8/2 Mr. Howell PMPS 173, +1 230, +2 182, +3 176

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Mr. Howell

Member Since 2011
Good morning, LL!
Yesterday
Mr. Howell had a pretty high curve last night... I slept right through his +9 last night and I wish I would have known where he had gone to after his wonky coaster ride...
He's plopped down for his after-breakfast 'purr and pet' session on my lap ;) Okay Mr. Howell, let's stop having these high AMPS numbers! It did make me feel more confident about giving him the 2u though.
Hope everyone has a great Tuesday!
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488

Don't worry about those high numbers today, and stick to the 2u unless he drops below 50. Mr. Howell is not used to normal BG numbers yet, so you'll see some bouncing back up because his body *thinks* his BG is low even though it's not. When a cat's body thinks BG is too low, the pancreas produces glucagon to raise BG levels (it's like the opposite of insulin). When a diabetic cat has been in high numbers for a while, this happens at first when they get lower, normal numbers even though the BG is not too low. Eventually, as Mr. Howell adjusts to the lower numbers his BG will stop bouncing back up high.

He's doing great! You guys had a nice early cycle yesterday!
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488

Thanks Julia. Mr. Howell has had a lot of playful energy ever since his diet switch, which is the main thing that gives me hope! I haven't seen him be this playful in, well, ever. :roll: I just have a feeling it'll all even out.
+1 461, +2 317. He's found a brand new spot in my tiny studio closet to bask in the sunlight. Hey I'm suppose to be working in there, cat! :lol:
 

Attachments

  • DSCF4676.JPG
    DSCF4676.JPG
    331.5 KB · Views: 586
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488

You're doing a really good job!! Julia's exactly right...just stay with this 2u. I found that at the beginning, because I wasn't sure when to increase or decrease (even though I had read the protocol many times!!), I just asked for advice from Sienne, Jill, Libby, or Laura. They'll steer you in the right direction!!! Keep up the good work!!
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488

Hi guys .. yeah, the amps number is a little high, but you guys are doing great ..Mr Howell looks a lot like my GA boy cheddar .. cheddar colby jack .. :-D Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488

+3 425. I think he's on the same +3hr spike that he had last night... well at least the patterns are emerging!
Thank you all -- I've got the mantra Slow and Steady Wins the Race... slow and steady Mr. Howell! He is such a good boy!
Karrie... I am totally with you, give me a tubby buddy with a big mane of fur and I'm done for!
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488, +1 461, +2 317, +3 425, +4 316

+5 258. He is about where he was 12 hours ago.
I'll give a +6 and then it's off for me to get an unbelievable amount of stuff done today!
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488, +3 425, +6 240, +9 152

You've got yourself your very own rainbow kitty...he hit all the colors on the spreadsheet (the dreaded black doesn't count!)!!!

ETA: I realize he didn't hit green, but we can let that slide this time, Mr. Howell.
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488, +3 425, +6 240, +9 152

Mr H is looking very colorful indeed!

I hope you got all your stuff done today!

Amy
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488, +3 425, +6 240, +9 152

I got all my stuff done, and better yet, I got a temp. job offer! YESS!
You guys are so right, Mr. Howell is spanning the entire light spectrum! Stay away from those warm colors, we like the cools, kittycat!
I'll update with his +11 and PMPS; I have a feeling it might be a little low but we'll see where he goes tonight.
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488, +3 425, +6 240, +9 152

congratulations on the job!
sending you cool colours vibes for Mr Howell, and good luck with the job! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488, +3 425, +6 240, +9 152

+11 175... Still planning on giving 2u tonight if he's above 150. He needs to make it through the next 24hrs on this dosage to be at 6 consecutive cycles and then we'll see where we are at.
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488, +3 425, +6 240, +9 152

PMPS 173. Gave 2u with 3/4can FF... he was soo impatient this last hour waiting for fuds!
Thanks Sienne! Going to watch his curve tonight and wait for another possible drop. You guys have been great!
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488, +6 240, +9 152 PMPS 173

Looking good, Mr. Howell!!! And congrats on the job offer!!! :-D :-D

The bounces are tough to handle at first... it is just part of the process. We call it Liver Training School (LTS). By introducing progressively lower numbers to Mr. Howell's system, you are retraining his liver to understand what "normal" BG#s are, so it doesn't panic and flood his system with glucose and hormones to raise his BG anytime it perceives normal numbers as dangerous.

You'll find that some kitties here pass LTS quickly, while others are in the remedial program.... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: But yes, those high numbers after the pretty low ones are a normal part of the process!
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell AMPS 488, +6 240, +9 152 PMPS 173

congrats on your job offer!

and Mr. Howell...this is for you... :-D

OpieColors.jpg
 
Re: 8/2 Mr. Howell PMPS 173, +1 230, +2 182, +3 172

+3 176.. hovering in the blues!
Set the alarm for +6. Still hoping he doesn't crash one of these nights, but I am waiting for it and prepared if he does.
 
+6 120... what a good lookin' Nadir! Gave him 1/4can FF @ +3, hasn't eaten it all but I gave him another 1/4can at +6... now he's head-butting me and following me around the apt. instead of eating. :-D You dummy! Go eat your snack!
Goin' back to bed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top