8/2 Snuggie: PMPS 232; +8 98; +10 168 ((AMPS 217; +7.5 86

I'm with you there! Looking good, Snuggie.
Right?? I mean, I am kinda curious if we should do a dose increase BUT i am really enjoying not freaking out at +6 every am and pm. And im sure he’s happy not getting his ear poked 6+’times a day when I see greens - since this morning he accidentally got a pierced ear. Ugh!

how’s Minnie doing?
 
Why is it always easier to interpret somebody else's s/s?! Looks like you had an overnight bounce on 7/28. OK, I take it back...I can't figure out yours either. After the bounce, what - some settling (if that's even a thing)? In any case it feels like you're getting closer to the right dose and lucky for you the nadir doesn't seem to be jumping (Minnie did that to me a few weeks ago, such a shock to see a lime at +3!).

Ugh, the ear piercing. I think I've done it so often that sometimes the lancet goes straight through a permanent gap, no blood. Minnie had a follow-up today and the vet said she's looking much better, including her ears "you must not be testing so often" - to which I said, "I'm getting better at testing"! It's still hit or miss but I'm better at trying to milk for blood before going straight in with double-puncture. She is doing ok, thanks for asking. This whole thing is so hard, no day is perfect - either low BG = feed/test/action, high BG = worry about ketones and how soon before can increase dose, lemons = worry because nothing is happening! :rolleyes: Maybe time for some mindfulness. Minnie doesn't mind, she just naps.

Enjoy the break. 13 cycles on this dose...I can't advise but I'm with you, I'd be thinking about an increase too. What's your next increase, 0.5u then 1u increases once you're on 10? Not sure if I'd do tonight (hoping for overnight NDW cycle) or tomorrow ('hoping' for action during the AM cycle). Roll of the dice, as far as I can see but maybe someone with expertise can advise?! @Marina & Chico is BRILLIANT at s/s analysis :)
 
The nice thing about yesterday's curve is you've confirmed +8 as his nadir, at least unless it isn't.:cat: So freakout then, not +6.;)

I'm thinking Snuggie could use a touch more juice. I'd like to see him at a dose where he's mostly under renal threshold, ie. no upper yellows and above. If he had a few more greens, instead of one cycle in every 8 or so, he might start getting more comfy in lower numbers and ease off the height of his bounces. Of course, timing is up to you and I'd do it when I could monitor closely.
 
The nice thing about yesterday's curve is you've confirmed +8 as his nadir, at least unless it isn't.:cat: So freakout then, not +6.;)

I'm thinking Snuggie could use a touch more juice. I'd like to see him at a dose where he's mostly under renal threshold, ie. no upper yellows and above. If he had a few more greens, instead of one cycle in every 8 or so, he might start getting more comfy in lower numbers and ease off the height of his bounces. Of course, timing is up to you and I'd do it when I could monitor closely.
I was thinking the same thing. Should I try for 9.25 starting tomorrow? Working from home is glorious for this!

I’m also curious about if I should inquire if the cab dose should be increased. He has an appt on 8/18 for his kidney values and checkup. He’s on a dose every other day, I can look and see exactly what the dose is.
 
Why is it always easier to interpret somebody else's s/s?! Looks like you had an overnight bounce on 7/28. OK, I take it back...I can't figure out yours either. After the bounce, what - some settling (if that's even a thing)? In any case it feels like you're getting closer to the right dose and lucky for you the nadir doesn't seem to be jumping (Minnie did that to me a few weeks ago, such a shock to see a lime at +3!).

Ugh, the ear piercing. I think I've done it so often that sometimes the lancet goes straight through a permanent gap, no blood. Minnie had a follow-up today and the vet said she's looking much better, including her ears "you must not be testing so often" - to which I said, "I'm getting better at testing"! It's still hit or miss but I'm better at trying to milk for blood before going straight in with double-puncture. She is doing ok, thanks for asking. This whole thing is so hard, no day is perfect - either low BG = feed/test/action, high BG = worry about ketones and how soon before can increase dose, lemons = worry because nothing is happening! :rolleyes: Maybe time for some mindfulness. Minnie doesn't mind, she just naps.

Enjoy the break. 13 cycles on this dose...I can't advise but I'm with you, I'd be thinking about an increase too. What's your next increase, 0.5u then 1u increases once you're on 10? Not sure if I'd do tonight (hoping for overnight NDW cycle) or tomorrow ('hoping' for action during the AM cycle). Roll of the dice, as far as I can see but maybe someone with expertise can advise?! @Marina & Chico is BRILLIANT at s/s analysis :)
At least I’m not the only one who is getting good at piercing! And omg I understand the lemon days! I’m glad to hear Minnie is doing ok for now and thank you for looking at our spreadsheet and trying to help us figure things out. Mindfulness / yoga does help - until it doesn’t. I’ll have a day where something gets me going and then my mental space is just disheveled again!

looks like wendy replied - methinks we are on the way to a touch of a dose increase. Yay there goes all my money! :eek:
 
You could try 9.25 units, more as an experiment to see if he's sensitive to small changes. Some cats are, some not.

You've been on cabergoline for a month. Might be worth talking to the vet, though they may or may not have an answer.
 
You could try 9.25 units, more as an experiment to see if he's sensitive to small changes. Some cats are, some not.

You've been on cabergoline for a month. Might be worth talking to the vet, though they may or may not have an answer.
He seemed to really fall when we put him down to 7.75 from 8, so as much as I hate the between the lines stuff, I’ll try it!

who else could advise me on cab dosing? Or should we just keep increasing insulin?
 
Most of the folks here are on daily cabergoline. And it's a weight based formula. But your vet will need to increase the prescription if you do that, so he/she needs to be on board with it.
 
Well - I don’t think he wants that increase and all the ear poking just yet. Threw me a green at +7.5 and is protesting the BG tests, maybe since I unintentionally pierced him… sorry buddy!! I feel awful.
 
Well - I don’t think he wants that increase and all the ear poking just yet. Threw me a green at +7.5 and is protesting the BG tests, maybe since I unintentionally pierced him… sorry buddy!! I feel awful.
Ha you are in such denial that you even colored it blue on the s/s!! Almost the same BG at the same time as yesterday, though potentially even lower if he wanted to cooperate with a (curiosity) re-test in an hour. I hate to say it since I know team Snuggie is not ready for more testing, but I think on the inside he's really saying he wants that increase. One green in a cycle is like a teaser of what's to come :D...when you're ready
 
Ha you are in such denial that you even colored it blue on the s/s!! Almost the same BG at the same time as yesterday, though potentially even lower if he wanted to cooperate with a (curiosity) re-test in an hour. I hate to say it since I know team Snuggie is not ready for more testing, but I think on the inside he's really saying he wants that increase. One green in a cycle is like a teaser of what's to come :D...when you're ready
Yea I had an appt so threw him a bunch of food and had to run. Ugh! Yea I’ll do the increase tomorrow. I think we all just want one more good nite of sleep!
 
Dosecrease threat works again! :D Though nadirs in the 80's does leave you room for a bit of an increase. Just saying Snuggie, keep up those greens.
 
Back
Top