8/2 Rocky(NS) PMBG 59 +14.5 78 +17 61 +19.75 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Hi LL,

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122754&p=1275690#p1275690

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 66 +5.5 67 +9.25 58
PMPS 68 +1 69 +3.5 51 +4 63 +4.75 82 +5 65 +6.25 64 +7 58 +7.75 63 +8.25 66

I'm in a very grumpy mood today.. :evil: I got very little sleep last night, as I had to monitor Rocky very closely because of that shot I gave him, as well as because he is still not interested in gobbling down food like he used to do.

I believe that he would have gone below 50 right after PMPS +4 last night, had I not caught that 51. I fed him 1/4 can of the Wellness Core 8% and it boosted his BG right up to 82 for only two hours, and then he proceeded to come down, again. nailbite_smile I fed him again, but not enough carbs because he kept dropping. So then I fed him the 8% again on the 3rd time, and his BG continued to drop. I was exhausted. I went bed with his BG at 66, knowing full well that he was going to drop even further, before his 7am shot time.

His BG was 59 this morning at shot time, and I just couldn't do another full day of monitoring and feeding to prop him up, so I skipped his AM shot. I believe that his BG dropped for a second time below 50 at AMBG +13, but I did not get his BG at that time. The reason I believe this is because his BG was at 80 at +14. I think this was a small, short bounce, as he had not eaten his morning breakfast. But then his BG started coming right back down the very next hour, and it is still coming down right now....

I might not even given him a shot tonight, as I am not fully recovered. I am too damn tired, and I have a huge load on my mind, mainly, 20 kittens in my 4 colonies that need fostering ASAP, or they're going to be ear tipped and dumped back into my colonies. I cannot afford to feed that many cats. I am so worried..

Rocky's potential OTJ could not have come at a more beneficial time. I really, really, need him to be in remission so that I can deal with this crisis on hand.

I can mess around with that "zero line" on the syringe a little bit more. I can dose him a fat zero and maybe a skinny zero? But maybe the skinny zero ends up being the plunger actually pushed all the way to top, with no insulin in it. :mrgreen:

Anyway, the .25u last night was too much for him, and too much for me. He wouldn't keep eating and I had no way to keep his BG elevated. I don't want to play around this.. it's too dangerous when he just doesn't have the appetite that he had when he first became a diabetic kitty.

He seems to be self-regulating pretty well today. His BG came down 17 points, after I had fed him 2x.

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122754&p=1275690#p1275690

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 66 +5.5 67 +9.25 58
PMPS 68 +1 69 +3.5 51 +4 63 +4.75 82 +5 65 +6.25 64 +7 58 +7.75 63 +8.25 66

My heart is breaking for Mariko.. sending them loving kindness and much compassion.
 
Re: 8/2 Rocky(NS) PMBG 59 +14.5 78 +17 61

Still having a difficult time of getting him to eat a lower carb, like 2%, later in the evening. (Like right now at a little after 12am, around +17. I am wondering if it is Ok to try to feed him a higher carb? I don't even think he'd eat the Ff-CC 4%. I bet he would hold out for the 8%.. :roll:
 
Re: 8/2 Rocky(NS) PMBG 59 +14.5 78 +17 61

i'm going to go ahead and answer on yesterday's post, since you haven't got one going yet today and i may not be on much later.

i wouldn't increase the carbs in his food. just keep giving him his usual low carb food.

if you've skipped the shot, he should be ok and not go into dangerous territory by now. according to his ss, it looks like you've skipped 3 shots now. Is that correct?

if so, you don't need to keep testing every hour at this point. get a couple of tests in today and let's see where he is at pmps time.

cats can be very individual in going down the dosing scale. looks like Rocky is doing things a very unique way. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/2 Rocky(NS) PMBG 59 +14.5 78 +17 61

Hi there :cool:

It could just be a timing - maybe he is not hungry at +17
What are the current feeding amounts and schedule?

Rocky is clearly changing and as he changes his eating habits may change as well.
Remember, his lower need for exogenous insulin indicates calories are being better metabolized and energy from food is making it to all his cells.
That's kind of huge when you think about it. . .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top