8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61, +10 67, +11 66 PMPS 80 *DOSE QUESTION*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Klaree and Ollie

Member Since 2010
Morning everyone,

Ollie earned another dose redux yesterday by giving me a 34 at +3 PM.

Yesterday:
AMPS - 127
Shot 1.75
+2 - 164
+4 - 151
+6 - 134
PMPS - 105
Shot 1.75
+3 - 34
+4 - 72
+5 - 75
+7 - 80

Today:
AMPS 61!!

I am very confused about what to do here. I was about 50 min. late with his shot last night :( (I checked his blood, fed him, and walked away - I have no idea what possessed me!) Could this be affecting his numbers this morning? Should I give the full 1.50? 1.25???

Thanks!
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61!! *DOSE QUESTION*

did you feed already?

I see it added on SS...can u re-test 15 minutes after the 61?
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61!! *DOSE QUESTION*

Yes, I will be home all day and I did feed already, FF Ocean whitefish feast.

THanks,
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61!! *DOSE QUESTION*

k, not sure if you know, if u hit "refresh/reload" it will update any replies to your thread, wasn't sure if u saw my post earlier,

but anyway, when u get those low numbers, and not sure about shooting, stall and re-test, dont feed.

you also want to stay as close to 12/12 schedule as possible, early and late shots can act like dose reduction/increases.

you'll want to get a +1 test as well


did you want to re-test to see where he is going before shooting? may be going up since you fed already. Edit to add: ok, I see the 79....
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61!! *DOSE QUESTION*

Are you now 12 hrs from your shot time from last night?

If you are 12 hours from your last shot, with the 34 last night, Ollie earned a dose reduction. So, you'd be shooting 1.5u this morning. You've shot this low before. Are you comfortable shooting a low number this morning? As long as you're home, have strips, and HC food and, of course BOS (balls of steel), you can shoot.
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61!! *DOSE QUESTION*

I am about 15 min away from the time I shot last night (I am so mad at myself!!). I have shot this low before, and I really think that he'll go <50 again today. Would this count as another redux? It's so close to the last one...

Thanks!
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61!! *DOSE QUESTION*

Thank u Sienne!

unfortunately, it might of been, but Ollie got fed - opps!
It's ok, it happens and he will get there again!

Just remember, next time, dont feed yet, stall and re-test, post and scream for help, lol!

Besides you're home and can check him, he'll be ok.

If you're shooting the scruff, you may have to be prepared to test more frequent to see how that absorption works for him.
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61!! *DOSE QUESTION*

Thanks Sienne and Ronnie!! I'll keep you posted on what happens today ;).

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61!! *DOSE QUESTION*

k,

make a note in SS if you shoot scruff, good info to know if there's a big difference.

dont forget a +1 check! plenty of small food portions available thru the next couple of hours too :razz:
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61!! *DOSE QUESTION*

Because there is some shed action from the last dose, Ollie wouldn't get another reduction based on numbers this cycle. Generally, you don't want to take reductions too close together -- they usually don't hold. That being the case, try to keep Ollie surfing in the greens but you can steer with HC to keep him around the numbers he is now or a bit above.
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61, +1 75

Thanks guys! I shot him between the shoulder and the scruff, about 1.5 inches higher than were I normally shoot. We'll see if it makes a difference. He just ate another 3/8 can of FF. I can't believe that he is responding to this insulin so well after nearly 2 years of total gibberish readings from Vetsulin. It's pretty intense but I'm hopeful we make it to the falls!

Thanks again,
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61, +1 75

Nice nice nice :mrgreen:

I know what u mean, we wasted 2 months on crappy Caninsulin (Canadian version of Vetsulin) before taking the Lantus plunge.

Lantus is liking Ollie very much :mrgreen:

Keep an eye on those greenies this morning, hee hee!
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61, +1 75

Just a word re. steering the numbers with food...

Don't over do the portions. If you need to keep bumping up the numbers, you don't want Ollie to get too full. This is looking good for this point in the cycle but you're still before Lantus onset. Definitely get a +2 (or a +1.5 if you are concerned). I usually give a bite (about 1/16 can of FF) with some gravy on top when I'm steering Gabby's numbers (like this morning).
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61, +1 75, +2 77

Great looking surf. You may not need to go to HC if you keep getting these kinds of numbers from LC. Go Ollie!!!!
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61, +1 75, +2 77

Hey Ollie look at you surfing the PEI way You and Trey have a good day surfing today Kath :lol: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61, +2 77, +3 65, +5 40 *DOSE QUESTION*

Okay, so we are doing some HC gravy right now. Was just outside for an hour, ate grass, puked (but with no grass pieces, about 1 TBSP of liquid food). Does this count as a redux?

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61, +5 40, +6 77 *DOSE QUESTION*

Looking great Ollie!

We'll have some feedback on dose for tonight soon.
Nice work getting the numbers!
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61, +5 40, +6 77 *DOSE QUESTION*

Wow! Another kitty who likes to surf low. Ollie and Tess must be having a great time together. No answers on the dose, but remember that you have a good shed built up at the higher dose and it takes a little while for that to empty to the new lever. Ollie's body is giving him a little more than you think right now.

SURF on OLLIE!!
SurfCat.jpg
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61, +5 40, +6 77 *DOSE QUESTION*

Thanks Ann and Tess! Ridin' the waves with friends sure is fun! - Ollie
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61, +5 40, +6 77 *DOSE QUESTION*

Ollie is surfing with Trey ..They are doing it the PEI way...Lets go surfing...... :razz: :lol: :mrgreen: Kath
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61, +5 40, +6 77 *DOSE QUESTION*

Twas great surfing with you Trey! I sure do like the PEI way... I have to go home soon so that I can be a super picky eater at dinner and drive my mama bean nuts! - Ollie
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61, +5 40, +6 77 *DOSE QUESTION*

will you be able to get a +11 tonight? I'm curious where the rest of the cycle is going.
 
Re: 8/2 Ollie AMPS 61,+5 40,+11 67 PMPS 66 *DOSE QUESTION*

Yes! +11 was 67 and PMPS was 66...

Hmmm, what do you guys think - 1.5 or 1.25??

Thanks,
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61,+5 40,+11 67, PMPS 66 *DOSE QUESTION*

just so I'm clear, is it now 12 hours after the morning shot?

Will you be around tonight to monitor?
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61,+5 40,+11 67, PMPS 66 *DOSE QUESTION*

It's not quite 12 hours about 15 min to go until true PMPS.

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61,+5 40,+11 67, PMPS 66 *DOSE QUESTION*

****...I'm still half an hour away from true PMPS. I've been a bit messed up all day b/c of my dose time mistake.... I'll test him again.

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61,+5 40,+11 67, PMPS 66 *DOSE QUESTION*

how long can you stall tonight and still be ok shooting at +12 in the morning? Or are you already too far off schedule?

I'm thinking we might as well try a reduction to 1.25 to try to drain the shed. We might have to go back up in a few cycles, we'll see. Now the question is WHEN to shoot. Let's see what the +12 is.
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61,+5 40,+11 67, PMPS 66 *DOSE QUESTION*

Changing shot times does that to the brain especially if you have been at one for a long time , or stayed up all night dealing w/ low numbers.
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61,+5 40,+11 67, PMPS 66 *DOSE QUESTION*

I can stall until whenever (although he is hungry and loud!). I'll be home all morning. I will need to switch back at some point. Waiting for the +12.

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61,+5 40,+11 67, PMPS 66 *DOSE QUESTION*

Okay, +12 = 80. Coming up. Still think 1.25....? I'm leaning toward 1.25 myself. He always dips at night.

Thanks for the help!
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/2 - Ollie AMPS 61,+5 40,+11 67, PMPS 66 *DOSE QUESTION*

80 is nice :mrgreen:
when u have a chance, can u edit your subject line to reflect actual PMPS?

ETA: never mind! :lol:
 
nah, let's try the reduction, 40 is pretty low and I'd rather he not spend a lot of time there. If it doesn't work, we'll go back up.
 
Looking good Ollie try to give momma a nice surfing night easy on the drops they make you eat too much ...Kath ;-)
 
Surfing Ollie & Trey who else is coming to join us today The more the merrier...Lot of waves to surf the PEI way I like lots of friends to join maybe we can start a surfing club....Trey :lol: :smile: :-D


Great Trey is taking over the typing :lol: oh well maybe less mistakes :-D :mrgreen: Kath
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top