? 8/2 Radar is home now - dental went well today- has had no insulin today - evening dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan Radar (GA)

Member Since 2015
Tuesday

Radar began walking on my face at 4:30 this morning asking for food...:eek: He is pacing the kitchen counters biting and licking anything he finds.... cardboard, plastic bags, the counter, the mail. Now he's licking the couch. :eek: Poor little guy. He doesn't understand why I'm not responding the way I'm supposed to...

With his low much much lower than usual 120 amps reading this morning on the human meter and the 186 reading on the AlphaTrax, I'm seriously considering skipping his shot this morning... The vet told me to give half a dose... yikes I don't know what to do... I'll check him again to be sure it wasn't a wonky strip.
 
I have having to fast. Poor Radar. I hope the dental goes well. Sending prayers. :bighug:
thanks for the hugs and good wishes Carla. I also hate having to fast for a medical procedure... but it's worse fasting your cat who just doesn't understand why you changed your "normal" behavior...and have kept the fridge closed and the dishes put away. I'll be glad when the dr can take over his care for a while because I can barely stand not feeding him when he's so desperate for food.
 
I was typing fast. I meant I hate having to fast a cat, but I don't like fasting either. It's also hard having to just fast one cat when you have multiple cats.
 
Please keep us posted! Poor Radar. :bighug:

Since I test/feed/shoot so early Gizmo got his normal AMPS food and dose. He was past nadir by the time he had his cleaning. He came home starving (wasn't sure how he was going to feel). I put a bowl of food down and he was gobbling it up so fast I had to take it away from him because I was afraid he would get sick. He did so well that we didn't miss a beat with his dosing or eating. I pray you have the same luck with Radar.
 
Well he's at the vet's office. He complained all the way there. I'm going to work on my classroom... at least I'll be busy until I get the call to come get him
 
I was typing fast. I meant I hate having to fast a cat, but I don't like fasting either. It's also hard having to just fast one cat when you have multiple cats.
Oh my I never thought about the difficulty of fasting one cat when the others get to eat..... how awful for everyone.
 
Oh my I never thought about the difficulty of fasting one cat when the others get to eat..... how awful for everyone.

That's why when China's had dentals, the civvies didn't get breakfast until after she was crated and in the car....then I'd run back into the house and put their food down (so they didn't attack me when I got home!!)

I figure they say that Misery Loves Company, so as long as China was miserable, the civvies should be too.....and they'd make my life miserable so we had plenty of company!!....LOL
 
Radar is home now and busy washing the vet smells off his fur. :eek: And he's hungry too. I gave him one spoonful of raw turkey and we'll hope for no barfing. Then give more food in a bit. The doctor said he did really well and they only had to remove one tooth that was broken. :joyful: The vet checked his bg after the surgery and it was 123 on the AlphaTrax so the doctor didn't give insulin either. That means no insulin has been given today.

I will, of course, monitor and we'll see what his number is closer to shot time.
 
Please keep us posted! Poor Radar. :bighug:

Since I test/feed/shoot so early Gizmo got his normal AMPS food and dose. He was past nadir by the time he had his cleaning. He came home starving (wasn't sure how he was going to feel). I put a bowl of food down and he was gobbling it up so fast I had to take it away from him because I was afraid he would get sick. He did so well that we didn't miss a beat with his dosing or eating. I pray you have the same luck with Radar.
Radar has been in a similar "starving" frame of mind since coming home. He vacuums up every bite of food I put in his dish. I started out with just a teaspoon of food and moved up to 3 T of food. There's been no barfing so I plan to proceed with dinner as usual.
 
I just tested Radar in anticipation of evening shot time... and he's 295 which is not too surprising since he's had no insulin today. This number is a food influenced number because he has been eating small amounts of RadCat raw since we got home. My experience is that the raw food doesn't raise his numbers very much at this time of the day, but that is when he's on insulin. I'm not quite sure how to decide about his evening shot. He's high enough to shoot and he will be very likely to eat whatever I put in front of him. Maybe a reduced dose is appropriate? I just don't know what to do...
 
Not medical info, just telling you what I did with my fasted & anesthetized cat. .....

I had enough supplies and would be around for the next 24 hours. Full dose dropped him from 500 to ?61?-ish. Not what I was expecting. I got a nice pj party.

Every cat is different......

Good luck.


Adding......this wasn't from this past time at the u.
 
It's been 45 min since I last tested. No food for almost two hours. He is 240 right now.

He has been unable to settle for very long since we got home. There's lots of what I'd call pacing behavior which I'm thinking may be the lingering effects of the anesthesia ??? Don't know if that has any bearing on the safety of giving insulin or not...???
 
Do you know if he had any pain medication? The pacing could be either pain or a high dose of pain meds. I think it would only be an issue with giving insulin if it prevented him from eating.

Looks like his BG is coming down, even though there has been no food. Some types of anesthesia induction drugs can lower the BG. You might want to give a reduced dose tonight for safety, in case he decides not to eat, and go back to your regular dose tomorrow. Neko typically had the anesthesia induction drug that did not lower BG's (more common in Canada), so she always got full dose after anesthesia. And I could always count on her appy.
 
Do you know if he had any pain medication? The pacing could be either pain or a high dose of pain meds. I think it would only be an issue with giving insulin if it prevented him from eating.

Looks like his BG is coming down, even though there has been no food. Some types of anesthesia induction drugs can lower the BG. You might want to give a reduced dose tonight for safety, in case he decides not to eat, and go back to your regular dose tomorrow. Neko typically had the anesthesia induction drug that did not lower BG's (more common in Canada), so she always got full dose after anesthesia. And I could always count on her appy.
He was given a dose of Onsior and a shot of convenia which he's had before without a problem. The paper says the anesthesia was called "sevoflurane" I don't expect him to not eat but one never knows.
 
It's been 45 min since I last tested. No food for almost two hours. He is 240 right now.

He has been unable to settle for very long since we got home. There's lots of what I'd call pacing behavior which I'm thinking may be the lingering effects of the anesthesia ??? Don't know if that has any bearing on the safety of giving insulin or not...???
I'm sorry to hear about the pacing. Sending many vines for your boy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top