hr delay 51

I retested after about 45mins- 1hour and he is only at 51 with a whole can of food. I probably should skip or give a token dosage. Any suggestions?
 
Re: 8/2 Sparky AMPS~83 +4~45 +5~66 PMPS~40!! 1 hr delay 51

Yes it was a stall. I will retest 30 minutes after last test to see if there is a significant increase.
 
Re: 8/2 Sparky AMPS~83 +4~45 +5~66 PMPS~40!! 1 hr delay 51

is this Sparky's first visit to the lower level?
I dont think you've ever shot this low before, was looking at ss...

mite you be leaning towards skipping?
 
Re: 8/2 Sparky AMPS~83 +4~45 +5~66 PMPS~40!! 1 hr delay 51~5

This is the lowest I have ever shot. I shot at 55. I am leaning towards skipping
PMPS 40
45 mins later 51
1 1/2 hr 57

Not mush of a rise. What do you think??
 
Re: 8/2 Sparky AMPS~83 +4~45 +5~66 PMPS~40!! 1 hr delay 51

yes that's correct, a 55, but on a much lower dose of .20u, and that was back in 2009
I've been told the second time around is not quite the same as the first time, for cats coming back on insulin

not much of a rise at all.
I would skip if I were in your shoes and had been stalling this long already
maybe Sparky is testing the waters :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/2 Sparky AMPS~83 +4~45 +5~66 PMPS~40!! 1 hr delay 51

Yes, I will skip. It would be nice of him because I go back to school on Monday. We will see what tomorrow brings. I hope it is not a huge bounce.
 
Re: 8/2 Sparky AMPS~83 +4~45 +5~66 PMPS~40!! 1 hr delay 51

I hope he pleasantly surprises you!
Go Sparky! flip_cat
 
Re: 8/2 Sparky AMPS~83 +4~45 +5~66 PMPS~40!! 1 hr delay 51

Sparky definitely earned a dose reduction -- a 40 is an unshootable number and I think it's close enough to below for for an established diabetic. I think the question is how much do you want to reduce. I'd be inclined to suggest shaving the dose. However, if Sparky does bounce by AMPS, you can shoot your current dose one last time to help the bounce resolve.
 
Re: 8/2 Sparky AMPS~83 +4~45 +5~66 PMPS~40!! 1 hr delay 51

I will definitely reduce his dose. I guess I will see what his numbers are later tonight and tomorrow morning. Either a skinny 1 unit or .75 unit.
 
Re: 8/2 Sparky AMPS~83 +4~45 +5~66 PMPS~40!! 1 hr delay 51

Phew, glad you didn't shoot :-D I know I would of have been scared to shoot that!

Looks like Sparky is on his way back to the falls (anti-jinx!!!) And Jesse might be right behind you (anti-anti-jinx!!) :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top