8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119~PMPS=326

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
PMPS=193
+4=286
+7=184
+11.45=97
AMPS=100 ~1.75u Lev (start 5th day)
Yesterday's Condo

Morning everyone! I was awakened before my alarm by kitty whiskers tickling my face followed by kitty kisses. I turned my head to the other side but Shadow followed my face and continued pestering me until I finally got up. This was pretty unusual for him to wake me like this....mystery solved...There was the +8 snack all over the throw rug in the hallway and I realized it was himself when I tested him. He was +11.45=97. Waited a bit and he was 100 so I gave him his breffis and then shot him. He ate and seems fine now but needs watching for sure. Still, he had nicer numbers finally during last night's cycle, right?

This is always such a big deal....the place is so crowded and there isn't enough parking. Some days I have to drop one carrier off in the waiting room and drive to the nearby CVS to park and walk back with the other carrier. It's always a hassle. Added to the stress of the kitties and well, don't you just hate having to go to the vet's? I will have both of them looked at and get some lab work done. If he needs another dental, then that will explain the horrible numbers he has been getting.
Hope everyone has a nice Monday... Will report on our vet adventures later. ~O)
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100

Nice way to start the day Shadow!

Hope u find an easy parking spot Pat, deep breaths, dont stress, it'll work out!

Good positive vetty vibes your way!
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100

Bummer on the food thing - I hate that! But - better numbers for Shadow!

Good luck at the vets - and oh yeah, hear ya on the parking thing... never enough space. And then the waiting... Be good kitties! Your bean is stressed enough.
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100

Beautiful AMPS for SHADOW--Wooooo!!!! Sending Positive Vetty Vibes to both kitties!! Paws & fingers crossed!-Please update! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100

poor shadow ... not feeling good this morning ... hope the vets goes good for you guys ... I have never run into a parking problem at our vets .. in fact, I have never ever seen another client there when we are there ... I told peter that we must be paying for that whole operation to keep running :shock:
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119

Nice numbers last night for Shadow. :smile:
Bummer on the parking situation. My vet clinic just expanded, and has lots more parking space, but walking with kitty carriers is no fun.
We'll be waiting for updates, this afternoon, Pat.
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119

Hi Pat, Nice numbers today. But too bad about the snack upchuck!! Good luck today at the vet's. Fingers and paws crossed that all will go well and be OK. Sending good vet vibes!!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119

Hi Pat,

That stinks about the vet and the parking. Going to the vet is stressful enough as it is. Poor kitties and poor bean! Hope it goes well today.
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119

I hope it was just the old insiloons and Shadow gets an A+ from the vetty bean. Sorry about the snackus puke, but that is a nice way to wake up....kitty whiskers and purrrrrs. cat_pet_icon

So funny how the cats sleep in their carrier! I've been trying that with Punk, put a nice blanky in there, removed the gate and still, she walks by and snarls at it.
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

+2=157
+4=182

Office visit was at +3...he had Total Body (CBC, SMA, T4)75 =$122.00
$30 office visit
Shadow needs a dental....coming up tomorrow!!!
Raja had a Urinalaysis 910 =$35
Ampitriptyline 10 mg +$2.40 (1 per day)
Clavamox = $21
Penicillin shot = $12

Both had their nails clipped and thoroughly HATED the entire trip, beginning to end. Now Raja is hissing at Shadow whenever he gets near her. Vet odor is on HER too though...LOL.
There was a resident kitty in the examining room on the corner chair who looked just like Big Mac. He never blinked an eye at my two and their theatrics!

The vet was wonderful today. She was laughing at me since I was just about hyperventilating after lugging the two of them into the office. She explained the drill with Raja's urine sample and started her on the penicillin shot and Clavamox in case she needs it. Results tomorrow but the culture will take a few days if the test is positive for infection. Raja has inappropriate urinating so we will rule out the UTI if we can.

Shadow's teeth need to be cleaned again. He is really great at that in life...growing plaque. We will be going in tomorrow at 8am. No food/water after midnight....(I HATE this!!!!) grr_red

:?: Was wondering what dose to give him tonight....he normally gets 1.75 so should I do a .75u tonight and no shot in the am, right?
I am always amazed at how quickly they enter the carrier when the vet visit is done with. :lol:
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

Sounds like quite a day. I would do things the way you did last time he had a dental (if I recall you were on a simular dose and it worked out well) look back at your notes and see how you managed it.

Hopefully Raja's Tx will solve the pee problems (nothing worse than inappropriate peeing :razz: ) Hopefully the vet smell will wear off soon, but Shadow will be getting a second dose tomorrow, don't put the carriers away!
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

wow what a trip! I bet you are all glad to be home .. Hopefully all test results come back the way you want them too with no surprises. When was shadow's last dental?
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

Awww, sounds like you had an exhausting day at the vet. I hope the dental helps with getting Shadow's numbers back on track. I didn't know Raja was having some inappropriate peeing. Goodness you've had lots of stuff to deal with lately.

It was sweet to hear how Shadow woke you up with kitty kisses, but it would nice if you didn't have to keep getting up so much during the night. I get sleepy just thinking how often you get up at night.

Sounds like another long day for tomorrow, but good luck to Shadow and the dental.

Usually it is recommended to shoot the full dose the night before dental and half dose in the morning... Or skip morning shot...depending on the BG number.


P.S. I wish it was BigMac that you saw at the vet.... That would mean I was down there visiting you. :-D And I AM planning to do that sometime.
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

He had his last dental March 8th~~only 5 months ago. He usually gets a lot of plaque build up. Guess he needs a cleaning twice a year.
Oh...and while I was driving, I began to wish, hope, and pray for a good parking spot. I know, I'm NUTS. So, ok, LOL....there was a spot RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE DOOR when I got there!!! Yippee!!

I see that I gave the usual dose back in March (1.25u) the night before. Somehow I am worried about giving him his usual 1.75u tonight since I cannot feed after midnight. I don't need him dive bombing during the night...or in the morning either.
Would it be bad to give him .75u?
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

Just when you thought you have it figured out you get good numbers. :roll: But i think when a pen starts to go bad you get irregular results, not all bad at first.

Bummer on another dental, that's $$$$. I know brushing is taking your life in your own hands, but have you tried the dental rinses. Just a squirt the gums once a day. I has helped keep Tess's dentals to one every year or two.
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

LOL, Checks can't wait to get back into the carrier at the vet's. He yowls and cries pathetically on the way, but is silent coming home. Amazes me that he knows the difference.
I hope you get an answer for Raja's peeing problem. That's a hard one to deal with. My DD, has pee pads in the weirdest places, but it keeps the pee contained....sometimes.
I don't wish an infection on her, but wouldn't an explanation and remedy be nice?
The dentals can get so costly, when they have to be done twice a year. Seems like every year, Checks has one or more extracted, because of FORLs.

Hey Shadow...better load up at dinner tonite. ;-)
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

Oh my gosh Pat, your vetty visits are always an adventure.
Oh and I called ahead and made sure they helpd a spot for u in the parking lot


:lol:

what ya gonna do for the dose then for tonight?
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

+8=212
Thanks for the call ahead at the vet's Ronnie! I SO appreciated that great spot!
What do YOU think I should do? :mrgreen:

If he was really high in the pinks I wouldn't mind, but if I give him the full amount and he plummets, what can I do to bring him up? No food is scary, KWIM? is numbers haven't been all that great lately and today he seems much better. I am hoping that after the dental, the numbers will start getting serious...
I guess they say to give the regular dose....but something is making me second guess this...
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

I'm not really sure Pat...I do like Monique's and CD's suggestions...have you checked back to your notes?

What's making you hesitate this time?
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

This morning he was +11.45=98 cause his stomach was empty after he had upchucked his +8 snack.

I gave him 1.75u his regular dose when he was 100 at +12....I am just afraid of him going too low without food after +4 tonight. It seems that without food he will go low and there will be no food in the morning either. Well, anything is possible with him....so if I give a reduced dose tonight, he will go sky high. If I give his regular dose, he will drop.
Last time, (March) he had a 40 during the AM cycle so his regular dose didn't matter with his bouncing numbers during the PM cycle. I guess the rule is to give the regular dose but today I am nervous about it.
I don't want to have to make the decision to abort the dental tomorrow because of a too-low number and/or gravy during the night.
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

Hi Guys! just getting around to visiting your condo and see that Shadow is going in for a dental tomorrow...wishing you and him good luck there! Spot is also very good at making plaque. I have gotten used to the facct taht he will need to get two dentals a year because of this.

My vet said to not give food or water after midnight and that I could give him the full dose, but he was only on a drop of insulin at the time, so that may have been one of the reasons why.

Funny Raja...doesn't she smell herself? I always expect my guys to act funny when one of them goes to the vet, but so far, so good...nothing at all.
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

Good luck with the dental tomorrow. I imagine Raja will be hissing some more tomorrow when Shadow gets back. I really hope the dental will get Shadow back on track.
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

Hi Pat, So happy to hear that the kitties are home. I hope that all the tests will have the desired results. Stu is going for a teeth cleaning on Aug. 25th and his vet said not to feed and to give a half dose of insulin that morning. I'm apprehensive, too, since he has never had a "dental". Let us know what you decide to do! Good luck tomorrow!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

Pat, you know that I am not qualified to give dosing advice!!!.

Having said that, if you gave normal dose tonight, and he dropped, could you give Karo, to bring him back up?
Syrup is not going to make him vomit, which is the concern about food in the stomach, during anesthesia.

That was a question, NOT a suggestion. :!:
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

If you're worried about Shadow's numbers dropping, I think it's fine to give a BCS dose tonight.
 
AMPS=100 ~1.75u
+1=119
+2=157
+4=182
+8=212
PMPS=326
He is such a good boy to help his Mama out! Gee whiz...ya never know with this boy, do ya?
I still don't want to drive his numbers down too much...will be happy to shoot a 1.0u and altho he will be high, he won't go too low during the entire night and morning with no food on board....
After the dental, we will work harder with his dosing.
Will wait to see if anyone adds any thoughts...will be shooting in about 15 or so...
 
Re: 8/2=Shadow~AMPS=100~+1=119 dose ?? tonite

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you're worried about Shadow's numbers dropping, I think it's fine to give a BCS dose tonight.

me too. His numbers are going to be messed up for a few days anyway, so it's not a big deal. Good for you for getting this taken care of so quickly!
 
Thank you Sienne and Libby....I think I will shoot F.75u tonight.
As you said Libby, his numbers will be crazy (and have been with the dental issues) so we will be ready for serious work after he settles down.
Many thanks! :mrgreen:

I am sorry to be such a baby about this....dunno why I am so concerned now. No wait...yes I do know! :mrgreen: I don't want to chance him going low...there is no way to bring him up for 16 hours once he starts his descent without food.
I don't care if he stays in the pinks for now...just so he can get through this and come home. He had been doing so well and then it all went to heck. Hoping that the dental will give him a happy mouth and happy numbers! :lol: Many thanks to you all for you help and support!
 
Good luck with the dental! Poor Shadow!!!! Mannie is another one that is in there every 6 months. NOT fun and the $$$$$. I am in the process of trying Plaque-Off, but haven't had him on in long enough to know how effective it is. I have heard too that the rinses work well. And it sounds like you've already dealt with this - but I did half dose the night before, none in the morning... and sometimes too the anesthesia can lower numbers, so watch when Shadow gets home...

Mannie is pacing - he heard "dental" and thought it was for him.... :lol: :lol:

Have a good night - and I hope that the vet visit went ok, kitties are ok, and results come back with good news.
 
Hi Pat,
Stopping by to send good dental vines to Shadow tomorrow. And to you and Raja...more vines as you patiently await his return home. Has Shadow ever had one on his own, w/o Raja? They never seem to be seperated. Such loving and caring brother and sister. :)

I know you have been frustrated over the last month or so after such improvement w/ Shadows numbers. Get some sleep tonight,..might be your last chance. Shadow may just start wowing you again!

I think about you guys daily. Im trying to figure out how to mail some peacock feathers to you, btw. hehehe
 
Good luck w/ the dental tomorrow, it can't do anything but help. I hope you are in bed by now and see this in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top