We're still on 1.13u because we're getting green numbers in the afternoon and blues at night. And the last time we increased to 1.25, she dropped to 41 before her nadir on the very first dose. Luna bounces after every single low number, so we give her 3 days to clear and then adjust after that. If you look at the last 11 days, she's come back down every time.Any reason why you're holding doses for this long? On TR, you can change as much as after 6 cycles.
Also I'm curious, what does 1.13 unit look like?
I'm not opposed to trying 1.25 again, but do we need to? The steep drops from AMPS are a little concerning. We dropped over 300 on 7/24 & 7/31, and almost as much a few other days. And we're getting greens and blues in between the bounces.What a cat does over two weeks ago at a dose is no indicator of what she will do now on that dose. I wouldn’t use that lime a while ago as a reason to not try 1.25 again if you can monitor. Which brings up my question, is there a reason you are always testing at +6 in the AM now? A cat’s nadir can move around and I see lots of +4-5 and +7 nadirs on Luna’s SS.
She gets a larger meal at 9AM with her insulin, then smaller meals at 1PM and 5 PM. We were kicking around a few different ideas to slow the drop. Right now we're trying a 6-7% carb food instead of her usual 1-2%. Today is day 2 of that experiment, so not sure if it's doing anything. Though the +6 today looks promising. If that doesn't work, we might try 4 meals of 1-2% food every cycle. 9, 12, 3, 6. Night time is similar feeding scheduleI thought the +6 might be work related, but I saw seven days in a row and figured you might be a workaholic!I used to be afraid of high starts, cause Neko could drop a lot farther with a high start. Low starts were more predictable.
What is you AM feeding schedule? Just wondering if there is a way to slow her drops a bit with food. If Luna is dropping from on high, seems to do the biggest drop before +3. Some extra food before onset might slow her down a bit.
I sometimes feed a smaller meal at shot time and then a larger meal before onset because Ming loves to dive. He’s not too carb sensitive and I’ve been using honey in his LC food to slow dives down. I like the honey because its effect dies off in an hour or so. That’s what works for me.
Last night he went from 374 at PMPS to 86 at +5. He’s on Levemir so his onset is a bit later but I sometimes start to see action as quickly as +2. But he stayed flat in the greens with only minimal carb intervention. I fed him honey + 1/4 can LC at +5 and then gave him the rest of his LC food at +6. I fell asleep and tried to wake up to test him as often as I could. I decided not to intervene with food even though he was going lower because I have collected enough data to feel confident he would surf. Of course I would not recommend this until you are familiar with your cat (even then they will be sometimes unpredictable)
Just some ideas of what I do.
Looks like Luna might give you a nice cycle tonight. Are you able to monitor tonight and perhaps catch some tests beyond +3?
Thanks for the tips! Might be worth a try to get this bouncing under control...if that's even possible.
If things look weird at +3 or she drops from PMPS, I'll be sure to test her again. We've already had a couple of all nighters.
But if she shoots up her usual 200 pts at +3, we're both getting some sleep.
That +6 will tell you if it's night time bouncing.Any idea why she's rising at +3 every night?