8/2 Michael amps 47 +4 82 pmps 334 Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/2/14 Michael amps 47

Hi Paula. Congratulations on the dose reduction to 0.75. :-D
I would practice trying to get what you think is that dose with some water or some colored water, and then when you think you have it, save that syringe as an example syringe to compare your doses to. Those in between doses are tough to measure and be consistant at. I would try to compare the amount of light (or room) I see either below the line marking or above the line marking.

He might be high tonight because of the skipped dose.

If he goes up to a shootable number within an hour or so after his normal shot time, and you want to give him his insulin, just remember that that alters your shot time, and his next dose would be due 12 hours after you gave the last shot.

If he goes up really high and you want to shoot a little early tonight, you can do that too, but then his shot schedule will be altered the other way.

Good luck with the new dose ;-)
 
Hi Paula.

If you want you can give the 1.00 dose tonight and then go to the new 0.75 dose in the morning. It's up to you.

I guess you don't know yet, that if you reply to your post that it will then go to the top of the page where more people will see it.
 
Thanks, Dyana
I didn't realize. I'm so knew at this. I wonder if I will ever learn.
I gave 1.0 u and the .75 u I will have to wait. It's way to hard to see given my limitations. I can see the 1/2 marking & the 1 marking much easier and therefore giving a more accurate dose. I never thought in a million years that "D" could be so complicated. It's even hard to work with the Vet even though I have one that is willing to work with me. Please look at M's SS.
I think he really bounced.
Thanks again
Paula
 
Yeah...between the low number this morning and the skipped shot, you're back in those stinky pinkies!

He bounced from the lows....then didn't get his shot on top of that so you had two things working to get the 334

Have you tried getting a pair of cheap reading glasses so you can see the lines on the syringes a little better? With Michael going below 50 on 1 unit, he really needs the reduction in dose.

I bought a pair at WalMart and it does help to see what I"m doing. You just have to get the top of the plunger in between the lines as best you can. I think I'm going to try to learn how to use calipers because of having trouble keeping those doses in between the lines consistent

Hopefully he'll come back down soon! Good luck with whatever you decide to do!
 
Hi Paula!

it was fine to give the 1.0u tonight, but tomorrow morning you really need to reduce to 0.75u, even if he's still high. it's important in a newly diagnosed cat to take reductions of the full 0.25u when they go below 50 so that when the bounce clears he won't be overdosed.

His bounce might last up to 3 days from today, so in other words, he might be high until Tuesday evening. If he is, don't worry. He will come down. He might come down before then - there's no way to predict it at this point. However, at the point he comes down, you don't want him to be overdosed.

The high numbers this evening are also from having skipped his dose this morning. It was fine to skip this morning, but next time just know you have more choices than just skipping.

From the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky:

HOW TO DEAL WITH LOW PRESHOT NUMBERS

**** The following guidelines apply to the Tight Regulation Protocol for Lantus or Levemir ****


You just tested your cat’s preshot number, and there is a much lower than usual number staring back at you. What do you do?

There is no one-size-fits all answer, but there are some general guidelines. As with everything else, each cat is different (ECID) and each caregiver is different too.

The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if the cat is less than 50 then usually the best option is to wait until they are above 50 to shoot. While you’re waiting, the shed is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot.

If it is your first time shooting green, then we will likely suggest that you stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall. One thing you can do if you are having a low cycle is to get a +10 and +11. Those will give you a good idea of how quickly the cat’s numbers are rising (or not) when preshot time arrives.

Beyond the general guidelines, there are other factors we consider when we are helping someone with a low preshot.
If the low preshot is not part of that cat’s normal pattern or there is reason to think something might be wrong, we will be more conservative.
If the cat is not a food spiker or tends to have an early onset/early nadir then they may not want to shoot as low. If the cat has a late nadir, then they will HAVE to learn to shoot low.
We will also be more conservative in some cases because of the person – if you are not able to monitor then you want to be more careful, or if you are not sure that you can get back to the board to keep us updated throughout the cycle. Trust me, if you shoot low, we will be watching for your updates and we will worry if we don’t see them.
We have to be a lot more careful with the cats who eat only dry food, because they don’t have access to the tools the rest of us use to keep our cats safe.
Also, when it comes to very low preshots, there is an unwritten rule that whoever helps that person shoot low should expect to sit with them through any low parts of the cycle. There have been times when I knew a cat’s number was likely shootable, but I also knew that I could not be around to help if the shot resulted in low numbers later in the cycle. For safety’s sake, if I could not find someone else who would be available to support for the next several hours, I would most likely suggest that the shot be reduced or skipped. I will not encourage someone to shoot low and then abandon them.
There are a lot of other scenarios, and you always want to keep your cat in mind.

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.

When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
--- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.

Using the overlap by shooting low is a great way to take advantage of Lantus/Levemir’s long, flat cycles, once you have learned to do so safely.

~ written by Libby and Lucy

A good plan for the next time you have a number that is too low to just shoot (for newbies, we suggest if it's less than about 150) post here and ask for help walking through it. While you're waiting for someone to help you make decisions, don't feed Michael. We'll want to see his blood sugar rising and then you can shoot as soon as it starts up.

In any case, don't panic about his high numbers tonight. The combination of a bounce + a skipped shot means high numbers, but they aren't a crisis and they will pass, probably by Tuesday night. big hugs - it's nerve-wracking when you're starting and no one expects you to already know all of this. that's why so many of us stick around to help teach.

enjoy the night off of testing since he's high and have a good night's sleep! see you tomorrow. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top