8/2 Shadow B+6=45+7.25=53+9.5=77+11=107+11.75=79

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadowsMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo


AMPS 144, +3=111, +6=128, +8=97, +12=161
PMPS 169, +3=127, +6=45 +6.25=54, +6.75=51, +7.25=53, +8=73, +8.5=82, +9.5=77, +11=107, +11.75=79
(During the hypo event, my times are approximate. I'm sure to test no more than 15-20 mins after feeding. Extending to 30 mins for later tests.)


20cc Core 5% post AMPS. Missed his +3 feeding so had to do it at +3.75. Gave his +4 at +4.5.
Episodes of vomiting before PMPS. Fed 10cc at AMPS +11.75 and +12. Shot at +13. 10cc at PMPS +1, +2, +2.5, +3.25, +4, +4.5. Fed 5cc of gravy at +6. Additional feedings of gravy alone failed to raise BG. I added 2 drops of corn syrup to the third gravy feeding. Resulted in a 73. Fed 10cc of Core 5% at +8.75 and +10 Will test again in an hour.


Yesterday's values:
AMPS 143, +1=154, +4=73, +6=86,+9.5 =119
PMPS 153, +2=115, +4=83, +6=68, +9.25=75


Lower numbers last night AND I got some sleep. We are off to a good start. Here's to happy surfing for everyone!
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 PMPS 161 HELP! Vomiting

He's had two episodes of vomiting today. The last bout was just before his PMPS and was very watery. I am holding off on his feeding for an hour or so to make sure he doesn't vomit again. Then will try feeding. Do I shoot tonight (after I feed which would be at his usual PMPS +1) or wait until morning?
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 PMPS 161 HELP! Vomiting

Can you afford to delay his schedule tomorrow morning by one hour?
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 PMPS 161 HELP! Vomiting

Definitely. That wouldn't be an issue. I can back it down by increments over the next few days if necessary.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 PMPS 161 HELP! Vomiting

OK - let's see if he will eat and hold down his food, then you can shoot. I'd try feeding small amounts at a time. Paws crossed it's just a hairball.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 PMPS 161 HELP! Vomiting

I just gave him 10cc of food and we will wait 15 mins and give him 10 more and consider shooting then if he's looking good. Hoping he holds it down.

No vomiting or signs of nausea (lip licking/yawning). Fed 10cc more and shot the 0.25u.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 PMPS 161

Did you test before you shot? You'll want to update your PMPS number. Paws crossed for an uneventful evening.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 PMPS 161, +1=169

Sorry, I did. Just didn't update. 169

I'm worried and flustered. My poor little man...
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 PMPS 161, +1=169

The 161 becomes your +12 and the 169 is the PMPS at +13. In your SS, you can put 161@+12 in the +11 column and in the PMPS column put 169@+13. That way people will know you stalled for an hour before shooting.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 +12=161 PM 169

Shadows SS is looking great. I hope he's feeling ok and keeping his food down.

Hairballs can cause what you're talking about but if it becomes a repeated pattern, I'd call the vet.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 +12=161 PM 169

Yeah. He's had hairballs before and know they can cause vomiting, but he also has CRF and that can lead to a high acid stomach. We have an appointment with the doc on Tuesday. Will discuss with her. I'm about to feed him another 10cc. I hope he will keep this one down too.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 +12=161 PM 169

He gets an injectable pepcid with his subQ. We may have to up his dose.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 +12=161 PM 169

Shadow is holding down his food and we are going to give him a little more subQ this evening to compensate for his fluid loss. Thanks for the help, all of you. I can't tell you how much it means to have this kind of support!
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 +12=161 PM 169

Glad he's doing well. Thanks for reminding me because I'm sue you've told me before about the Pepcid.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=128, +8=97 +12=161 PM 169, +3=128

No further vomiting since his last episode one hour before his PMPS. Shadow has now received his full nightly ration of food, albeit the last syringe was about 30 mins later than I usually feed. With the stress of the vomiting, I expected his numbers to be even higher than usual for at least a bit. He's resting comfortably now. I hope he stays that way.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow+12=161 PM 169, +3=128 +6=45

+6 is a 45. Asymptomatic hypo. Fed 5cc/1tsp high carb gravy. Test in 10.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow+12=161 PM 169, +3=128 +6=45 HYPO!

I've never posted in Shadow's condo before, so I don't know if you've dealt with low numbers. They can always startle you. You did good by feeding 1 tsp of HC. Make sure you feed a little at a time so he won't get too full and will eat more later if you need him to.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow+12=161 PM 169, +3=128 +6=45, +6.25=54 HYPO

Thanks for the response. We had a quick bounce up to 54 now at +6.25. He's doing fine. I'll test again in 15 and feed him some low carb at that point.

He had one 49... but rebounded quickly. So here's to my first real hypo watch. :roll:
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow+12=161 PM 169, +3=128 +6=45, +6.25=54

I'm glad he came up some, but remember it's probably the HC that made him come up and it can wear off. Keep testing until you can be sure he will not drop back down. Do you have plenty of testing supplies and food?
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow+12=161 PM 169, +3=128 +6=45, +6.25=54

Yep! Got my kit ready and my coffee made. I'm good to go! :smile:
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow+12=161 PM 169, +3=128 +6=45, +6.25=54

That's good. This is a good time to get data on how Shadow will do in low numbers and how hard/easy it is to get him to come back up. Each time helps you be more prepared for the next time he has low numbers.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow+12=161 PM 169, +3=128 +6=45, +6.25=54

Let's hope that we don't have to do this too many more times. I don't want to get into the habit of regular pajama parties!
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow+12=161 PM 169, +3=128 +6=45, +6.25=54

Have you been up all night? I'm just getting up for the day here.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow+12=161 PM 169, +3=128 +6=45, +6.25=54

Yes. I'm on the US west coast. It's just after 3:30 AM here. I've had very little rest over the last week. Tight regulation does not agree with me...
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow+12=161 PM 169, +3=128 +6=45, +6.25=54

It can be rough. I looked at Shadow's SS and he's looking really good. Hopefully he's heading for OTJ. When is the next test?
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow+12=161 PM 169, +3=128 +6=45, +6.25=54

I would give 1 tsp more and test again in 20 to 30 minutes. I have to go grab a shower. I'll check back as soon as I'm finished. You're doing great.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow+12=161 PM 169, +3=128 +6=45, +6.25=54, +6.5=5

Another 5cc of gravy down the hatch. Testing again in 15.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS 169, +3=128 +6=45, +6.25=54, +6.75=51

53 at 20 mins after feeding the second time. He's really not rising.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS +6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53

As long as it takes. Should I give corn syrup? He's not symptomatic. He just can't figure out why I keep jabbing his ears. Poor man.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS +6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53

That is what I was going to suggest. You can either add a couple of drops of syrup to another tsp of food or keep on testing and feeding like you're doing now. Since he's not coming up, the corn syrup may be a good idea. Be careful when pouring it. The first time I used it I got a lot more than a couple of drops because it came out so fast.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS +6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53

Furball can surf along in the 50s and not by symptomatic. We just want to make sure Shadow doesn't keep going lower. For all we know, the 50s could be normal for Shadow.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS +6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53

So how big should these drops be? I just poured some into a feeding syringe and squeezed until a few drops fell on their own. Is there an amount I could draw up into an insulin syringe to make sure I was getting a reasonable amount?
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS +6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53

I would test in about 30 minutes. The corn syrup should raise his numbers. I'm not sure I've ever heard anyone say anything about the size of the drops. I think it's just guessing. I only had to use it the one time and I was just going to drizzle a few drops. I think the way you did it with the syringe is a good idea.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS +6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53

That will be in about 20 minutes. I'll be back then.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS +6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53

73 - I'm feeling much better about that number. Should I feed him his regular food now? 10cc maybe? He would ordinarily be getting a snack right about now and he's telling me he's hungry. Should I recheck in 30?
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS +6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53+8=73

I would not feed right now. We need to see if his number will stay up without a food influence. I would retest in 30 minutes and if he's still higher, go ahead and feed Shadow his regular snack.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS +6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53+8=73

Will do. If it drops again, do I give more gravy/CS? I'll have that prepped and ready to go just in case.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS +6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53+8=73

If he drops again, I would try just the gravy and see if that is enough to raise his numbers.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS +6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53+8=73

82 - A nice steady climb. I'll give him 10cc of his low carb and retest in an hour?
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS +6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53+8=73+8.5=8

That sounds good. Maybe you can set an alarm and get a nap in.
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow PMPS +6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53+8=73+8.5=8

Brilliant! Thank you so much, Carla, for walking me through this. I can't tell you how much we appreciate the help. I'll be back in an hour or so. Thanks again!
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53+8=73+8.5=82+9.

77 - Should I feed a little more and/or test again in an hour?
 
Re: 8/2 Shadow B+6=45+6.25=54+6.75=51+7.25=53+8=73+8.5=82+9.

That is probably a good idea just to make sure he keeps surfing. Did you get a nap in?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top