8/2 Harley AMPS 270, PMPS 413

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/2 Harley AMPS 270

morning robin, i'm kind of liking pmps followed by this mornings amps...looks like there's potential for this dose to gradually work him better and better. stick with it. altho he's not blue or green yet there seems to be gradual improvement and adjusting to the dose...
 
Re: 8/2 Harley AMPS 270

Robin, Harley is looking good! Looks like he had a little liver bounce the other day, but he seems to be settling nicely into this dose. He probably just needs a little time seeing those blue numbers before his liver stops reacting. You're doing great!!
 
Re: 8/2 Harley AMPS 270

Thanks you guys.

I'm happy with the yellows right now. I'd like to see him come down a little more each day. Those wild swings have to be hard on their little bodies.

I couldn't get home at lunch so I'm crossing my fingers for PMPS.
 
Re: 8/2 Harley AMPS 270

we are crossing our fingers....and our paws :lol:
 
maybe he had some greens today confused_cat , i'm still confused by his track record honey,
seems like he's a tough nut to crack.
 
ya know i'm beginning to think panicky liver should'nt even be an issue since you had lot's of greens while on lantus and his body should'nt be shocked at this point by a low, or blue #.
i kinda wish jojo were still around. we've totally ruled out infections of bladder, ut, teeth?
check him all over for cancer 'bumps'...gosh i'm really stumped. you can call if you want. home #
 
Lori, I'm confused too.

When I sat with him to give the shot I asked him what happened today but he's not talking just purring. Hmmm.
 
I think it's hard to know for sure what's going on right now without knowing mid-cycle #s from today (not criticising, just commenting!). If it was a nice run of all blues & greens then I'd say tonight's PS is liver training. If if was flatter than that and all yellows, then I'd say it looks like he has adjusted to this dose, and needs more insulin.

If he goes back into nice blues tonight, like he did on the last high PS, then no worries, the dose still looks good for the moment. If you aren't seeing blues tonight and can get in a mid-cycle test tomorrow and are stuck in yellows, then I'd raise the dose a hair.

On this dose he's only had a couple cycles where it looks like the nadir was probably in non-diabetic #s, and even those were in the blues and not greens (maybe a green or two happened off-camera of course). So my *guess* would be he probably does need a little more insulin after all. This dose looked promising, but you still haven't seen awesome #s on it.

My experience is that if the dose isn't high enough the #s will tend to drift higher, so it doesn't surprise me too much that you would see some higher #s, especially since when you tried 1.2F a little while back you didn't get great results.

It can be really frustrating b/c it's hard to pick #s that seem safe - like a low yellow PS and a low blue nadir - and hold there. From what I have seen if you aim for #s like that (i.e., okish, maintenance #s, slightly higher than ideal to avoid any hypo risk), they will end up drifting higher, b/c with PZI it seems like they often get sort-of all-or-nothing results. So in my view, the more someone can stomach shooting for the greens & testing to be sure you didn't overdo, the better things seem to go overall. Of course that is stressful though. :mrgreen:

I would still try to get in a mid-cycle test though to confirm what is going on... without that it's mostly idle speculation! :oops:
 
Panicky liver isn't only caused by low numbers, it can also be a reaction to dropping faster, or a bigger drop, than the body is used to. Looks like panicky liver to me....especially because he came back down to a nice ps# this morning. Too little insulin would not bring the ps# down again like that, IMO.

The wild swings can be hard on them. Tinkles used to have HUGE swings....high 400s to less than 100 in a cycle sometimes....but he never seemed to feel bad because of it. However, now with gentler curves on lantus, he is perkier overall, so I think he just never showed how much it affected him. I do still think that PZ was a good insulin for him, it certainly got him into good numbers relatively quickly! But it's never as quickly as we would like, it can seem like forever...I remember how frustrating it was to bounce all over! :evil:

I think you are making really good progress, and you are 30 days in on ProZinc. I really think you will start to see more stability inside of 2 weeks, maybe less. I'm going to go back and mark the 45 day period on Tinkles' SS, IIRC he started to settle down a few days before we got there...

I know I sound like a broken record, but....hang in there, it WILL get better! ;-)
 
Thanks Joanna & Lori,

I really appreciate everyones support. Patience is not one of my virtues :-| but I'll hang in there.

He had that almost 300 point drop after that last red and freaked me out, than has to settle down again.

I've been wondering about what else he could be getting into food wise that might be causing it. I've switched to Wellness Core dry for the hold out crack head. What else could he get into?
 
Is he getting into the wellness core? If so, that could be part of it. Even if it is lower carb, I would stay away from dry completely if you can. I know it can be really hard, I have one civvie that will NOT give up dry! I have to keep it up where Tinkles won't go. The other culprit for us is dog food, and dishes in the sink. I have to make sure all dishes are rinsed and upside down if they are not washed right after use! Tinkles can be ingenious about finding illegal goodies!

One thing you can try if you want to is feeding one type of food, only a few flavors or stick to one flavor, to eliminate the food variable. I switched to Special Kitty, a few flavors, on the suggestion from Michelle & Prudence, and it made a big difference in toning down food spikes! For some reason, "low carb" FF gave Tinkles big food spikes....now I only use it if he is really low, as an alternative to medium carb food. Even one teaspoon of FF T&G (3.9%) brings him up nicely! ECID, Tinkles seems to be carb sensitive (or FF carb sensitive?) so I stick to the lowest carb foods I can get....0-1% Sophisticat, not more than 4% SK. Just something to consider.
 
I've never seen him try to get into the dry food, he's pretty happy with the wet although there may be crumbs left over that he might get.

It's not dog food either, Lucy gobbles up every nugget and then hoovers the floor for anything she might have spilled.

I'm going to try the lower % food, that's a good idea, and see how that affects everything befor I fatten up the dose.
 
Ok, I'm going to confuse you now...I just suggested on the 8/3 thread that you might want to increase to 1.3u AND you might want to try a slightly higher carb food at shot time to slow the drop. More insulin to get a lower nadir, but get there more slowly so he won't bounce. More insulin will also give him better duration, and better duration will bring his ps#s down.

If you look at Alexia's (Blue) SS, you will see that Blue would drop really fast early in the cycle...by +4, he would hit double digit #s, pretty low too, but his ps#s were not that low. By using a higher carb food at or shortly after shot time, she (actually it was Hillary, she was cat sitting) was able to slow the drop and get a gentler curve. Blue is now OTJ.

It might be worth a try. Thoughts?
 
Laurie,

The hard part about that, is there are multiple cats. One is a diehard kibble eater, Harley is wet only eater and the rest eat both. I work full time and cannot be home to feed only Harley, or change the food from HC to LC during the day, every day consistantly.

I've bought timed feeders but I cannot control which cat eats out of it.

Any thoughts?
 
I understand, I'm in pretty much the same boat. I don't have timed feeders yet, but I will be going that route soon. Right now, I'm the food police when I'm home, and I just started leaving food out when I'm not home. I just keep hoping that one kitty isn't eating ALL of the food, cuz I'm going to have a very round kitty if that's the case! lol

It was a thought, might be of use to someone along the way. I just toss it out there to be considered, you never know what might help someone! It is difficult to do in situations like yours and mine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top