8/2 Snoball AMPS=268

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
I have decided to move to this forum from TR because while I desire to get more evening tests it is not always possible. I also want to get more numbers on weekend. Snoball is a foster and I don't know when he was dx. His numbers were looking good before I went on vacation but I had to lower his dose because catsitter would not test. Now he is back up to 1.5u BID but PS numbers are a little high (it has only been a week back on higher dose). Will get more in-between numbers this weekend.
 
Check the Secondary Monitoring Tools in my signature link - tracking those is almost as important, especially getting occasional urine ketone tests. There is a slower protocol which uses urine tests, water consumption, etc. to evaluate dose.

Normally, dose adjustments are based on the nadir - but you've been making them without any mid-cycle test data. That may put your cat at risk of hypo, as you do not know how low Snoball goes between shots, plus, the nadir can change if the pancreas kicks in, if there is an upset stomach with vomiting, or if the food isn't eaten, among other things.
 
He only ever vomits a little dry fur every now and then and he eats everything - he is still thin (we are working on that). His cycles seem to be pretty flat and he was doing great on 1.5u before. I did dose increases only with help and advice of folks here who had more experience. He went low a couple of times but no sign of hypo. In fact, we rather liked his below 100 numbers - he was feeling really good on those days. I have tried to get pee tests but if I mess with his box, he goes elsewhere and he only pees when I am not present. He will only go in box with Cat Attract litter. I am replacing a rug and a chair soon, thanks to him.
 
Hi Robin,

Welcome back from vacation and welcome to the Relaxed forum.

I'll be looking forward to your next chance to do a curve and see if we should adjust the dose again. You mentioned this weekend so I'll try to keep my eyes out for your posts.
 
Hi Deb

Thanks for watching.

Yes... vacation... well I cried for an hour when I left and then came home to two sick civvies.

Glad to be back
 
See if you can pick up some Purina Glucotest to sprinkle in the litter.
If he's dumping glucose, you know he was higher than the renal threshold during the period filling the bladder.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top